We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be careful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Miami Beach North Plaza Hotel
Ranked #191 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Be careful”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

The hotel facilities are basic, a bit old and smelly. in their website they say they have free shuttle to South Beach and Ventura mail, this is not true, they charge 25 dollars per person to go to the mail and for South Beach they send people to get public transport. The concierge, a man called Guillermo, charged us 70 dollars for a car to the airport, and what he did is to call a cab, pay the driver 45 dollars (the official cab rate to the airport) and keep the difference, without telling us that we could call the cab and pay 45 dollars as indicated by Miami transportation Service. He also told the driver to come to pick us up 30 minutes earlier than have asked, and the driver wanted to charge us 15 extra dollars for the additional waiting time. If posible, avoid it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SilvinaA2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    43
    95
    65
    55
See reviews for
108
76
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

Not a fancy place a little run Down. But the staff was Excellent. Friendly. The room was amazing. Gave us a corner looking over the ocean. After spending$200 on south beach
the night before with no sleep from a fire alarm that kept us all night. This hotel was roomy quiet and very comfortable beds! A nice surprise. Good rooms for the cost!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Shandel4556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

When you first walk in the lobby there is an odor that I can't really describe. I would say it's something along the lines of old man sweat. The lobby is huge with very little seating. The chairs I did sit in had fleas jumping on me. Don't expect a relaxing time in your room because the walls and floors are very thin. There people coming and going all night long. The included continental breakfast is nothing more than bread and store bought cookies. Oreos for breakfast?you can upgrade to a hot breakfast for $8. The same breakfast that most hotels would include

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San francisco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

My mother booked the room through Booking.com in Brasil. They cost about $150 a day. After traveling for 16hrs she arrived at the hotel at 6 am they did not let her check into the room until 3pm. This is the case daily, many people. One from long trips abroad and sits in the lobby for many hrs. It's "policies" that you check in at 3pm.
They had a trouble with charging her MasterCard and ended up blocking the card which we where not able to use for our entire 2 weeks trip and unable to move out and into a better hotel.
The rooms arent luxury and I'm ok with that but the shower goes from hot to cold all the time today the toilet got jacked up and it barely looks clean when it gets cleaned. Trip buses comes every day 6 am stops in front and doesn't turn off therefore if you are in the front of hotel room you get to wake up cause its really loud and echoes. They did not gave me a breakfast vouch which deducts $2 dollars from the $8 that they charge you which they shouldn't charge in the first place because after all it's a $150 a night that I'm paying. Good points are location it has a bus stop in front of hotel which allows me to grab it and go to south beach. I recommend getting a bus card. And the beach is in the backyard and it's beautiful. The retro style isn't my style but I can see how some people can enjoy that, it's cute having breakfast in a car I guess but gets old. The staff really isn't helpful or interested in quality service. I just feel like everybody wants to make their dollar at every chance but then again you can say that abou Miami beach period. Also overheard another person staying here complaining that they were on the top floor and it rained all night and they got Drenched in their room. Rain coming from the ceiling down the walls filling up the floors. And by the way the lobby does NOT look like the picture they have above.
So over all it's not worth it.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mainha108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbot Village, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 December 2013

I recently stay in this hotel and had money stolen for the room. All doors were locked, so the only way in was with a pass card. Management was not concerned, security did not have a clue as to what to do. THere are no security cameras in the halls nor do the have a way to track key card access. The location was good, the hotel is dated and staff are not helpful at all. They could do so much more at this hotel, but do not seem interested in customer service. The rooms and hallway are tile floor and were not clean. This was not a great start to our cruise vacation.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miami Beach
0.1 mi away
Solara Surfside Resort
Solara Surfside Resort
#4 of 9 in Surfside
224 reviews
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Miami Beach Surfside
1.0 mi away
Sun Harbour Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Beach Place Hotel
Beach Place Hotel
#106 of 208 in Miami Beach
507 reviews
0.4 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel at The Surf Club, Surfside, Florida
1.3 mi away
Sea View Hotel
Sea View Hotel
#3 of 5 in Bal Harbour
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miami Beach North Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miami Beach North Plaza Hotel

Property: Miami Beach North Plaza Hotel
Address: 8701 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33154-3403 (Formerly Howard Johnson Plaza Miami Beach North)
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#119 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Miami Beach North Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Miami Beach North Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Dezerland Beach Miami Beach
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Dezerland Beach And Spa
Howard Johnson Plaza Dezerland Beach & Spa
Howard Johnson Miami Beach
Miami Beach Howard Johnson
Miami Beach North Plaza Hotel Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing