We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Gem!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gale South Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gale South Beach
Ranked #54 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hidden Gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Gale Hotel is a hidden gem! The rates are incredible for the location and the luxury this hotel offers. Gili was incredibly helpful and followed up consistently to make sure everything was ok. I have no complaints at all, and I am picky. Room was squeaky clean, and service was top notch. Location couldn't be any better. Just a few steps from the beach, and a short walk from Lincoln road, night life, and the Fillmore. I will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JS3055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,669 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    936
    409
    161
    89
    74
See reviews for
239
595
80
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Everything was Excellent!!!! Customer service, clubs, food, drinks, pool, staff, location, cleanliness, hospitality....excellent!!! Impatiently waiting for our next visit!!! I highly recommend this hotel!!!

Thanks Again!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eternallybeauti... .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St.Louis
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

I would stay at the Gale again. It is a great location and the staff is friendly and accommodating. The rooms are small and the restaurant variety could be better, but it is in close proximity to other restaurants. Very nice option for a boutique hotel!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bignosr21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

My son suggested this hotel for us. The online reservations were simple. Better rates through their web site! Arrived to helpful valet service.I was impressed with this place as soon as i walked in.Colorful walls, nice pictures and nice wooden floors. The staff here greeted you every where on the property with a smile.Check in was easy. I had an room upgrade that they could not honor the first night , but was honored the next three evenings. We hung out by the pool as our room was being cleaned. I received text updates and was handed over new room passes at the pool. That was easy! Our room was on the third floor with a terrace! Its an upgrade but you will enjoy it! . Bigger room, king size bed and a outdoor comfortable area to relax! The pool area being on the roof is relaxing and beautiful. The pool side service was right on top of things.I do have to make a note to the room attendants, as they often go unnoticed. They women always looked professional in their "southern" dresses and very personable. Nice touch!The location of this hotel was great. Walking distance to lincoln rd, ocean drive and the beach. I have to say overall stay was excellent.! Look forward to coming back ! I might have to check out new gale property being built across the street.

Room Tip: Higher floors with the terrace are very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank g k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Traveling by myself for several days thanks to some unexpected time off work... Have stayed at Delano & Shore Club several times, but was looking for something less expensive, and what a great option this turned out to be! Spacious, clean, free internet... but there were so many unexpected things that made this a great stay. 1) bar/restaurant food @ Dolce was amazing, i ate just about everything on the menu and loved it all 2) rooftop pool was delightful, lives up to the pictures on the website 3) regent cocktail bar in the back is a speakeasy with great live music (and drinks) every night - felt like miami's best keep secret. lots more reasons it was a great stay, particularly great service.. shout out to sergio, konstantin and alex at the restaurant who looked after me at Dolce while i watched one world cup game after another! i hope to be back soon and will be bringing friends to spread the word :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Entrecote99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liberty, Mississippi
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Soooo, we were to fly out of New Orleans June 8th and fly back June 12th. There was an immediate kink in our plan as our flight was canceled and we had to stay in New Orleans on the 8th. I called the travel company to try to rearrange our room booking. The Gale South Beach accommodated our request and our reservations were moved back by one night. We arrived and the staff was professional and very courteous. They met every need immediately and with a smile. Gili, the Head Concierge, was only a text or call away. She often text to see if we had any needs. She booked a charted fishing trip for my girlfriend and I and we had a wonderful time. The man behind the bar, I can’t recall his name but I think he is from Georgia, made two of the best mixed drinks I have had. The room was beautiful and fully stocked. The air condition was cold which made for a great escape from the almost oppressive midday heat. Being located in South Beach, and as expected, there was an element of thumping party music at times, but not enough to really cause any problems though. If we travel to South beach again I plan to stay at The Gale again. It is a very nice place with even nicer staff!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George Town, Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

The Gale Hotel truly represents the essence of South Beach. The property is visually pleasing in every detail. While other hotels seem to try a little too hard to capture the vibe of the neighbourhood, The Gale has it down perfectly! Very clean and understated simple elegance. The decor pays tribute to it's historical past, with classic black & white photography displaying the early extravagance of South Beach. The Dolce Restaurant offers the perfect selection of well-made and reasonably priced Italian food, and has an exceptional selection of wines available by the glass...variety is the spice of life! My room was very comfortable, and the perfect respite after long days spent shopping and soaking in the local culture...total comfort! Although modest in size, it suited my needs perfectly. The best part of my experience at The Gale...the phenomenal accommodating customer service! Every staff member I had the opportunity to deal with expressed a true desire to see that my needs were taken care of without any incident or hassle. They reached out to me daily to make themselves available to me, without being intrusive or insincere. Their understanding of customer service was exceptional! Anything I could want for, they were more than happy to accommodate. From my early morning arrival, to my late afternoon check-out, I was confident that each staff member was there for me! My visit was peaceful, fun, exciting, and truly gratifying! I'll look forward to my next visit, and am more than happy to recommend The Gale to all looking to enjoy the pleasures of South Beach!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank m_a_padmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Shelborne South Beach
#59 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,543 reviews
Cadet Hotel
#78 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
National Hotel Miami Beach
#39 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sagamore
#74 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,775 reviews
City Center
The Redbury South Beach
The Redbury South Beach
#12 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#9 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gale South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gale South Beach

Property: Gale South Beach
Address: 1690 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-3137
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#27 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#30 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#37 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#44 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gale South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gale South Beach is set on the Southwest corner of 17th street and Collins Avenue, just steps from the ocean. Located in the heart of South Beach, the hotel is within walking distance of popular attractions including Lincoln Road, New World Symphony, Fillmore Theater, Miami Beach Convention Center, and Ocean Dr. The 87 room luxury boutique hotel features certified green rooms and signature suites offering luxury Italian linens, marble bath appointments, exclusive Menin Hospitality GUYandGIRL bath amenities, a 55 inch high definition LED television with an expanded 90 channel HD lineup on the latest IBAHN system, iHOME docking station for the latest ipads, fully stocked mini bar, WiFi Internet access, room service, state-of-the-art fitness center, beach club access, and nightly turn down service. Gale South Beach offers a collection of food and beverage venues including Dolce Italian Cafe & Bar, the Regent Cocktail Club, a rooftop bar and Rec Room. Guests receive complimentary coffee located in the lobby daily. Menin Hospitality Perks program is available to all guests, which offers up to $100 in food and beverage savings to the restaurants and bars in the Menin Hospitality collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotel.de, Ebookers and HRS so you can book your Gale South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gale South Beach Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing