We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Was hoping for much more of a fine dining experience” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tosca - CLOSED

Tosca
Price range: US$25 - US$65
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Collins Avenue
Description: Truly a grand experience for any food purist, Tosca is inspired by the delicacies of the Mediterranean Riviera with a menu driven by purpose. Each simplistic dish is meant to showcase its richness in quality, highlighting best in class items from the four pockets of the world.
Altoona, PA
Level Contributor
271 reviews
249 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Was hoping for much more of a fine dining experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

Had a nice meal, but likely wouldn't go back. Had reservations for 6pm, but the doors were locked until 6:15. Service was very good and the garden setting is quite nice, but the mosquitoes are are terrible! Some of the wait staff brings out a mosquito repellent, but another wait staff comes by and removes it. My wife had a dozen or more bites by the end of our meal.

I order a dish the grilled swordfish, but our waiter suggested a much "more flavor-able" dish, which was delicious but laden with richness - butter! I really wanted a much more simple dish rather than the heaviness of the butter.

Overall good, but won't visit again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank foodie2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    3
    3
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

My wife and I came here during a one night stop over on our way to Barbados during the Miami Spice restaurant event in August 2013. For $39 per person we each got a three course meal, and both were excellent. My wife chose the octopus appetizer with the NY strip steak entree and I had the carpaccio app with prosciutto ponsotti entree.... we were both very impressed with the quality and flavor of the dishes and would eat here again in a heartbeat. Additionally, the service was top notch as we never needed to ask for anything because the staff were extremely attentive.

My wife and I are from the SF Bay Area and have eaten at some of the top restaurants out there and consider our meal at Tosca to be as good if not better than our favorites out there.

Great place, excellent food and service. Certainly worth the money.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Sit in the garden”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

This is a fun spot on Collins Ave in South Beach but you don't feel like you are in the middle of the craziness. Sit in the garden area outside and enjoy the breeze and the beautiful colors of the flowers. Fun spot for friends and romantic.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“hidden jewel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

my husband and I came here for our last night in Miami to enjoy our honeymoon. We were recommended here by the concierge at the hotel and the experience amazing. From the beginning to the end the service was impeccable. I would definitely recommend coming for the ambiance and the experience. The owner stayed on top of everything making sure that his restaurant was one of a kind and trust me it is.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank terrell13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not much here”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

Odd Kenny-G music, combined with good appetizers and poor entrees plus spotty service makes for a forgettable experience. Too many better alternatives just minutes away

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing