We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed pool-side dining in a new swanky Miami hotel”
Review of Florida Cookery

Florida Cookery
Ranked #509 of 1,136 Restaurants in Miami Beach
Price range: US$31 - US$50
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 15th
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Stumbled upon this restaurant for lunch by coincidence, and were pleased with the relaxed poolside atmosphere. Excellent friendly waiters will recommend great,emu choices. The octopus is delicious as an appetiser and the burger is a solid choice for lunch - yucca fries are a must-have! The James Royal Palm is a great addition to the South Beach hotel scene!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bruno L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony E, Manager at Florida Cookery, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Dear Bruno L,

We are please that you were able to enjoy your lunch with us recently. The Yucca Fries and Burger are big hits for us and from what I can see you really enjoyed. Next time you are in town please check out our new dinner menu, launching in April, with seasonal focus and emphasis on the freshest local Floridian seafood!

Thank you,

Anthony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

73 - 77 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2014

Read some articles listing this place as one of the better restaurants in South Beach, so I was excited to try it. Made a reservation through open table for dinner and was surprised by the low rating in the website, decided to try it anyway especially since I was staying in the James Royal Hotel- HUGE MISTAKE!

Food wise- I couldn't find anything positive to say. Poached grouper appetizer had no flavor, I received a piece of which the middle was raw and inedible, it was about 4 oz in size and so I ended up having 2 oz. of grouper, I brought it up with the manager that night and received an apology. Also had baby octopus appetizer which had 5 pieces on the plate for $17, also flavourless. Pork Chuleta as an entrée for me, I think they forgot to salt it, 3/4 of the piece of pork was bone and fat- for $39. My friend had a flounder for entrée and it was underwhelming at best. We decided to skip desserts.

They seemed to have been understaffed that night as we had the manager waiting on us most of the time, the waiter came to our table on occasions. They were both very nice and friendly, but it was funny since they both would say the same things a minute or two after the other, like an echo.

I can positively say this had been the worst restaurant of its price range that I had the misfortune of experiencing.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank WashingtonJonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Davies the supervisor was very helpful with preparing gluten free options. Friendly, excellent service. Creative bar drinks. Fairly priced.

Thank Heidi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony E, Manager at Florida Cookery, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Dear Heidi B.,

Thank you for your great review! We are always looking to please guests with any allergy or dietary restriction and I am happy we were able to accommodate you! Davis is a great supervisor and it shows!

Looking forward to seeing you soon at Florida Cookery!

Anthony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Nothing seemed special or wonderful. A decent meal, but I won't hurry back. The setting is nice, especially outside by the pool.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ralph R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony E, Manager at Florida Cookery, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Dear Ralph R.,

Thank you for your review. I am sorry you did not find us special on your recent visit, we are constantly looking for ways to personalize our service and create wonderful memories. Thank you for commenting about our pool area, we do love our al fresco Patio and find that guests do too. We will continue to look for ways to wow our guests, and hope you will return to give us another chance.

Thank you,

Anthony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

The cheeseburgers are exceptional -juicy, fresh and cooked to perfection, eat them -absolutely! Our waitress was very efficient and wonderful about accommodating our special requests, but, it came a premium as far as the wait for our food. The people around us all seemed to be served very promptly, so, it may just have been us.

Thank Wheels5791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony E, Manager at Florida Cookery, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Dear Wheels57NewBern,

Thank you for your review and your great comments about our food! It is wonderful to hear that our team member was great and efficient, as we always aim to provide top notch service. We also took note of your wait time and are actively seeking faster options for food delivery.

We hope you come back and visit us soon!

Anthony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Florida Cookery also viewed

 
Miami Beach, FL
 

Been to Florida Cookery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing