We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel in South Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
Ranked #99 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel in South Beach”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

My fiance and i stayed here for one night for a get-away during a Florida vacation. This is a very modern style hotel on the inside. Room was very clean and hip. Bed was super-comfortable! We had a part ocean-view / part city-view room on the top floor of the hotel. The balcony is completely useless. You can stand on it but it is only about one foot wide. You cannot even fit a chair on it to sit outside. Not sure why it even exists. The pool area is very nice. They have a terrific bar next to the pool, and have waiter service and some finger foods available while at the pool. I will say that drinks are outrageously expensive! A can of beer and a glass of white wine costs $32.00 !!! That was the most i have ever paid in South Beach for two drinks. There is a beautiful gym at this hotel. Probably the nicest gym i've seen in a hotel. There is also a mini night-club in the same building as the gym, that opens at 5:00pm. Cozy atmosphere with music, pool tables, comfy seating, and a bar. We spent most of our time at the pool and at the pool bar. I would stay here again, although the drinks are definitely over-priced.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddie T, Asst General Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thanks for telling us about your stay at The James Royal Palm. We appreciate that you took the time to tell us about your experiences. While it seems you had a great time with us, the price of drinks was a bit of a turn off. We do price our food and beverage offerings competitively with the surrounding properties. I apologize if it seemed a little steep. We hope to have you back as our guest soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,363
    950
    520
    243
    243
See reviews for
769
1,230
143
334
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (564)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach
1 review
Reviewed 2 September 2013

The James Royal Palm is ideally located for a walking tour of Miami Beach from Lincoln Road to South Beach. All of the hotel staff members were friendly, helpful and dedicated to serving hotel guests. This was our first stay at The James Royal Palm. It exceeded all of our expectations.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Raymond J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddie T, Asst General Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Wow! Exceeded all your expectations is definitely what we love to hear. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to having you as our guest again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novi, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Great location. Quiet, friendly , hotel....wonderful staff. Pool area smaller, more adult as opposed to a childrens "playland". We were happy about that! Beach accomodations were great. The rooms are designed with small angled balconies that provide an ocean view. Great comfortable beds. Great Value for the money :)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddie T, Asst General Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us. It seems that we were able to provide you with the relaxing atmosphere you were looking for. It is great to hear that we were able to meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach
1 review
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Me and my wife stayed there recently for 4 days. We have to say our whole experience was fabulous. The staff are really friendly and always greet with a smile on their face. We were very pleased that we chose the James royal hotel and would definitely recommend to friends and family. We don't usually write reviews but felt like we had to after the warm and pleasant experience at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Shakir A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddie T, Asst General Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thanks so much for writing this review even though you normally don't write them! I appreciate the positive comments and certainly hope that you will come to be our guest again when you are in the Miami area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

I and my husband stained for new year, enjoyed their small, but nicely located pool with great service and food. Their restaurant serve California inspired food fresh. We stayed Jr. Suite with great layout and view. For a hotel on Collin avenue on the beach, the James offers great value for the price.

Room Tip: Junior suite has good space of living and shower room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddie T, Asst General Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thanks for the review. We appreciate when you take the time to tell us about your stay. I hope that we will be seeing you again this New Year's!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, U.S.A.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We spent a fantastic girls weekend at the James Royal Palm earlier this month. Our suite was beyond all expectations - beautiful view, great layout, unbelievably spacious, wonderfully comfortable beds. The staff was unfailingly polite and helpful. The beach was gorgeous and the pool and hot tub were a perfect end to one of our nights out. The hotel's location is the icing on the cake -- easy to walk to restaurants, shops, clubs, and anyplace else you might want to be.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mimitravels456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddie T, Asst General Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
So glad to hear that we were able to provide the perfect backdrop for your fun girl's weekend! It is wonderful to hear that our Team Members were able to offer the service we strive for in every interaction. Come back to see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

If you are looking for something extraordinary, then you have come to the wrong place. It was overall an average experience. I honestly have to admit I was expecting a lot more than James considering they have a pretty cool website.

This hotel was so busy from the front entrance all the way to the beach. The check in was a mess. There was no queue and people would just overtake the desk as soon as it is made available to the guests. However, the process of checking was very good. The lady was very detailed in explaining on the package I have reserved for and it comes with a complimentary valet parking too. Please bear in mind that parking in Miami costs up to 40-50 dollars for valet. However, there's a public parking deck right next to the hotel which was very convenience.

The room was spacious with complimentary wifi. However, if you are looking for a good night sleep, please request room that is further away from the club at the lobby.

We encountered a fire alarm that went off for a good 15 minutes (maybe longer..) but to no announcement or whatsoever of what was happening. The alarm woke me up from my nap and my partner & I decided to go out instead as we were not getting any information of the situation.

Food & beverage were very easy to seek around the area within a close walking distance with tons of shops to browse through. There were many street performers too. Have fun with that.

Overall, the hotel is located at a very strategic location with the beach right at the back of the hotel. Beautiful sands and if you are looking to get a nice tan, and wouldn't mind so much about the hotel - then go for this.

Room Tip: Higher floor room at court yard area is best to avoid the loud sound from the club at the lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michiko69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddie T, Asst General Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
I was very sorry to read that we did not live up to your expectations. We strive to ensure that all of our guests have incredible memories of their stay and it looks like we did not succeed. I apologize for our shortcomings. I have spoken to our Engineering Team to understand the issues with the alarm you encountered and can assure you it has been addressed appropriately. thank you again for staying with us and I hope you will come to see us again on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#22 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,687 reviews
The Confidante
#34 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,741 reviews
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#62 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#35 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,471 reviews
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
#40 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,338 reviews
Shelborne South Beach
#61 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort

Property: Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
Address: 1545 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-3110 (Formerly The James Royal Palm)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#34 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#49 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#55 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#61 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#74 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Palm South Beach Miami boasts an enviable location on Collins Avenue, just north of the iconic Ocean Drive at 15th Street. With direct access to the beach and boardwalk, the resort is near the most appealing attractions of vibrant South Beach. The resort comprises a wealth of refined facilities, including a pampering spa and a pool encircled by cabanas. Dining venues serve authentic plates and cocktails in a relaxing ambience. Some 10,000 square feet of space is available for enchanting events. With iconic ocean or city views, guest rooms and suites house environmentally-friendly amenities and stylish areas for business and leisure. Poolside Suites are distinguished by their expansive outdoor terraces and proximity to the beach and pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Priceline, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing