We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely evening!”

A Fish Called Avalon
Reserve a table
2
Sun, 4/14
20:00
Ranked #73 of 1,032 Restaurants in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: £8 - £24
Cuisines: Seafood, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighbourhood: Flamingo / Lummus
Cross street: 7th
Description: A Fish Called Avalon, a time-honored seafood tradition in Miami Beach. Our live Latin-Caribbean music nightly creates an unforgettable ambiance great for people-watching on our outside terrace. Diners rave about our daily delivered seafood with favorites such as the Macadamia Snapper, Crab-Crusted Black Grouper, or the classic Sake & Tarragon Glazed Lobster Tails. Our renowned Executive Chef Kal Abdalla has created a menu bursting with flavor and a Caribbean Mediterranean influence. The superb cuisine, relaxed Ocean Drive setting, and impeccable service have been delighting diners with culinary excellence since 1989.
Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

Avalon was just past some very noisy music bars full of rowdy millennials at an "advanced stage of refreshment"......it's good to people having fun but we didn't necessarily want them to share. However the place was fine and the noise stayed down the street!

We had, inevitably, fish. It was superb as was my mixed ceviche starter served in glowing glass bowls....the waiter / manager was a real pro - just enough chit chat and attention to makes us feel special and ensure an efficient service but never intrusive. He helped with our selections and advised on some great wine.

The atmosphere was friendly, and buzzy....the service food and wine were great......we would definitely go back......

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank Kapitanwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ppinault, General Manager at A Fish Called Avalon, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2016

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your wonderful letter about the evening you enjoyed so much. We know that every detail counts, so compliments like yours let us know we are doing things right. It is great to hear that you appreciated our cordial yet professional service as well as our outstanding cuisine. Your recommendation means the world to our whole team and we thank you for sharing your thoughts.
Warm regards, Pascal Pinault, Food & Beverage Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (2,012)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

637 - 641 of 2,012 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2016 via mobile

Great athmosphere high prices and food ok. Seafood doesn't really smell fresh but you can survive it. French wines availables are a plus to me

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Wasaabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ppinault, General Manager at A Fish Called Avalon, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2016

Dear guest,
Thanks for mentioning our outstanding selection of French wines. We appreciate your taking a moment to write, and look forward to welcoming you back.
Warm regards, Pascal Pinault, Food & Beverage Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2016

Our hotel the Avalon became A Fish Called Avalon after 4pm. The food and our waiter was TOP NOTCH!!!We had the mussels to start. I had seafood risotto and my husband had steak and lobster tail. My pina coladas were yummy and dont forget the key lime pie was to die for!Thank you for the experience!!

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank dtalarico521
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ppinault, General Manager at A Fish Called Avalon, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your note about the memorable dinner you had with us. We really enjoyed hearing from you and appreciate your praise of our cocktails and our cuisine. Chef Kal’s key lime pie is legendary and you are kind to spread the word about it. It may well be the standard by which all other key lime pies should be judged.
Warm regards, Pascal Pinault, Food & Beverage Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2016

some of my friends recommended this place to visit, who had been here before
basically the only restaurant on the Oceans drive that worth every penny,
you get 2x lobster for reasonable price, also, everything we tried was perfect,
thank you

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gábor N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ppinault, General Manager at A Fish Called Avalon, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2016

Dear Guest,
Heartfelt thanks for taking time to write, and for acting on the sound advice of the friends who recommended A Fish Called Avalon. We’re thrilled to know that we completely lived up to your expectations, and hope to welcome you again when you are in Miami Beach.
Warm regards, Pascal Pinault, Food & Beverage Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2016

The reason I did not rate it 5 stars is that our table was right on the sidewalk with passerbys occasionally bumping into us. If you go, request an outside table that is not so close to the people walking by, as it can get crowded and annoying. Be sure to go on the night that features the talented guitarist, Martin Loza. However, prepare your wallet/purse. For a party of 4, we spent $251 + Tax + Gratuity for a total of $318.77. Watch out for the specials that can run $39 and up. Especially the Heron MR which cost $56.

Date of visit: January 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank springvisions
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ppinault, General Manager at A Fish Called Avalon, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2016

Dear guest,
Thank you for your compliments about our delightful location and delicious cuisine. We regret that no terrace tables were available when you visited in January, and invite you to return so we can remedy that. I’ve shared with our guitarist your appreciation of his music, which adds nicely to our casually elegant atmosphere. Thanks for taking time to write and please come again.
Warm regards, Pascal Pinault, Food & Beverage Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed A Fish Called Avalon also viewed

 

Been to A Fish Called Avalon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.