We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service is terrible” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Miami Beach North Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Miami Beach North Plaza Hotel
Ranked #191 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Service is terrible”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Hotel is old, furniture is horrible: with spots and holes, old-fashioned TV from last century, we have only 2 working outlets to plug in in our room. Rooms not be cleaned until you ask, lack of towels, room maid always put only 1 towel set in our room in spite the fact that there were 2 people in room. Sunbeds in the beach was distributed by person who usually was late: Italian man shows up sometimes by noon, sometimes by 9-10 am, so people had to sunbathe on the their towels or on a sand. Also he collected sunbeds by 6 pm, and did not let people who show up around 5 pm to use them. And last one totally inappropriate thing: instead announced $12 hotel fee per day they charged $14: $13 + taxes! Pros: jacuzzi, drinks and prices in bar, ocean beach nearby.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria R, Manager at Miami Beach North Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We appreciate your feedback and thank you for taking the time to provide us with your comments, every bit of information is valuable to us. I apologize that every aspect of your stay was less than 100% satisfactory. The appropriate departments have been notified regarding the comments so that way may improve the areas of concern you have mentioned. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Best Regards.
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    43
    95
    65
    55
See reviews for
108
76
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Conway, South Carolina
Level Contributor
100 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

The hotel is OLD so realize that before you book; if you're looking for high-dollar, fancy hotel, this is not it. If you are looking for a place to shower and sleep this could be the place for you. The lobby, lobby staff, pool, pool bar, pool bar staff were very accommodating. It's just an OLD hotel, built probably in the early 1950's. I loved that instead of carpet the floors were tiled, OLD tile but who cares, tile beats carpet any day in my opinion.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria R, Manager at Miami Beach North Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. I am thrilled that you found us a good value and that our staff made you feel welcome. We hope you will be back to visit with us again.

Best Regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

no frills hotle room, few outlets to plug in anything you may need. AC units failed in 2 rooms so I had to transfer to a new room, ( twice ). No fresh drinking water in vending machines. Smoke smell in my room even though it was a non smoking section ( floor).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Frank P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria R, Manager at Miami Beach North Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I would like to take this opportunity to apologize for falling short of your expectation due to other guest smoking and not having fresh drinking water. We do have non-smoking floors but unfortunately, some guest do not comply. Whenever incident like this is reported, our security is dispatched to put an immediate stop to such violations. As far as the drinking water, I’m sorry we did not have it in the vending machine we will be contacting our vendors to see if this is something we can obtain for our vending machines.

Best Regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Aside from the hotel being completely outdated (which I could deal with), the infestation of roaches is beyond disgusting. If you're lonely and need company this is the place to go... Roaches will keep you company in bed! Three Roaches were crawling on my bed. Absolutely ridiculous! And the electricity went out three times in the 5hrs we were there. Don't bother staying there... We couldn't even stay the night... We left at 2am!!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria R, Manager at Miami Beach North Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I would like to take this opportunity to apologize for falling short due to the few issues you mentioned in your review.
Maintenance and Housekeeping have been notified of your comments to make sure these issues are taking care of moving forward and pest control has also been called . Thank you again for your feedback.

Best Regards, Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for about 4 nights, our room was clean and comfortable, but, it's an old hotel and needs some upgrading. Nice pool area and right on the beach. We will consider coming back.we w were here back in 2008.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patcat71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria R, Manager at Miami Beach North Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to share your review. I’m glad you were comfortable and hope you will come back to visit us again.

Best Regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miami Beach
0.1 mi away
Solara Surfside Resort
Solara Surfside Resort
#4 of 9 in Surfside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Miami Beach Surfside
1.0 mi away
Sun Harbour Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grand Beach Hotel Surfside West
0.1 mi away
Beach Place Hotel
Beach Place Hotel
#109 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sea View Hotel
Sea View Hotel
#3 of 5 in Bal Harbour
3.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miami Beach North Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miami Beach North Plaza Hotel

Property: Miami Beach North Plaza Hotel
Address: 8701 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33154-3403 (Formerly Howard Johnson Plaza Miami Beach North)
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#119 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Miami Beach North Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Miami Beach North Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Dezerland Beach Miami Beach
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Dezerland Beach And Spa
Howard Johnson Plaza Dezerland Beach & Spa
Howard Johnson Miami Beach
Miami Beach Howard Johnson
Miami Beach North Plaza Hotel Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing