We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always a gem in South Beach” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gale South Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gale South Beach
Ranked #54 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
“Always a gem in South Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

I come to Miami a lot for work. Honestly my work is a lot of fun and The Gale suits me perfectly. The location is brilliant as is the staff. The rooms are lovely, clean and modern. Dining at Dolce is superb and it's hard to beat the cocktails coming from The Regent the party coming from The Rec Room. I'm looking forward to my next stay.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ppepperdine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anamaria T, Manager at Gale South Beach, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear ppepperdine,

We truly appreciate your kind words regarding our hotel and our staff. Dolce Italian is definitely a favorite among tourists as well as locals. My personal favorite is the Contadina Pizza and the Foie Gras Duck Raviolis, I could have either one for breakfast, lunch & dinner. Come back for some more Gale fun soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,667 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    934
    409
    161
    89
    74
See reviews for
238
595
80
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

I selected The Gale because of its proximity to the convention center and restaurants within walking distance. The charming, retro style helped me look past the compact rooms, which are equipped with places for extra storage and pop-up closets. Those points are great, but the reason I'll stay again is because of the friendly, helpful crew that keeps The Gale in top shape.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FatimahAmeerah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anamaria T, Manager at Gale South Beach, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear FatimahAmeerah,

There is no greater reward for us than to be recognized for our amazing staff and their exceptional customer service skills. Our Team Members are indeed the engine that keeps the Gale in shape and we couldn't create all the wonderful stays without them. Thank you for taking the time to write this review, it means a lot to the Gale Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aspen, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

I was with a group of 6 girls and we recently visited South Beach and stayed at the Gale. Our experience at the hotel as wonderful. The amenities, staff, and cleanliness of the hotel definitely met our expectations. We loved the roof-top pool and bar area. The rooms were great and more than one of us said, "these mattresses are amazing!" I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who is coming to SB who is looking for a nice and pleasant atmosphere.

Room Tip: the signature double is best for 2 friends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mfgtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anamaria T, Manager at Gale South Beach, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear mfgtraveler,

It has been a pleasure hosting you and your girlfriends at the Gale Hotel. We are glad you have enjoyed your stay with us and got to truly relax in our comfortable beds. The rooftop is the perfect place to lay out while enjoying the ocean views and sipping on the delicious cocktails from the pool deck bar. We hope you will visit us again soon and when you do please email us at galeguest@meninhospitality.com to make all the arrangements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Located in the heart of Miami this hotel provides a clean, upscale and very comfortable stay. It is very modern and definitely one of the best. Shopping and restaurants around the corner. Pool is small, but beach is across the street. Nights are quiet in this hotel, but the sleep is great. Comfortable mattresses and accommodating staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daniella95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anamaria T, Manager at Gale South Beach, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear daniella95,

We are happy to hear you had an enjoyable and comfortable stay at the Gale Hotel and you are ready to return. Our goal is to meet all our Guests's expectations at all levels and it is great to hear about your experience. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

I can't begin to say enough wonderful things about my recent stay at The Gale Hotel. Everything was perfect, from the location to the staff to the room size. I go to South Beach every year and moving forward, will only be staying with The Gale.

The rooms are perfect size for two, I was there with my husband celebrating a birthday. The Hotel Management went above and beyond to ensure our stay was perfect.

I especially enjoyed the complimentary champagne rounds everyday around 5:30pm, such a classy touch.

The pool bar food was excellent, highly recommend the fish tacos, the best I've ever had.

I will absolutely be back, looking forward to my next trip! Thank you Gale Hotel!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KLT55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anamaria T, Manager at Gale South Beach, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear KLT55,

This is amazing! We are honored that you have picked the Gale Hotel to spend such a special moment as your birthday. Our team always tries their best to create memorable experiences for our Guests and it makes me very happy we managed to accomplish that with you. We look forward to your future visits and rest assured we will have plenty of champagne ready for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollywood, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Just got back from a one-night stay at The Gale for a sisters' night out in South Beach. This is a beautiful hotel with a very cool retro vibe and just steps from Lincoln and the beach. Luis Z. at the front desk took great care of my sister and I. He even texted to find out if we had everything we needed. Truly excellent service. I do caution you on the use of the 4th floor bar. The bartender didn't seem to notice me standing at the bar and trying to get his attention, even though there were only three people there. Eventually left without service. Despite that, I give the rest of the staff my compliments! I would choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

What is a great hotel, if it is not comfortable, clean, and accommodating? The Gale was all of these things and more. Check-in was a breeze with friendly staff to assist with the process. The bellman was right there with the cart to handle my luggage and the multitude of elevators meant no waiting to get to my room and get situated.

The hotel itself is modern while staying true to the art-deco nature that is the essence of South Beach. The modern floors and interesting pictures and furniture throughout the hotel provided a great environment with a lot to see. Even for a small hotel, it still had three bars and a restaurant., All three bars were staffed with excellent and knowledgeable bartenders, capable of making the common tropical beverages as well more obscure ones, all to perfection. The food in the hotel was also very good.

For South Beach this time of year, the room was affordable. I found the room, like the rest of the hotel, to be well maintained. Maid service was always doing their job. But in the best of ways, you almost didn't even notice they were there. Coming back to the room to find clean towels, the bed made, and refreshed soaps and shampoos, meant not having to call to ask for anything. That said, when you did call, for ice or something else, it was there within minutes.

The best part about this hotel was the concierge staff. Gili and Ryan were both incredibly helpful and knowledgeable about local restaurants and nightlife. It was my birthday weekend, and I had a bunch of people in town to celebrate, and they were helpful in making sure both myself and my guests were well taken care of.

Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone coming to South Beach. You can spend twice as much going to the Loews or W, and you may get bigger amenities, but you will lose out on the quaint and comfortable nature of a smaller, boutique hotel such as the Gale.

Lastly, I was on the 3rd and 4th floor, and I did hear the faint sounds of the club in the basement, but it was not disruptive to my sleep or my enjoyment.

Room Tip: Upgrading to one of the larger rooms and a higher floor will give you more space to spread out. and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Shelborne South Beach
#58 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,541 reviews
Cadet Hotel
#77 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#9 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
National Hotel Miami Beach
#39 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
City Center
The Redbury South Beach
The Redbury South Beach
#12 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
Sagamore
#73 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gale South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gale South Beach

Property: Gale South Beach
Address: 1690 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-3137
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#27 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#30 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#37 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#44 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gale South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gale South Beach is set on the Southwest corner of 17th street and Collins Avenue, just steps from the ocean. Located in the heart of South Beach, the hotel is within walking distance of popular attractions including Lincoln Road, New World Symphony, Fillmore Theater, Miami Beach Convention Center, and Ocean Dr. The 87 room luxury boutique hotel features certified green rooms and signature suites offering luxury Italian linens, marble bath appointments, exclusive Menin Hospitality GUYandGIRL bath amenities, a 55 inch high definition LED television with an expanded 90 channel HD lineup on the latest IBAHN system, iHOME docking station for the latest ipads, fully stocked mini bar, WiFi Internet access, room service, state-of-the-art fitness center, beach club access, and nightly turn down service. Gale South Beach offers a collection of food and beverage venues including Dolce Italian Cafe & Bar, the Regent Cocktail Club, a rooftop bar and Rec Room. Guests receive complimentary coffee located in the lobby daily. Menin Hospitality Perks program is available to all guests, which offers up to $100 in food and beverage savings to the restaurants and bars in the Menin Hospitality collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your Gale South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gale South Beach Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing