We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best. Hotel. Ever.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sanctuary South Beach
Ranked #149 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best. Hotel. Ever.”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This honestly was the best hotel ever. Everything from the room, to the food, and everything in between was just fantastic. Luis, Maria, and Eddy were exceptional. They routinely would check up on us via text message to insure that our stay was nothing less than superior. If you are looking for a relaxing, friendly, and convienient place to stay, this is definitely the place for you!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joshhollin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ignacio L, Manager at Sanctuary South Beach, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest

Firstly, many thanks for writing a review about your recent stay at the Sanctuary South Beach. It is a great pleasure to know you received an excellent customer service from Eddy, Maria and Luis. We hope to have you stay at the Sanctuary in the near future. Please email me at iluciano@meninhospitality.com in order to get the best rate.

Regards,

Ignacio Luciano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    272
    153
    100
    127
See reviews for
107
369
65
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I finally came around in writing a review.. Me and my boyfriend booked this hotel for a 3night stay in May- and we have to agree that it was the best service and hotel ever. For my boyfriend he has been to Miami numerous of times, for me it was my first. He was very pleased, and we agreed whenever we return to Miami...SANCTUARY HOTEL will be the ONLY hotel we will stay in!! :)

1. Eddy (reception) is very very polite, nice and helpful- we LOVED him!
2. A block away from the beach and the loud Collins ave- its a perfect hidden spot that is yet around everywhere you want to be.
3. Room is spacious, clean, and the bed is very comfortable

Room Tip: The second floor is best but if you would like a nice Buddha Fountain outside your hallway, the firs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sully R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ignacio L, Manager at Sanctuary South Beach, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at the Sanctuary South Beach. I am most delighted to know that you enjoyed your visit and you consider us the ONLY hotel to stay in (South Beach). We hope that you will visit us soon, please send me an email at iluciano@Meninhospitality.com in order to get the best rate.

Regards,

Ignacio Luciano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I have been staying at the Sanctuary once or twice a year for the past 5 years... and this time was no different.. Eddy is just wonderful.. and I can't wait to return in November! This is the only hotel for me on South Beach.. Rooms are spacious and that bed provides some of the best sleep ever, although i didn't do much sleeping.. It's SOUTH BEACH.. DUH!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dashonn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ignacio L, Manager at Sanctuary South Beach, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your awesome review on TripAdvisor. We are very honored to have you at the Sanctuary South Beach every year. Thank you for your great comments regarding Eddy.

We hope to see you in November, please email me at iluciano@Meninhospitality.com in order to get the best available rate.

Regards,

Ignacio Luciano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

I went to the Sanctuary hotel for a week get away with my girl friend. Since the beginning we were greeted by Maria, whom not only told us all about the hotel, but also helped us setting up some tours; honestly it was fun! Definitely we will be coming back soon.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aav99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ignacio L, Manager at Sanctuary South Beach, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest

I am glad to hear you had fun in your recent stay at the Sanctuary South Beach. I am also happy to know that Maria made your stay even better with her customer service skills.

We look forward for your next stay. Please email me at iluciano@meninhospitality.com in order to get the best deal.

Regards,

Ignacio Luciano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Decatur, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at Sanctuary South Beach over the 4th of July weekend, checking in July 3rd and checking out July 6th. We chose this hotel based on the location, price, and reviews. We were highly satisfied with our stay! The hotel reservation was in my husband's name and I arrived at the hotel before him (due to travel delays; I flew in that day and he drove in from Ft. Lauderdale), I was worried since he wasn't with me check-in might be a hassle but it was a breeze. Eddie at the front desk is very helpful and patient.

Our room was on the first floor and was spotless. I only have 2 complaints about the room. First, with it being on the first floor, there was not much natural light. The front of the room faces the courtyard/open atrium area and for privacy we kept the curtains shut. The back of the room, the bedroom, had a large window but we kept that shut too for privacy - so we had to have overhead lights on constantly. Not a huge deal since we didn't really spend daylight hours in the room. It did make it great for sleeping at night though!! Second complaint - the bathroom has frosted windows on one of the walls facing the bedroom, which is aesthetically pleasing but if one of us got up in the middle of the night and turned on the bathroom light, the person in bed was blinded! So if we had to use the bathroom in the middle of the night, we did it with the lights off :-O Again, those are the only complaints, very minor.

The amenities of the hotel were OK. Continental breakfast was the normal fare. The rooftop pool is VERY small. Deepest point in the pool is only 2'10". But it was nice up there, the few times we did go to the rooftop we were alone except for one time, very peaceful. If you are looking for a bigger pool, their sister hotel the Gale is just around the corner. We went to that pool once and it was a little bit bigger, with more lounge chairs and a better view. We dined at the hotel restaurant Ola on Friday night, and the food was wonderful! Not cheap though. Ola was packed Saturday night and I think it's one of the nicer restaurants in the South Beach area. Good for a special occasion dinner. Finally, if we needed anything from the front desk, such as ice, extra towels, etc. the front desk was very courteous and prompt with our requests.

All in all we really enjoyed our stay; it is not one of the hotels right on the beach which is fine, we were OK with saving $100/night to walk an extra block to the beach! And it's an extra block away from the chaos and noise of Collins Ave. which made it more tranquil and low-key. If you're looking for good value and location, Sanctuary is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ignacio L, Manager at Sanctuary South Beach, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your 5 star review on Tripadvisor. I really appreciate your detailed review and I will definitely look into every single item you mentioned. Thank you once again and we hope you visit us soon. Please email me at iluciano@meninhospitailty.com in order to get the best rate.

Regards,

Ignacio Luciano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, Virginia, USA
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I truly enjoyed my stay at the Sanctuary South Beach, Miami, FL. I'd read previous reviews that made this place sound questionable, yet I'd already booked it and thought, I can deal with 2 nights, regardless of what reviewers posted. Turns out, I was immediately impressed!! Prior to my arrival, I received text messages from the hotel with warm welcomes. When I arrived, it was hours before My room would be ready, and when I got there, the hotel staff completely understood, and recommended hanging out at the beach, with beach chairs and all. The hotel staff ( Luis, and Eddy) were very attentive, and exceeded my expectations and doubts. The Restaurant, Ola got great reviews, I'm just sad I didn't get a chance to eat there. I did however enjoy a complimentary mojito as I was waiting for my ride and guest to a local Cuban restaurant. The room was simply fabulous, I had no complaints about my stay, and do plan to make the Sanctuary my number one place to stay in the future. Keep up the great job, and I salute you for a job well done!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ignacio L, Manager at Sanctuary South Beach, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for sharing your experience at the Sanctuary South Beach. It is wonderful to hear that Luis and Eddy exceeded your expectations. I hope you’ll come visit us again soon. Please email me at iluciano@meninhospitality.com in order to get the best deal.

Regards,

Ignacio Luciano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, FL
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Scent-ual hotel where staff does all it can to make you comfortable. I received two to three texts a day asking if we needed anything. Rooms good size and clean. Rooftop pool area good, but pool no deeper than 3 feet. Not much of a view either. They have sister properties you can go to with larger pools.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ignacio L, Manager at Sanctuary South Beach, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of the Sanctuary South Beach. We really appreciate your comments regarding our customer service via text messaging. Our staff members take their roles in our industry very seriously and try, every day, to provide that quality customer service, that our guests expect.
Please email me at iluciano@meninhospitality.com next time you want to visit us and get the best rate.

Regards,

Ignacio Luciano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Cadet Hotel
#75 of 208 in Miami Beach
946 reviews
City Center
Crest Hotel Suites
Crest Hotel Suites
#144 of 208 in Miami Beach
116 reviews
City Center
Gale South Beach
Gale South Beach
#50 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
The Redbury South Beach
The Redbury South Beach
#17 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,193 reviews
City Center
SBH South Beach Hotel
SBH South Beach Hotel
#118 of 208 in Miami Beach
466 reviews
City Center
Albion South Beach
Albion South Beach
#68 of 208 in Miami Beach
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary South Beach

Property: Sanctuary South Beach
Address: 1745 James Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-7508
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sanctuary South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sanctuary Hotel is in an ideal South Beach setting for those who want to be away from it all but in the middle of it all. Our four star boutique hotel is located steps away from Collins Avenue, the Fillmore at Jackie Gleason Theater, Miami Beach Convention Center, New World Symphony, Washington Ave., And Ocean Drive. Whether your trip is business or leisure our knowledgeable staffs will guide your South Beach experience and make sure that exceptional service is unlike any other Miami Beach Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sanctuary South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Sanctuary South Beach Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing