We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place was an awesome pleasant surprise.....”
Review of SoBe Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SoBe Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Key West
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“This place was an awesome pleasant surprise.....”
Reviewed 29 December 2009

....The people who work there were nice to me when I was exhausted....From the front desk to the bartender they made me feel at home. Nothing can be perfect but I seem to have stayed there when there was a good group of people. I left to Key West thinking I should have stayed a couple more days...As far as hostels go this was an awesome pleasant surprise......Robert Taylor

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkTaylor1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    388
    496
    214
    91
    80
See reviews for
32
100
566
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 December 2009

Given the impression from Quintin Tarantino's movie, of the same title, i thought i was going to lose a kidney, or worst, as a result of staying at such a budget rate lodging, filled with shady characters & unsavory drunks. However upon arrival, i exchanged greetings with many friendly international guest, surrounded by very helpful & smiling staff. Hi Alain! my sense of foreboding was soon replaced by it upbeat party happening atmosphere, without even having to go the 2 blocks towards the beach front. i had such a wonderful stay. i am coming back soon. it feels like europe located smack in washington avenue, at a budget!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scoregiarre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JEDDAH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 December 2009

Great location, everybody was very friendly, very youth place and safe to stay. Good atmosphere, international companion. Wonderful beach near to the Hostel. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

I am planning to stay in my next trip.

Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank QASIMJeddah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sd
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2009

if you want to save money and want to have party, this hostel is the perfect place to go. It's only two blocks away from the beach, bars, clubs and restaurants. There is also a bar and a pool table in the hostel lobby.
If you want to make any trips (to the Everglades, Key West etc.) you should plan them in advance. Most of the staff working their was not very helpful. She couldn't answer any question we had and she did not really want to help us either. If you organize the trips by yourself, it will be much cheaper.
It can be really cold in the rooms, because of the AC. You can ask for extra blankets(5Dollar deposit). They won't offer them by themselves. It's the same with towels.
The breakfast was one Bagel, sometimes with a banana and coffee or orange juice. It was ok.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SunDiego09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 December 2009

This is the best hostel we have stayed in so far. They have real key card locks on the doors, and you can't even enter the actual room area without your key card. We had a 4 bed dorm for just the 2 of us, with a shared bathroom. Everything was very clean. They have a free breakfast in the morning (big fluffy bagels and oranges and coffee) and a bar with reasonably priced beer. We had a great time and would highly recommend this place. Alain, one of the guys manning the check-in desk, was very informative and friendly.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smallKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, MD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2009

I stayed at the South Beach hostel from Nov 16th-22nd. It was a good experience overall. I was in a 4-bed dorm and all my roommates were friendly and considerate. I made sure I picked a lower bunk bed because getting into the upper bunk beds is hard as there is no ladder on the side. The dorms are clean and so are the bathrooms. I took a cold shower everyday as there was no hot water coming thru the showers. This was not a big issue, as the weather is hot always and I was showering in the afternoon anyways. Some people got only really hot water and no cold water, so I guess I was better off. The kitchen seems to be decently equipped-it has a microwave, 4-top stove, fridge and an oven. The lounge area with the bar and pool tables are good. There is free WiFi and if you didn't bring a computer, you can use the computers in the lobby @ $2 for 20 mins. The beach is a couple blocks away and you'll find decent restaurants within a 10 block radius of the hostel; ditto with the clubs. Strongly recommend Mango for latin music and dancing, although they play 80s, top 40 and house too. And talking about clubbing, there is this Serbian guy by name Marcos and another gentleman with pockmarks on his face; these guys offer to get you into clubs for free if you ride their limousine (for a fee of course). They are not outright bad, but they are not completely reliable. If you can, try and avoid them. They are very friendly and casual, but they are ultimately a couple of hustlers. Adi and Alain at the reception are friendly and full of information. So is Dwayne, the African-American gentleman who works at the hostel; he's very reliable.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mithun_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 November 2009

this is a typical hostel, with nice staff, and basic amenities. The kitchen is nice, but the refrigerator is way too small for all of the guests to use, and it isn't cold enough to prevent spoilage.....the rooms are very small for 6 people, and the bunk mattresses are plastic covered, which makes a lot of noise when ever someone shifts position....real loud if you are a light sleeper.....The lobby scene is hampered by non stop generic TV, or techno pop, at high levels of volume.....the clientele is varied, and interesting, that's the best part....meeting new people from all over the world. So, I would say that this place is ok for a few days, but any longer will start to wear on you.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank KittywakeCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Urbanica The Meridian Hotel
#2 of 208 in Miami Beach
403 reviews
South Pointe
Marriott Stanton South Beach
Marriott Stanton South Beach
#22 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,325 reviews
Freehand Miami
#6 of 84 in Miami Beach
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Posh South Beach Hostel
#2 of 84 in Miami Beach
561 reviews
Rock Hostel
#4 of 84 in Miami Beach
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SoBe Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SoBe Hostel

Property: SoBe Hostel
Address: 235 Washington Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-7115
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 84 Speciality Lodging in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — SoBe Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Breakfast and Free Dinner included for all our guests. The newly remodeled South Beach Hostel is the perfect place to stay when you want to experience all that Miami Beach has to offer. Our boutique Hostel with its trendy and cozy ambiance is the only Miami Hostel with a lounge and full bar where you can meet other travelers. Ideally located in the heart of the Deco District, The South Beach Hostel is 2 blocks from the beach & 5 minute walk from the vibrant Clubs & Shops that make South Beach so characteristic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your SoBe Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
SoBe Hostel Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing