We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smokers ruin this restaurant”

The Restaurant at The Raleigh
Reserve with OpenTable
The Restaurant at The Raleigh is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #155 of 1,087 Restaurants in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, View
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
New York City
Level Contributor
138 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Smokers ruin this restaurant”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

First we stopped at the martini bar - fantastic with great service! Excellent cocktails!! Rating 5!

We then moved to the outdoor patio where the restaurant serves dinner. The meal was delicious and our server wonderful. (rating 4) Unfortunately, the restaurant/hotel allows smoking at any table so while you're trying to eat, enjoy your wine or even some fresh beach air, there are some folks smoking away on both cigarettes and cigars which ruins the experience. I'm not talking one or two, I'm talking several, all at once. So while trying to eat a nice meal there are 6 very bubbly girls smoking cigarettes trying to talk over each other and what I'd describe as two middle-aged very hip guys wearing gold jewlery smoking cigars next to you, it kind of ruins the mood/ambiance. Rating 2. Raleigh Hotel - why allow this?

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank NYCTravelMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    235
    135
    37
    25
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Home away from home...”
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

I'm at the Raleigh almost once a month for work and have to say it's one of my favorites on the beach. It has the three most important things: 1) good beds 2) nice clean bathrooms 3) cool vibe and great food. Having breakfast outside near the pool is always super relaxing before heading to work and the view is gorgeous. The lobby and pool area have an old world Hollywood feel to it. A coffee bar right off the lobby is also convenient and the staff is really friendly and helpful especially the concierge. If you want a great suggestion for dinner outside the hotel they have plenty of excellent options. Always a pleasure staying at the Raleigh.

Helpful?
Thank AstoriaG3K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fun upbeat atmosphere - Kiara the server was delightful”
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Had a great dinner with my daughter and her 3 college age friends. Food very good and service was great. A bit pricey but I'd return. The outdoor atmosphere makes it extra engaging.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank NYC10024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Garden Dining”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

What a fabulous dinner in South Beach eating outside in a romantic garden off the beach with "to die for" food! Plus outstanding service! Can't wait to visit again!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MickeyC52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
106 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great food - sell a kidney”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Not shockingly, this restaurant in a very expensive hotel has very expensive food. The food is good, certainly, but it isn't a Michelin star restaurant, so you don't get a lot of bang for your buck. If you're desperate, there are diners a block away.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stbride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Restaurant at The Raleigh also viewed

 

Been to The Restaurant at The Raleigh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing