We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You should stay here.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gale South Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gale South Beach
Ranked #52 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“You should stay here.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

The pros of this hotel are many. Great location minutes from the beach and Ocean Drive. Rooms are extremely clean and very modern. Staff is wonderful and accomadating from simple things like opening doors and greeting everyone who walks by to bigger things like offering guests free champagne and texting to ask if anything is needed. Thank you Gili and Lou.I loved my stay at this hotel. Can't imagine staying anywhere else. Will definitely return next trip!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank camiaig123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,685 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    941
    416
    165
    90
    73
See reviews for
240
604
80
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

My husband booked a trip for myself and 2 friends in celebration of my birthday. Let me just say that I wasn't quite sure of what to expect upon arrival, but found my stay to be extremely pleasant. We were greeted by a friendly bellhop and the check-in process was very smooth. We were give a room on the ground floor which would have seemed to be a prime location as it was closest to the restaurant and lounge, however, we were placed right next to the elevator and across from the ice machine room. We didn't sleep well at all due to other guests walking to/from the lounge and in and out to get ice. We got up the next morning and called the front desk. Within an hour, they had called to update us and notified us that our 3rd floor room was ready. The 3rd floor double bed room had 2 windows instead of one and was very bright and lovely. The showers are made of glass and doesn't provide much privacy. The bellman heard us complaining about the lack of privacy and offered to install a shower curtain...WOW. They didn't charge us and it was up within twenty minutes. The hotel staff sends texts to check on their guests and if you need anything, you can text and they will respond in a timely manner. The beds are comfortable and there are extra linens provided in the closet. The closet is super small and holds a mini bar fridge. The fridge is small and doesn't leave much room for anything else but maybe a bottle of water or two. One of my friends had breakfast twice in the hotel restaurant and she enjoyed her food. There was a daily $15 credit which she used toward the breakfast or to get a third chair at the beach. The complimentary beach service only gives you two chairs and two towels with the room rate. The location is super close to Lincoln Road and other hot spots on Collins. It's located right across from SLS and Delano hotels. Their rooftop swimming pool is the PERFECT temperature with amazing views. It's much smaller than at larger hotels, but heck, it's a small hotel. There are cabanas and floating checker/chess boards and maybe 15-20 lounge chairs. There is a club downstairs called the Red Room that is tucked away, but is pretty cool. From the outside, it doesn't look as if much is going on, but once you get inside, you'll discover that there is a vibrant bar/dance scene. One bonus was that the hotel was celebrating their one year anniversary and had a cart of champagne to share with their guests. We jokingly asked for an entire bottle and to our surprise, we were given an unopened bottle to take back to our rooms at no charge. Overall, great place to stay! I'll be back for sure :-)

Room Tip: Request a room that isn't near the elevator or ice machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cutiep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis Obispo, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

My husband and I cannot say enough good things about this property. From the time we arrived and checked our car with the valet until we left, our stay at the Gale was a most welcoming, comfortable and enjoyable experience. We felt like royalty by the most professional staff including the car valet, bellman, reception, and concierge (Gilli), anticipating and looking after our every need and request. I say this because, though many companies talk about their customer service, staff at the Gale exemplify what it is all about. Add that to the fabulous amenities and superior location (one block off the beach and away from the craziness of Ocean Blvd), our overall experience was simply, the best we've ever experienced. Thank you to the Gale for a most wonderful stay on South Beach!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

I visited the South Beach for business and stay at the Gale South Beach. The hotel is at a prime location, walking distance to Lincoln road mall, Ocean Drive and a block away from the beach. The hotel is very modern, well kept and clean. The staff is very friendly. I was very impress with the concierge “Gili”. This is the first hotel where the concierge text you to welcome you, see if you need anything during your stay, see if you need anything before you leave and also check how your stay was after your leave. The room was very spacious, clean and comfortable. There was a well stock fridge a good size closet and a rain fall shower. I great amenity is golf cart that offers complementary transportation to the surrounding area and their sister properties.

Room Tip: Go for the high floor facing Collins ave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hernan74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

I came here with one of my girlfriends for a nice weekend getaway. I had read so many good reviews before coming to The Gale so I did have some expectations but this hotel definitely exceeded them. From the moment we arrived we were treated like queens! We booked a single queen bed and had no issue getting it changed to a 2 double bed room since we wanted a bit more space. The staff were very helpful in giving us tips on where to go for dinner, partying, and shopping. Every time we left or came back we were welcomed with a friendly smile. Staying at the Gale made us feel special!

What we also loved was the location. The Gale is steps away from the beach, and all the major streets (Lincoln Rd, Washington Ave, Ocean Drive). There's also a Walgreen's, liquor store and CVS right around the corner.

The pool is on the rooftop so only guests have access to it. Its small and shallow, but has a pretty awesome view of the street. The beds are comfy and there's a lounge/bar and grill just one floor down. We really enjoyed the beer bucket which included 5 beers for only $20!

The restaurant attached to the Gale called Dolce is a great place if you're looking for some Italian food. We ordered the fettuccine bolognese which I highly recommend if you love fresh pasta and meat sauce.

All in all we are very happy with our stay at The Gale. Can't say enough good things about it! The only downside was when we were calling for transportation back to the airport... We got a public cab to the hotel for a flat rate of $33 but the concierge deals with a private company I'm guessing so we had to pay $40 on our way back. Not a big deal, but if you want to save a couple of dollars just make sure to ask!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashleyess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I have to say that I am very particular about customer service and quality. Well, with the Gale you get FAR more than expected and FAR more than you pay for......a true rarity these days and most especially in South Beach Miami. Every member of the staff treated me like a cherished family member. The hotel itself is super convenient to EVERYTHING in South Beach. My own room was smaller but unbelievably efficient and comfortable. Every amenity was top flight and the sheer convenience of the location was the icing on the cake. The only way I could have been happier was if everything was FREE!!!!

I am even going back next week........and next month.......and again in September. Do yourself a favor......STAY HERE!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This place is a gem and still a secret in south beach. Can't get closer to the beach and Lincoln road but with enough seclusion so you not kept up at nite with noise and nonsense. Rooms are cozy but well appointed. Try and get one with a balcony to enjoy the ocean breezes.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
National Hotel Miami Beach
#41 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
Shelborne South Beach
#61 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,592 reviews
City Center
The Redbury South Beach
The Redbury South Beach
#12 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cadet Hotel
#74 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
Sagamore
#76 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,790 reviews
City Center
Hyatt Centric South Beach Miami
Hyatt Centric South Beach Miami
#55 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gale South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gale South Beach

Property: Gale South Beach
Address: 1690 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-3137
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#27 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#30 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#36 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#42 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gale South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gale South Beach is set on the Southwest corner of 17th street and Collins Avenue, just steps from the ocean. Located in the heart of South Beach, the hotel is within walking distance of popular attractions including Lincoln Road, New World Symphony, Fillmore Theater, Miami Beach Convention Center, and Ocean Dr. The 87 room luxury boutique hotel features certified green rooms and signature suites offering luxury Italian linens, marble bath appointments, exclusive Menin Hospitality GUYandGIRL bath amenities, a 55-inch high definition LED television with an expanded 90 channel HD lineup on the latest IBAHN system, iHOME docking station for the latest ipads, fully stocked mini bar, WiFi Internet access, room service, state-of-the-art fitness center, beach club access, and nightly turn down service. Gale South Beach offers a collection of food and beverage venues including Dolce Italian Cafe & Bar, the Regent Cocktail Club, a rooftop bar and Rec Room. Guests receive complimentary coffee located in the lobby daily. Menin Hospitality Perks program is available to all guests, offering up to $100 in food and beverage savings to the restaurants and bars in the Menin Hospitality collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gale South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gale South Beach Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing