We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”
Review of Puerto Sagua

Puerto Sagua
Ranked #53 of 1,087 Restaurants in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$38
Cuisines: Diner, Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great food”
Reviewed 6 May 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Great place for lunch. Excellent Cuban food. Service super friendly. Lots of variety and yummy fish.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank sheri m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,931 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    875
    742
    226
    51
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Iselin, New Jersey
Level Contributor
283 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Excellent Authentic Cuban Food!”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Puerto Sagua is a great Cuban restaurant. It's family owned and operated and you can tell by the friendly staff and amazing fresh food. You must get the beef empanadas. They are so delicious. I wish I would have packed some into my suitcase to bring home!! The ropa vijea (shredded beef) was so good! Tender pieces of shredded beef served with white rice and plantains. The roast pork shoulder was great as well. Served with moro rice and yuca. I really loved this place, I wish we had more time on our trip because I would have eaten here again!
Closed on Mondays!
Tuesday-Sunday 730-2am

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mrsoleary928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fried fish delight”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

We had first wanted to eat at THE PLACE on OCEAN DR. After no waitress for 30+ we walked 2 blocks and ended up at PUERTO SAGUA.
We found a table and this place was full of people eating, just what we needed.
Waitress was on point and we had fried fish like none other, I had the whole snapper, my husband and daughter had the specials ( grouper and king fish). Both @around$13 mine was$22. I should of known that there would be lots of bones in my snapper but worth all the picking. It's served with a huge portion of white rice and a cup of Cuban clack beans, YUMMM! We had the fried plantains and the were huge also, served with a side of fresh garlic sauce. So delicious, I'm so glad we did not eat at the pretentious "THE PLACE"
We were so glad we found this corner local place. It was definitely memorable!!! My granddaughter had, as she says the best burger ever!
Will visit again when in miami!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank mamasita1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castro Valley, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great value”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Great food with decent prices. My pork with rice and yucca was delicious. However, the black beans were a little dry. My daughter's chicken with rice and platanos were excellent. She is a picky eater, but loved her food. I would definitely come back again.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank nocciolata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
94 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Average, nothing great”
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

I dined here twice during my 5 day visit to south beach. First was for lunch. 1 dish was ordered from the specials list, Albondingas (meatballs), the other dish ordered was ropa vieja. The meal was in front of us within 2-3 minutes of ordering. Unfortunately, both were lacking something and needed more flavor.
I decided to give it a second chance and returned for breakfast a few days later. We ordered an omelette and a scrambled egg mix with a side of pancakes to split. Again, nothing fancy but filling. I wasn't too pleased with the pancakes and the orange juice was very tangy and did not seem to taste like it was fresh squeezed as noted on the menu. The Cafe con Leche wasn't my favorite either, but the Quattro Leches Cake was really good. The prices are a bit high for the establishment and quality of food. Unlike most, they did not automatically add gratuity to our bill (party of 2). There's plenty of other options in the area, I'd go to one of them over this restaurant if you are looking for a flavorful meal.

Helpful?
1 Thank _Tiffy_I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Puerto Sagua also viewed

 

Been to Puerto Sagua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing