We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gale Hotel Review”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Gale South Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gale South Beach
Ranked #53 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Alpharetta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gale Hotel Review”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

> We enjoyed our stay and recommend the hotel. We have stayed at several hotels in South Beach over the years and this is a good pic.
> Small rooms but a great, comfortable bed. Room was clean and gets high marks.
> Hotel staff was excellent !. Very accommodating.
> We had cocktails and dessert in the hotel bar after dinner out and everything was great...again, very friendly bartending staff.....highly recommend the Old Fashion cocktail.....delicious.
> Beautiful rooftop pool !
> Only concern on checkout was the wait time for our car from the valet.....over 30 mins. Suggest parking next door for $30/day vs $35/day valet.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,682 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    941
    414
    164
    90
    73
See reviews for
240
602
80
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

I lost my purse the other night with my wallet, keys, and phone at the Rec Room, a lounge attached to the Gale Hotel on South Beach. I thought surely someone had stolen it and was prepared to pay lots of money to get new keys made, get my car towed, etc. The hotel concierge Gili Zimmerman went out of her way to help me find the purse. When she returned it to me, everything was in it the way it was when I left it. It's not always easy to find someone who pays attention to service and detail. I'm so grateful to Gili for her willingness to help. She saved me from dealing with a huge hassle. She is fantastic!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NDT1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

The decor, staff, and location of this hotel is great.
Had a room with a terrace so you could sunbathe, read a book and relax. The room was tastefully decorated with black and white images and the bathroom was big and comfortable.
The location of the GALE is perfect. All the other top hotels and restaurants and the beach are at your door step..
Being South beach it is expensive however this hotel is less expensive that most surrounding it. South Beach as a whole is pricey.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minibikini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Had an AWESOME stay at the Gale, while in South Beach for a football game. The staff was extremely friendly, and overall professionalism was very nice. Food and drinks at the restaurant /Bar were great as was the service there. The beach is across the street, but was no biggie for us, as you can still see the ocean from your balcony, and even better from the AWESOME roof top pool. Spent every morning there, loved it. The front desk staff were very helpful, and nailed it on every request. The general manager (I believe) was a breath of fresh air and was always smiling and friendly, asking how your day was, and if you needed any help with navigation etc.. The bedding is extremely comfortable, and slept very well. Rooms are a little tight, but great 55 inch tv, and beds made up for it, plus deck was nice. Close to everything as right on 17th, and a rocks throw to Ocean Avenue. Overall had an great stay, and would highly recommend this hotel if you are going to South Beach. Top notch in every way! You will not open a door on your own in this hotel:) Well be back!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sydneytraveltrooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baker City, OR
Level Contributor
93 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Old hotel that's been newly remodeled. A little less expensive, probably because of it's newness and lack of location on the beach. Great decor. Rooms small but comfortable. Super friendly staff. 15$ daily voucher helps encourage meals/drinks at hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank domerloveswa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

This hotel is just beautiful. Decoration, style, bed lining, photographs on the wall. Swimming pool on the 5th floor with stunning view on Collins Avenue and the ocean. Very good location, vis a vis Delano and SLS and any other attractions of SoBe. Stayed there for 8 nights and really enjoyed it. Good food, great staff and I want to come back there.
Only missing items - desks and chairs in some rooms, coffee maker and there is steamer intead of iron.
But generally - excellent experience.

Room Tip: 329 was a bit noisy but SoBe is for partying and little party ain't killed nobody:) No desk nor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adussia725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, Massachusetts, USA
Level Contributor
416 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

This new hotel had some aspects I loved, some that I really disliked. Going through the list:

PRO:
-LOCATION! Great location close to the beach and close to Lincoln Road. Miami's not an area you think of as walkable, yet from here, much is walkable.
-Room furnishings - As others have noted, beds are very comfortable. Modern looking rooms. TV can be controlled by your smartphone, which I hadn't seen before and liked.
-Rooftop pool - Enough said.
-Bar - The bar was more fun than the average hotel bar, and the bartenders were great.

CON:
-Shower is extremely open to the room. I was traveling with my wife, so while the layout seemed weird, it wasn't a problem. However, this really would limit the appeal of this hotel for friends traveling together or families.
-I felt this hotel had a tendency to nickel and dime you. You get charged a resort fee, and it's not a resort. Resort fee gets you wifi (alright) and a meal credit onsite. If you're able to use the meal credit, it's not a bad deal, but the food here (especially the $12 juices!) is kind of a rip-off
-Hotel's reserved beach is a few blocks away, and while the hotel has towel service and chairs, they charge for umbrellas. Again, this feels like nickel and diming of the guests.
-When we were there, the lobby seemed to smell like meat.

Overall, I would recommend this place, just felt the need to note the negatives.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
National Hotel Miami Beach
#40 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,146 reviews
Shelborne South Beach
#60 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,588 reviews
City Center
The Redbury South Beach
The Redbury South Beach
#12 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cadet Hotel
#74 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
Sagamore
#76 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,790 reviews
City Center
Hyatt Centric South Beach Miami
Hyatt Centric South Beach Miami
#56 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gale South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gale South Beach

Property: Gale South Beach
Address: 1690 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-3137
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#27 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#30 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#36 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#43 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gale South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gale South Beach is set on the Southwest corner of 17th street and Collins Avenue, just steps from the ocean. Located in the heart of South Beach, the hotel is within walking distance of popular attractions including Lincoln Road, New World Symphony, Fillmore Theater, Miami Beach Convention Center, and Ocean Dr. The 87 room luxury boutique hotel features certified green rooms and signature suites offering luxury Italian linens, marble bath appointments, exclusive Menin Hospitality GUYandGIRL bath amenities, a 55-inch high definition LED television with an expanded 90 channel HD lineup on the latest IBAHN system, iHOME docking station for the latest ipads, fully stocked mini bar, WiFi Internet access, room service, state-of-the-art fitness center, beach club access, and nightly turn down service. Gale South Beach offers a collection of food and beverage venues including Dolce Italian Cafe & Bar, the Regent Cocktail Club, a rooftop bar and Rec Room. Guests receive complimentary coffee located in the lobby daily. Menin Hospitality Perks program is available to all guests, offering up to $100 in food and beverage savings to the restaurants and bars in the Menin Hospitality collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gale South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gale South Beach Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing