We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it`s like home coming”
Review of Gale South Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gale South Beach
Ranked #53 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“it`s like home coming”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We can't begin to say enough wonderful things about our recent stay at The Gale Hotel. Everything was perfect, from the location to the staff to the room size and the "terrazzo". We go to South Beach every year 2 times and moving forward, will only be staying with The Gale. We want absolutely be back, looking forward to our next trip! Thank you Gale Hotel!!! This place is a true gem.

Room Tip: Take signature terrazzo... is the best room that we ever hat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom187337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anamaria T, Manager at Gale South Beach, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Tom187337,

We are flattered by your wonderful comments regarding our staff and your overall experience at the Gale. Thank you for being our Guests and choosing the Gale to be your home away from home while in Miami. We look forward to your next visit as well and will make sure to reserve a beautiful terrazo room for you, just contact us at galeguest@meninhospitality.com to make the arrangements.

All the best,

Ana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,705 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    950
    420
    167
    94
    74
See reviews for
243
610
83
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

The hotel itself is very nice with a lovely pool and cool design. However the loud live music coming from the bar at night until 1am made it impossible to sleep even with ear plugs (we're talking full PA system, clashing cymbals and cabaret singing) When I complained I was told they get the same complaint every night and they were sorry but there was nothing they could do.
For me the main purpose of a hotel is to sleep and so although everything else was fine, it can't serve it's main purpose while it continues to also try to be a live music venue.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Katesta7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anamaria T, Manager at Gale South Beach, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Katesta7,

We apologize for the noise disturbance you have encountered on your stay at the Gale. We have had reduced the hours for the live entertainment in the Regent Cocktail bar in an effort to prevent this disturbance for the rooms located in the vecinity of this venue. Thank you for the praising words regarding our design and pool. We hope to get a second chance for a future visit and will ensure to arrange for you a comfortable stay.

All the best,

Ana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We lucked out and got a fabulous corner room (another group in our party got a much smaller one, though still pleasant). Wonderful showers. Restaurant has great food, including the most amazing pizza! Service was constant (including delightful morning texts to see if we needed anything) and pleasant. An easy walk to many attractions. My only critique... as a mom... the pool scene, on the roof, was more for a party crowd, less for families.
I would very highly recommend the Gale.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank landMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anamaria T, Manager at Gale South Beach, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear landMom,

We appreciate you taking the time to write this review on your recent stay at the Gale Hotel. Located in the heart of South Beach and just walking distance to all the main attractions, we are striving to be more than just a boutique hotel. At the Gale our goal is to create memorable experiences for all our Guests through outstanding service and amazing amenities. I am very happy to hear you have enjoyed your stay and liked the room you were assigned. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

All the best,

Ana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Just back from an 8 night stay at the Gale and can honestly say that it was perfect for our requirements. Located on Collins avenue but away from the chaos that is ocean drive, close to Lincoln road and the beach. We booked via the hotel website and got a very good rate, we requested a room with plenty of light thus managing to avoid the much maligned internal rooms. We had room 304 which was a corner room. It was spacious and stylish with a great shower and comfortable bed. The storage was limited but we managed, and could stow our cases easily enough under the bed. Minor negatives with the room were poor overhead lighting (great ambient lighting though) and harsh striplights by the bathroom mirror. The outside windows also needed a clean. One of the big selling points of this hotel is their fantastic rooftop pool, small enough to feel exclusive but big enough to accommodate plenty of guests. It offers great views of Miami and serves food and drinks. During our stay the pool was closed for a couple of days, however the hotel arranged for us to use the pool of the National Hotel, this is situated directly opposite the Gale. This was no problem for us as a change of scenery was nice and the pool at the National is pretty impressive. Resort Fee of $25 per day offered really good value for money, it included beach access at 21st street including 2 beds and 2 towels (umbrella was extra - $10) $15 discount in any of the hotel eateries and a good wireless services. We dined in Dolce almost daily for breakfast which was very good, a little bit more expensive than other breakfast places, but more refined in terms of service and presentation, plus with $15 dollar discount you ended up with a good value breakfast. We dined twice in Dolce for dinner and everything we had was delicious, their dining room is really stylish and the waiting staff were very knowledgeable. Overall, a great stay and highly recommended, will definitely return next time we come to South Beach.

Room Tip: Ask for a bright room and specify when booking if you do not want an internal room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adambe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anamaria T, Manager at Gale South Beach, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Adambe,

It has been a pleasure to have you as our Guests and we look forward to your return. Glad to hear the room you were assigned met all your requirements for the 8 nights stay. It is very rewarding to us when we see our Guests take full advantage of all the amenities and it seems you have definitely done so. Come back soon!

All the best,

Ana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Had an excellent experience at the Gale South Beach. Received better pricing from the hotel than what was on Hotels.com. Staff was attentive and helpful from the front desk to the concierge who helped us find our way to the beach, a nice place for late lunch and a great place for dinner. Classic black and white photos throughout the hotel looked like they could be from any family. Loved the decor! Our king room was a little small with a king bed, but the room was beautiful and elegant. The valet parking was great and texted us the morning of our check-out to see what time we would need our car. Excellent service all the way around and a beautiful hotel for a very reasonable price!! Would love to go back!

Room Tip: Call the hotel directly for the best price!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdandFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anamaria T, Manager at Gale South Beach, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear EdandFred,

We would love to welcome you back, hopefully very soon! Thank you for your kind words regarding our service especially for recognizing the Concierge Team. Their goal is to always meet the guest expectations and ensure seamless experiences. Please contact us at galeguest@meninhospitality.com to guarantee the repeat guest rates on your next trip to South Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethel Park, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 April 2014

I travel to Miami about 4 times per year on business. This trip I booked with an online site for Gale Hotel. The hotel has valet which is expensive but all Sobe parking is so comparable. The bar and eating areas were good and location good. Now for downside, they charge a resort fee. I realize most properties do and it wasn't a hidden charge. The problem is on the day of my visit it wasn't a resort. The pool was closed and so was roof bar. So you check in at 4pm and out by 11am what do you get for this fee? Basically nothing a drink at best. At days end virtually impossible to use the limited beach amenities. They basically took the money with no product or service. It was irritating. If you book online with a discount site you are likely to end up in an inside room. My room was nice but had no window. The window was covered to obscure the view of AC units. The staff told me all that was "ready" but it was 3:45pm? If check in is at 4 why not a room with a window? For the reasons outlined herein I wouldn't stay here again or recommend. Shame nice property but my experience was left lacking.

Room Tip: Don't take inside rooms asking if amenities open before booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anamaria T, Manager at Gale South Beach, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear David G,

I am really sorry to learn that we have not met your expectations during your recent stay at the Gale Hotel. Due a landscaping project meant to enhance our pool experience, we had to close the pool down for 2 days. It is very unfortunate that happened while you were here and I would truly appreciate another opportunity to showcase you the real Gale experience. On your next trip please reach out to me directly at ats@meninhospitality.com and I will personally ensure your stay is seamless.

All the best,

Ana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfside, Florida
Level Contributor
72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

This is truly a great property except if you're not a clubber and it's a Thursday, Friday or Saturday night. Those nights...this place rocks electo-style. And you're invited to the party even if you're trying to sleep.

The Gale is a spectacular property. Yes, the rooms are small. The closet is cleverly hidden and the luggage stand is hidden under the bed. But we found them! Sorry Gale staff...you couldn't hide them for long! The 5th floor pool is a great place to unwind and have a drink. Unfortunately, the rooftop bar closes at 6 pm. We think it should remain open until just after sunset. Why force an early end to a spectacular day?

The Gale's recreation room doubles as a Miami Beach night club where music starts at 11 pm and ends at 4 am. If you are not a clubber and you are trying to sleep, forget it. The music reverberates throughout the hotel. My wife called at 3 AM to ask when the music stops. They told her 4 AM and it was obvious this was a question has been asked before....many times.

But other than that, our weekend stay was very nice. We're from Miami Beach and we seldom vacation in our own home town. We will recommend this hotel for our friends who still like hitting the clubs or anyone in town Sunday through Wednesday.

Room Tip: If it's a Thursday through Saturday night, get one as high up in the hotel to limit the noise fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justthatgoodguyjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
National Hotel Miami Beach
#40 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
Shelborne South Beach
#61 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,613 reviews
City Center
The Redbury South Beach
The Redbury South Beach
#17 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cadet Hotel
#72 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
Sagamore
#77 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,800 reviews
City Center
Hyatt Centric South Beach Miami
Hyatt Centric South Beach Miami
#55 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gale South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gale South Beach

Property: Gale South Beach
Address: 1690 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-3137
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#27 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#30 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#37 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#43 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gale South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gale South Beach is set on the Southwest corner of 17th street and Collins Avenue, just steps from the ocean. Located in the heart of South Beach, the hotel is within walking distance of popular attractions including Lincoln Road, New World Symphony, Fillmore Theater, Miami Beach Convention Center, and Ocean Dr. The 87 room luxury boutique hotel features certified green rooms and signature suites offering luxury Italian linens, marble bath appointments, exclusive Menin Hospitality GUYandGIRL bath amenities, a 55-inch high definition LED television with an expanded 90 channel HD lineup on the latest IBAHN system, iHOME docking station for the latest ipads, fully stocked mini bar, WiFi Internet access, room service, state-of-the-art fitness center, beach club access, and nightly turn down service. Gale South Beach offers a collection of food and beverage venues including Dolce Italian Cafe & Bar, the Regent Cocktail Club, a rooftop bar and Rec Room. Guests receive complimentary coffee located in the lobby daily. Menin Hospitality Perks program is available to all guests, offering up to $100 in food and beverage savings to the restaurants and bars in the Menin Hospitality collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Gale South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gale South Beach Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing