We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderfully elegant hotel”

Tamara at the National Hotel
Ranked #317 of 1,087 Restaurants in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$41 - US$80
Cuisines: American, French, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighbourhood: City Center
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A wonderfully elegant hotel”
Reviewed 11 April 2013

We recently had the pleasure of going to a family wedding at The National in South Beach. We had the Welcome Party, Wedding and Brunch at the Hotel and each function was better than the last. The staff couldn't do enough for you and there isn't a place on South Beach that could have better ambiance! The lobby was Art Deco and I've been told just recently renovated. It was warm and inviting. The pool area was like going back in time. There were 2 pools over looking the beach, 1 long lap pool and the other a more traditional pool with friendly staff around serving drinks and food poolside.
The setting for the Wedding was spectacular overlooking the pool. We had cocktails on the terrace and dinner was served buffet style at the pool area under a canopy. Food was delicious.
Brunch the next day was on the terrace overlooking another pool. The staff, again couldn't have been nicer and helped seat people in the private area for the wedding guests. Food was very good with your typical breakfast items on the buffet.
I unfortunately didn't stay at the hotel so I am not able to give a review on the rooms.
We would definitely stay here next time we are in South Beach.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cgrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    24
    11
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“One of our Favorites”
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Inside a true Art Deco interior lobby. Food and service were great but it's the Deco decor and ambience that elevates the experience.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ivanarolex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
154 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“A island sophistication in a sea of South Beach frenzy...”
Reviewed 17 January 2013

My daughter, who is one of the pickiest people I know, discovered Tamara and the National and took us there over the Christmas holidays for lunch. As other reviewers have pointed out, it was almost empty, but don't let that throw you - embrace the spacious, quiet of the romantic al fresco dining and enjoy escaping the craziness of the South Beach scene. The food was good and reasonable, the menu varied enough to please everyone, and the service was impeccable - what a treat for a drop-in lunch! The hotel is so nicely done - if I didn't live in Miami I would definitely stay there.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 29Teddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
98 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Romantic”
Reviewed 5 February 2012

We went with a groupon type deal and were very pleased. The place was almost empty but the service was fantastic and the food was very good with large portions and great flavor. The restaurant has a great vibe with a beautiful poolside seating that makes for a very romantic outing.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DrDSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Romantic poolside dining”
Reviewed 3 February 2012

We enjoyed our meal on the restaurant's terrace overlooking the famous pool. Perfect weather made for a lovely evening.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank as06122014j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tamara at the National Hotel also viewed

 

Been to Tamara at the National Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing