We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pretty!”
Review of Gale South Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gale South Beach
Ranked #53 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Tavistock, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very pretty!”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Stylish boutique hotel. Great service! We got a great deal as Florida residants. Dulce is the ground floor cafe. Staff was great and perfect breakfast & lunch foods, as the World cup was playing they offered $5 pinot, chiati and perseco, $2.50 1/2 pints of peroni and $10 delicious pizzas, along with their regular menu, try the tagliatelle or the pea & mint soup, yummm! They also have a full restaurant on the lobby level, which has a great atmosphere and even better food. At the back of the hotel there is a bar, moody and quaint. And in the basement there is a club, opened Thursday through Saturday and it was loud. Our room was on the 2nd floor and we could still hear it. Not so much that we couldn't sleep but it wont work for anyone who is light sleeper. 4th floor they have an out door bar with great views and two tvs and on the 5th floor a beautiful pool.The location was perfect 1 minute walk from Lincoln Road where you will find loads of restaurants and shops. The room was lovely, the bathroom very spacious! Only down side was the closet, basically a half closet above the mini bar. The hotel supplied us with a rack which did the trick. We had a great time!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa Bronson K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,712 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    955
    421
    167
    95
    74
See reviews for
244
614
82
161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The Gale couldn't have been in a better location in terms of South Beach hotels. It has all the amenities of a big, massive resort but with a really intimate feel. The rooms were clean and the staff was friendly. The bar in the lobby also had great drinks and bartenders. It's close enough to all the craziness of South Beach but once you get back to The Gale, you could relax and get some rest or nurse your hangover on the rooftop pool without kids screaming around you or drunk people shouting.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Christina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Nice boutique Hotel, very good location and staff very welcoming
the hotel have a very nice SP on the roof of the hotel , the rooms are very nice a bite small but the furniture are new and modern .
The only bad point is that the room does not have a table and chair if you need to work or to open a laptop, petty
All the rest provide us a great stay

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anamaria T, Manager at Gale South Beach, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Avi B,

We appreciate your honest feedback regarding your recent stay at the Gale. On behalf of the entire team, we thank you for posting this review and recognizing our staff. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Please contact us at galeguest@meninhotels.com and will make sure to put aside a room with a desk for you.

All the best,

Ana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I went to this spectacular hotel for my birthday weekend with my husband and wished I could have stayed longer. From the moment we arrived we were treated stupendously; there was even a bottle of champagne with a lovely note waiting in the room for us. It was such a nice surprise and gesture from the hotel manager, Oscar, I was so impressed. The hotel is decorated very beautifully and is nice and quiet, the perfect place for a relaxing/ romantic weekend. Our room was very comfortable and extremely clean. The rooftop infinity pool is incredible I really enjoyed lounging around and trying some delicious cocktails from the bar there. The location is also perfect because it is in the heart of South Beach and we were right next to Lincoln Road which has all the dining and shops. Also, the customer service at this hotel is top notch, my sincerest compliments to the hotel manager who was very welcoming and wonderful in assisting us with places to go and things to do. He truly helped make this weekend one we will never forget and always remember with the utmost joy.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamycakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anamaria T, Manager at Gale South Beach, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Tamycakes,

Thank you for the excellent review! It was a pleasure having you and we are hoping to welcome you back again. We are glad to hear that your expectations were met and exceeded with the special occasion of your birthday. Will make sure to share the review with Oscar, he will be thrilled to hear about your stay. We are both available to you in the future. Please reach out when you solidify plans to return. ats@meninhospitality.com

All the best,

Ana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed only one night aft er a cruise and wish we could have stayed longer. Loved it. Got to The Gale at 9:00 because we got off the ship early just so we could store our luggage and they already had out room ready for us. Supposed to be 4:00 pm check in! No extra charge. Staff is incredible! If they can do it, they will! Beautiful pool, lounge, club and restarantula areas. Loved it. Felt like family.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry N Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I stayed at the Gale for 4 days and couldn't have asked for a better place. The hotel is right on Collins Avenue and is literally 1 block away from the beach (a very small block). It's a boutique hotel with only 6 floors. The decor is amazing. Very clean throughout and I can't say enough good things about the staff that work there. The rooms are a good size ... I upgraded to the Terrazzo room that has a balcony which was very nice if you are considering doing the same. Has nice white patio furniture you can take a quick rest before venturing off. The restaurant Dolce is worth checking out too ... good food. At night the bar at the Regent which is on the other end of the hotel is really nice too. Nice place to have drinks after a long day. The pool is on the roof. It's nice. Very clean. I personally prefer the beach over a pool but whatever you feel like that day the pool is a good choice too. Concierge text you to see how your stay is going ... they text you ! For anything they are there for you ... cabs, directions, recommendations. Anything. It's an upscale hotel but it doesn't have the pretentiousness you would expect for a SB stay. It's very close to everything. Shopping (Lincoln, Washington) and restaurants. I would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone's next stay in South Beach.

Thank you to everyone at Gale SB !

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe, New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

My wife and I just got back from a 4 nite stay at the Gale hotel. We had a great time! The hotel is sharp looking, very clean, excellant service by everyone, really nice rooftop pool and great location to everything. At check in, they honord our free upgrade for posting our reservation on Facebook with no issues at all. They arranged for taxi pick up the morning we left, everyone is friendly and helpful. The Signature room is small, with no dresser, but was not an issue for us and with the balcony it was more than fine. I only have 2 suggestions; the lights on the side of the sink made it difficult to see in the mirror due to glare from lights and a waste basket in th bedroom area would be helpful. We highly recommend the Gale hotel and will def be coming back again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vinman61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
National Hotel Miami Beach
#45 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,211 reviews
City Center
The Redbury South Beach
The Redbury South Beach
#16 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,175 reviews
City Center
Hyatt Centric South Beach Miami
Hyatt Centric South Beach Miami
#54 of 208 in Miami Beach
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cadet Hotel
#74 of 208 in Miami Beach
943 reviews
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
#39 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,371 reviews
Shelborne South Beach
#61 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gale South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gale South Beach

Property: Gale South Beach
Address: 1690 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-3137
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#27 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#30 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#37 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#42 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gale South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gale South Beach is set on the Southwest corner of 17th street and Collins Avenue, just steps from the ocean. Located in the heart of South Beach, the hotel is within walking distance of popular attractions including Lincoln Road, New World Symphony, Fillmore Theater, Miami Beach Convention Center, and Ocean Dr. The 87 room luxury boutique hotel features certified green rooms and signature suites offering luxury Italian linens, marble bath appointments, exclusive Menin Hospitality GUYandGIRL bath amenities, a 55-inch high definition LED television with an expanded 90 channel HD lineup on the latest IBAHN system, iHOME docking station for the latest ipads, fully stocked mini bar, WiFi Internet access, room service, state-of-the-art fitness center, beach club access, and nightly turn down service. Gale South Beach offers a collection of food and beverage venues including Dolce Italian Cafe & Bar, the Regent Cocktail Club, a rooftop bar and Rec Room. Guests receive complimentary coffee located in the lobby daily. Menin Hospitality Perks program is available to all guests, offering up to $100 in food and beverage savings to the restaurants and bars in the Menin Hospitality collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Gale South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gale South Beach Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing