We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in South Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
Ranked #99 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great hotel in South Beach”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I just came back today from a 4 days getaway at the James Royal Palm with 2 friends. Overall I'm very happy we picked this hotel, however I cannot give it a perfect rating for a few reasons.

I will start by saying that the room was great.
The decoration was nice, the bed was comfortable, and the bathroom was clean and spacious. We had booked an ocean view room..Let s just say we did not really see the ocean from our room. In order to see the ocean we had to go on the balcony and look between two buildings to see the water. If you want a ocean view, that might not be what you will be getting. We didnt mind that much, but just felt that we would not have paid the extra amount to get an ocean view room, had we known that that s what we would be getting.

The service at the hotel was truly exceptional. Everyone was extremely friendly.Everyone at the beach and at the pool were really helpful, even though we were there during a very busy weekend. I would give the service a 10/10, with one exception. One of the concierge...I do not remember his name, but I do not know how he got a job as a concierge. We asked him if there would be anything interesting going on in South Beach during Labor day weekend, and he answered: "Not really anything is going on this weekend" I really have a hard time believing that. Then we asked him about the opening hours of a mall, and he simply told us that he didnt know...Anything we would ask him, he wouldnt be able to give us an answer.

We had breakfeast at the hotel everyday during our stay. Breakfast was always really good, and we really enjoyed the view from the upstairs dining room.

The grounds and restaurants of the hotel were great also. There s a cool and relaxed vibe that we really appreciated and I would definitely consider staying there again during my next stay in South Beach if I would be able to make sure to get an ocean view room next time.

Room Tip: The room we were in, 902, you could hear the music from the club downstairs. If you are a light slee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frederica84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddie T, Asst General Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thanks for detailing your stay. While we are glad to hear that most elements of your visit met your expectations, it is disappointing to hear that the view and one of our concierges did not. I hope that you will come back to stay with us next time you are traveling in South Beach again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,394 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,390
    979
    528
    246
    251
See reviews for
789
1,266
143
338
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (573)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I truly enjoyed my 4 day stay. Staff retrieved our bags, and gave us a refreshing drink upon arrival. Check in was smooth. The room was perfect. I saw on the site beforehand that renovation was taking place and we lost power twice but it was only for a matter of minutes. The cabanas and the pool are beautiful. I would definitely recommend this hotel to future travelers.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BahamianCapricorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddie T, Asst General Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
So glad you were able to enjoy your stay with us. I certainly apologize for the power outages during your stay. Unfortunately they affected much of South Beach but only for a few minutes each time. I hope you will visit us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica
1 review
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I have stayed at The James in NYC and now Miami. Service is unparalleled, especially at this price point. All staff are super helpful and management goes above and beyond. We were in Miami for our 3rd anniversary and hotel management provided us with a fantastic upgraded room and a great bottle of prosecco. As someone who travels frequently, I wish The James Hotels were in every city. Simply the best!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jason G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddie T, Asst General Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thanks for telling us about your stay. It is great to hear that we hit it out of the ballpark! We hope you will have great memories to share with family and friends and that you will definitely tell them to come see us when they visit Florida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach
1 review
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This hotel is in a great location which is in close walking distance to everything you will need. Very clean and the service is very good. I have already booked for our next visit in January and are looking forward to it.


  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Richard Gordon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddie T, Asst General Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
We are excited to welcome you back for your next trip in January! Thanks for letting us know how we did and hurry back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Disappointed in several areas...
This was our 30th anniversary and after contacting the hotel a few times to arrange champagne and something special set up in our room it never happened. I was not looking for a hand out and was willing to pay for this but they missed it completely. Not even a "Happy Anniversary".

The room had several issues: Toilet kept running, wet hole in bathroom ceiling, bath exhaust fan very loud and the A/C did not cool effectively. This is why I could not give this hotel a higher rating. Staff needs to be trained to report problems to engineering and what to look for.
We switched rooms late the second night after a few trips to the front desk and several emails.
The new room was nicer but to be critical still had maintenance issues. For example the marble floor at the toilet had a gross stain coming from under the toilet.
Room was not ready at 4pm check in time.

Double check your bill and save receipts. There are a lot of hidden fees not explained. For example the beach chairs are $13 each and an umbrella at $10. Should be $36. But there must be taxes and additional service fees. To bring it near. $48. Also he same with beach food. A salad had a lot of extra fees on it not explained. Also we were charged for an honor bar purchase that we never used.
Heads up for travelers not familiar with the Miami area, parking and resort fees are extra unless you have a special package. Approximately $39.00 to valet. Near by parking is available if you don't mind a short walk.
Other maintenance problem. Room key did not work. It took 3 trips to the front desk. Finally they sent the bellman up with me to let me in and he contacted engineering.
Kudos to Anthony he is extremely professional and helpful.

Pros:
Hotel location, staff general friendly and professional, special attention at the beach and pool with fresh fruit delivered. Even a man going around with a watering pail to rinse sandy feet. I think is name is Michael. He is also very professional.
Continental Breakfast is limited but good. They provide you with excellent service and provide mini coffee containers at the table. Best service for a continental Breakfast.

Room Tip: The higher rooms are quieter. The lower rooms can have more street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scuba14u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddie T, Asst General Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
I was so disappointed to hear about the experiences with your room and also that we missed the opportunity to make your Anniversary something special for both of you. We always try to give our guests great memories to take home with them and it certainly looks like we missed the mark during your stay with us. I apologize for the issues you experienced as well as the fees that you were not made aware of in advance. It is never our intention to surprise you with any of the costs. I hope that you will give us another try if your travels bring you down to the Miami Beach area in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

My wife and I have stayed at a number of places in South Beach over the years and we even got married there. We always look for deals on nice hotels and try to stay somewhere differnet every time. For this trip, we decided on the James Royal Palm, since we knew that they had just been through a pretty extensive renovation. Enjoyed the hotel very much and the service was excellent. They have a great set up at the beach and can get you set up with chairs and an umbrella, as long as you are not coming to the beach too late in the day. Pleanty of people around to help you with whatever you need and the Florida Cookery is a great place to have lunch by the pool. When we arrived, we had reserved a City View Room (cheapest we could book online) and were happy that we were upgraded to a Lanai room by the pool. Room was very nice, but there were a few marks on the white tile floors. Asked housekeeping to come by and clean the floor. They did, but it was not that much better. Not much that they could do about it. My only complaint about the hotel was that on Saturday afternoon, they put a bean bag toss game (some know it at corn hole) out by the pool for everyone to play with. On both Saturday and Sunday nights, when drunk people would come back from the clubs, they woudl play the game right outside of our room. I called the front desk a number of times to complain and they never really did anything. I had to keep getitng out of bed and scream at the drunk idiots. Finally, I just put in some ear plugs and turned up the AC to try and drown out the noise. It kind of worked. We like the James Royal Palm a lot, but I just wish that the front desk/management would have thougth about putting that stupid game away in the evenings, so that we could get some sleep.

Room Tip: Third floor Lanai room is probabaly the best. Make sure to steal the bean bags before you go to sle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brostyle1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddie T, Asst General Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thanks for taking the time to detail your stay. I am so sorry that we were not proactive in removing the game from the breezeway and that it disturbed your sleep. That issue has been rectified and hopefully you will give us another try. We look forward to having you as our guest again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I have to say that returning to this hotel after renovation was thus far my best choice in south beach miami. Renovation, service and employees completely blew me away! My stay was from August 7-12. room 1447 ocean view!! thank you!!! Loved the service of my room attendant Cristina, the waitress at Florida cookery ( Irene) who haves us great recommendations on the food. I can't believe I dare to taste fried green tomatoes and best white sangria..It was just simply delicious! thanks to irene. Great menu, delicious food. The only thing i have to comment.. mojitos are not very well made. i had to return them for extra club soda or sugar with a couple of bartenders, different times.The beach boys were very helpful for accommodations at the beach, Lester was having conversations with all the guests including myself while waiting for our chairs and umbrella which I thought it was great way engage with the guests. Loveeeddd The amenities - the bikes which We rode to ocean drive, the James basket at the beach and the amenity on my bedroom, the cookies- and it was all complimentary! Wow! I had in room dining breakfast and a couple massage! highly recommend! the girls at the spa were amazing!! I highly recommended this hotel to all my friends from NYC! Coming back to the James! Soon!

Room Tip: Take a corner ocean view room! Sunrise and sunset are just breathtaking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabiola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddie T, Asst General Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thanks so much for telling us about your stay. It is great to hear that we helped you to make some wonderful memories. I will certainly tell Christina, Irene and Lester that they were instrumental in making your stay that much more special. We will definitely work on our Mojitos for your next visit. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#59 of 208 in Miami Beach
6,537 reviews
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#37 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,532 reviews
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
#43 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#32 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,061 reviews
The Confidante
#31 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,003 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#25 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort

Property: Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
Address: 1545 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-3110 (Formerly The James Royal Palm)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#34 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#49 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#55 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#62 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#74 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Palm South Beach Miami boasts an enviable location on Collins Avenue, just north of the iconic Ocean Drive at 15th Street. With direct access to the beach and boardwalk, the resort is near the most appealing attractions of vibrant South Beach. The resort comprises a wealth of refined facilities, including a pampering spa and a pool encircled by cabanas. Dining venues serve authentic plates and cocktails in a relaxing ambience. Some 10,000 square feet of space is available for enchanting events. With iconic ocean or city views, guest rooms and suites house environmentally-friendly amenities and stylish areas for business and leisure. Poolside Suites are distinguished by their expansive outdoor terraces and proximity to the beach and pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing