We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Condo Is Across The Street”
Review of Surfside Beach

Surfside Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
US$279.00*
and up
Sunset Air Tour: Miami Beach and Fort Lauderdale
More Info
US$219.00*
and up
Romantic 40-Minute Flight over Miami
Ranked #14 of 118 things to do in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
369 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“My Condo Is Across The Street”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I live about 12 miles from Miami Beach, but I have a condo right across the street from 68th Street beach. This is a nice beach for quiet local "normal people" and families. If you want to see the tourists, drunks, druggies and "strange" people, head South to South Beach, 6th Street Beach or "13th Street Beach". Nice restaurants of all types all around.

As to the person mentioning "seaweed". YES there is seaweed sometimes because this is a Caribbean Gulfstream Beach which has clean water coming in all the time with waves. The seaweed on the beach is being constantly being pushed back from the shore by tractors at various times during the day. I believe this beach to be the best on Miami Beach.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank CaptainKuddles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    144
    26
    2
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Soft sand, peace and quiet”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I walk the length of the beach walking path all the way to the Bal Harbour breakwater when we vacation there annually. The beach is all soft sand and beautiful ocean. The beach was massively rehabilitated by the US Army Corps of Engineers about 10 or 15 years ago and since then the path and plantings have been added to reduce future beach erosion. The entire area is moving upscale with the recent addition of the new Grand Beach Surfside Hotel, the new Surfside Community Center and the under-construction Four Seasons resort. The city cleans the beach nightly.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sam-in-Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellfleet, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
1,026 reviews
367 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 347 helpful votes
“Lots of seaweed on the beach”
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

We just arrived in sunny Florida for some much needed R&R. We got to the beach around noon and found it clogged with seaweed which made it difficult to walk the shoreline in places.

I've been here before and know how great it can be. It missed the mark today.

Helpful?
5 Thank RiceWP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great small community”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Enjoy Harding with the old town main street feeling. Excellent food choices for people who keep kosher

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank gottaloveitaly2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Life's a beach”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

What a nice beach to take a long walk on. Sand paths, concrete paths and parks with families having picnics. The beach sand was firm enough to walk on for miles.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank MYvert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Surfside Beach also viewed

 

Been to Surfside Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing