We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location... Not so great hotel..actually terrible.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Miami Beach North Plaza Hotel
Ranked #198 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The location is great. On the ocean with wonderful park, playground, running/walking paths, great food about a mile away. Far enough from hustle of South Beach but close enough to visit for the day or night.

Most of the staff was friendly and helpful. However they need 3x the staff. Stayed over 4th July weekend. Extremely busy and very understaffed. They few cleaning staff they have were constantly cleaning during all hours and disturbing to guests. The common areas are cleaned around 9am when everyone is out and about. The pool is not ready till about 10.

The building is very old and in need of a complete overhaul. EVERYTHING is falling apart. The hotel doesn't look at all like pictures online. The lobby is bare, the restaurant doesn't have the cars. It is totally neglected. I didn't feel safe. No smoke detectors, broken pieces of tiles everywhere, and exposed wires.

The room (suite with kitchenette) was very comfortable, with sink, microwave, refrigerator, and sitting area. The view to park and beach was great. The room was clean. But everything was very very old and worn and seemed a little unsafe.

The pool area is Terrible. Dirty pool. Dirty pool area. Dirty bathrooms. Dirty hot tub. Dirty restaurant. Unsupervised children, overcrowded pool. No hotel staff at all ever in area. Guests running wild, drinking, dancing, total ghetto area.

Look elsewhere. Will never stay here again.

.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria R, Manager at Miami Beach North Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

We appreciate your feedback and thank you for taking the time to provide us with your comments, every bit of information is valuable to us. I apologize that every aspect of your stay was less than 100% satisfactory. The appropriate departments have been notified regarding the comments so that way may improve the areas of concern you have mentioned. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Best Regards.
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (268)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

39 - 45 of 268 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is nothing but old Dirty and smells big time! It needs MAJOR revamping! I felt bad for the kind employees who have to work in this filthy environment! Howard Johnson need to spend the money and renovate this place big time or they need to close it down! I don't know how this hotel can own up to their customers making them believe they are going to Miami for a wonderful vacation, when in fact they are going to cry! Please trust me when I say go to another hotel in Miami or stay home!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RRunner66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria R, Manager at Miami Beach North Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your feedback and thank you for taking the time to provide us with your comments, every bit of information is valuable to us. I apologize that every aspect of your stay was less than 100% satisfactory.

Best Regards,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Vilkings J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Maria R, Manager at Miami Beach North Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Dirty, roaches ,and the worse the next room it was a fight at 5 am you can hear every thing from the next room bad don't go there!!! I feel I was staying in some housing project my advise pay more for something better

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ailealv34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria R, Manager at Miami Beach North Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I would like to take this opportunity to apologize for falling short due to the few issues you had encountered during your stay. . The appropriate departments have been notified of the issues you have mentioned so that we can improve upon this for future guest. Best Regards, Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

The rooms were very clean and they had awesome ocean views. The manager of the hotel was very nice and truly interested in providing the best customer service. The elevator sometimes got stuck but it would be rapidly fixed.
It has a very nice jacuzzi and a big pool. The pool has a children's part and then a big deep area for adults. The hotel is in front of the beach. Please note that you have to pay for parking and a resort fee per day. It is in total $26 daily.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ellafio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria R, Manager at Miami Beach North Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to share your review. I am delighted that you loved our ocean view as much as we do and that the room was to your satisfaction. I will make sure to pass on your comments to the manager of the hotel to service that was provided by him to you. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best Regards, Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Here's my review. As said in previous post the hotel is in great need of an update, But unlike other posts I found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. The room was clean but the furniture is old and there is some cosmetic problems with cracked plaster and an older kitchenette area, but the room looked freshly painted and the ac worked well. Noise was a problem as stated in past posts. There was a party going on untill about 3am in the next room so i didnt get much sleep but overall for the price and location I would have to say that I would stay here again. And I found the breakfast buffet to be quite good and reasonably priced at $10.00 for all you can eat.

Room Tip: The room I had was an ocean view on the 8th floor with a wonderful view of the beach looking south a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kharmannghia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria R, Manager at Miami Beach North Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank for staying with us and for taking your time to write a review. I'm pleased to hear you thought of the staff as friendly and helpful as we do aim to make our guest feel welcome. I'm sorry that you had disturbance while you were trying to sleep, we will make sure to monitor this for our future guests. We looking forward to you visiting with us again.

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

nice place to be in Miami Beach. Economical, close to South Beach, close to the beach and equipped with a nice swimming pool.
The hotel interior is a little old but that's OK for a short stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Thomas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria R, Manager at Miami Beach North Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review, we are so glad you enjoyed the beach and swimming pool. We hope to see you again.

Best Wishes,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Miami Beach
Holiday Inn Miami Beach
#102 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,054 reviews
1.5 mi away
Collins Hotel
Collins Hotel
#99 of 212 in Miami Beach
985 reviews
0.8 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Miami/North Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Lexington Hotel - Miami Beach
Lexington Hotel - Miami Beach
#137 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,427 reviews
3.6 mi away
Eden Roc Miami Beach Resort
Eden Roc Miami Beach Resort
#17 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,801 reviews
3.8 mi away
Fontainebleau Miami Beach
Fontainebleau Miami Beach
#42 of 212 in Miami Beach
13,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miami Beach North Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miami Beach North Plaza Hotel

Address: 8701 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33154-3403 (Formerly Howard Johnson Plaza Miami Beach North)
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#122 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: £49 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Miami Beach North Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Miami Beach North Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Dezerland Beach And Spa
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Dezerland Beach Miami Beach
Howard Johnson Plaza Dezerland Beach & Spa
Howard Johnson Miami Beach
Miami Beach Howard Johnson
Miami Beach North Plaza Hotel Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing