We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Great”
Review of The Setai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Setai
Ranked #6 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just Great”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

This Hotel has all you need, a perfect place for food, relax and high level of professionalism and hospitality.
From the time you check to the time you check out you feel in heaven.
Located in a super area and steps from the beach... but I preferred the pool.
Will definitely return and recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,079 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    794
    140
    73
    39
    33
See reviews for
223
493
47
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

My wife and I booked the The Setai in Miami Beach last minute after we had change a change of itinerary for our honeymoon and had to stay there for a final night in Miami. We booked our room through Tablet an hour before arrival, and from the moment we arrived we didn't regret it. Stunning two floor suite, impeccable service, and fantastic amenities including a luxury spa. All at great value. Truly a 5 star hotel. Could not recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McLean, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I booked my trip through AMEX fine hotel properties and when I arrived I wasnt upgraded even though better rooms were available... I got into my regular room(#606) and my safe wasnt working(they had to replace the safe) and then my key card to get into the room wasnt working so I had to use a HARD key to get into my room for the remainder of the trip(they did offer to switch me out ot another room but I didnt want to move all my stuff). Even after all the probelms I cant say anything bad about this place because of the service!! I was here 6 months ago and they remembered my name before I even walked in the front door!! If there was any problems they made SURE it was taken care of. Even after a few issues I cant give this place anything less than 5 stars. The only complaint I can give is that they didnt upgrade me to a better room even though better rooms were available.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asingh0267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carluke
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Public areas, rooms and service were all fantastic with the exception of a crowded pool area. The other guests were 'interesting'; I have never seen so much silicone and plastic surgery in evidence in my entire life. The bar and the American restaurant were good.

Ultimately I didn't like Miami Beach at all. From a UK visitor's point of view, not a patch on Manhatten, San Francisco or even Chicago or Boston. Not the hotel's fault of course, but staying in a 5 star hotel in the middle of what felt like a giant red light district didn't tick my boxes. If this is your scene, then the Setai delivers without question.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lewis V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Stayed in the Setai for a couple of nights on vacation with wife. Second time in Miami in a few years after staying at the Tides the last time. Different style of hotel. Rooms are ok but with not much of a view. Pool area is nice. Restaurant was closed for reno on our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Derek G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Round Hill, VA
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

My friend's husband planned an amazing getaway for his wife's birthday and selected The Setai as the hotel. What amazing taste he has! We had a suite with full kitchen and views of both the ocean and the inner-waterway. When we entered our room, we were greeted with a chilled bottle of champagne and birthday cake and a birthday card from the hotel. The staff at The Setai were so kind and helpful. The food, both room service and restaurant, was very good. The spa smelled heavenly and my massage was very relaxing (but he did end a few minutes shy of the full time...) The gym was well equiped and filled with light. The only down side to the whole weekend was that the pools were closed for renovation. But, that left the beach and the beach was great. The water was warm, the service was prompt and the drinks were cold. I cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akafayth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hangzhou, China
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Our plan was living in Madrian Orient or Four Seasons during the stay in Miami, Florida. But The Satei had a discount during summer that it provided full service including parking, breakfast, wifi and taxes within $500, then we preorderd two city view rooms. The surprise started in the lobby. We were served with mint tea and cold towel smelling like lemon, just like the management of GHM before. The upgrade of room was unexpected that our city view rooms were changed into sea view suite. There were all kinds of equipments including kitchen, laundry, dryer, wine holder, and fridge full of food. Outside of living room and bedroom, it had huge balcony facing the sea. The hotel spoted in the center of the city, South Beach, which was ten minute walk to Lincoln St. Distinguishing from Ritz Calton and W aside, The Satei was more concerning on keeping a low key and oriental Zen Style. There were about 170 rooms, and most of the guests were from Europe. The breakfast was delicate and the service was considerable. Waiters could remember your favorite taste the next day, and they would talk to you by knowing who you are. The software of this hotel was much better than the ones in China. In the morning of our last stay, because of the flight, the breakfast arrived on time at 4:30 in the morning. All the food and silverware were placed carefully. The disappointment was that the pool was having a renew during our stay.

Room Tip: Sea view suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kun X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
1 Hotel South Beach
1 Hotel South Beach
#7 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,180 reviews
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#14 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,544 reviews
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#4 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Faena Hotel Miami Beach
#9 of 208 in Miami Beach
687 reviews
The Miami Beach EDITION
#13 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,429 reviews
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#30 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Setai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Setai

Property: The Setai
Address: 2001 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139-1913
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#5 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#14 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Setai 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Setai is an intimate, serene oceanfront resort in the heart of South Beach. Its design vision artfully combines the rich architectural history of the neighborhood and its cultural diversity with the International Art Deco movement, particularly its influence in Asia. Our new restaurant, Jaya, invites you to discover a menu that dedicated to the traditional flavors and dishes of Asia from China, India, Thailand and Japan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Setai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Setai Hotel Miami Beach
Setai Hotel Miami Beach
Setai Miami Beach
The Setai Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing