We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious perfection”
Review of The Setai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Setai
Ranked #6 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Luxurious perfection”
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

This hotel is a luxurious haven in the hustle of south beach. From the moment of check in with a welcoming cocktail to the large comfortable rooms everything is designed to make you feel at home The service is excellent and the pool and beach glorious. I would highly recommend if you want pure luxury.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank nicknesta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,071 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    787
    139
    73
    39
    33
See reviews for
218
490
47
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

If this is a 5 star hotel, then pigs really can fly!!
From broken doors, broken blinds, broken lights, leaking toilets, blocked sinks to idiotic and sometimes rude staff, this hotel has it all. Mind you, most of the above room problems cannot be seen as the bedrooms are so dark!
Make sure if you do go, it's very warm as you will freeze in the grill room.
Only one shining light, the bar and staff were excellent. (Spent time there drowning sorrows!)
One to definitely miss.

Room Tip: Don't go
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Marcusx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I am staying right now in this hotel for two nights I cant sleep because of the noise in the street coming in the room. I cant imagine that I am paying 900 dollars in a hotel that I cant sleep in. My room number 508 and I dont advice anyone to stay in this room because the isolation of the windows is terrible. This is my worst experience ever in staying in any hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank moteia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Extended family stayed at the Setai over the Holidays. Here is a drill-down

1. Room: We stayed in a two bedroom suite and loved the Duxiana beds, the amenities and the furniture. I am a sucker for the washer dryer since I refuse to pay 10 dollars for laundry on a tshirt.

2. Beach club: Wonderful three-temperature pool area. I loved that one is reserved for the kids and that you can order of the restaurant in the lounge areas. Voss water is delivered with a facial mist and the lovely ladies and gentlemen bring complementary fruit and smoothies.

3. Restaurants: We had lunch almost every day in the lounge chairs or the pool bar and the menu is somewhat limited. If you are doing a long weekend its great, but if you are there for 7 days, you kind of run out of things to try. The Restaurant is excellent, try the risotto, it is to die for...the lobby lounge is gorgeous but be advised that the expensive bar bites are very small.

4. Beach. I am conflicted here, the beach lounge chairs are so close together, you hear the conversation of the next lounge chair guest...but I guess this is the price to pay in SoBe

5. Common areas: Gorgeous, the rose decorations were beautiful and there is a distinct and lovely smell throughout the hotel. Reminds you of an Aman hotel in Asia.

6. Now the reason I gave this 4 stars instead of 5 is that I was somewhat bothered by the crowd. Is this the hotels fault? Of course not! But to the reviewer who said this is the Four Seasons of South Beach I have to disagree. I love the FS because it is unpretentious luxury. Guests are courteous. I saw at least 3 guests snap at the nice pool attendants saying that they no longer wanted their salad, they wanted to hold more lounge chairs than they could, you get the picture...No thank you, please. These are the Holidays people- these wonderful staff also has families and would rather be with them so show a little class...

Room Tip: Choose one of the suites in the residential tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MCastle83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

I'm always conflicted about where to stay in Miami. My husband and I like luxury, ocean and good food but find South Beach to quickly get cheesy and loud. We don't care for The Four Seasons in Miami because of the location and find the W Hotel, although very pretty, too loud. The Setai ended up being the perfect compromise of wanting to stay in a luxurious South Beach location without feeling like you were in South Beach. It was elegant, sophisticated, luxurious and accommodating. The food, staff, rooms were all excellent. It is the best pool/ocean experience on South Beach. The chaise lounges are luxurious, the bottled water, the food, the towels, they think of everything and do it better than all of the surrounding hotels. The spa was small but well done and I had an excellent massage with Carolina. Although there were some minor hiccups, they were so minimal compared to the overall experience and happily and quickly taken care of that I won't even bother to mention. I finally felt peace in South Beach. If you want luxury and elegance, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VacaRae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

The Setai is different from most of the big hotels on Collins -- it doesn't try too hard. It doesn't have to. This is a hotel that offers a luxurious oasis, set apart from the crowds, action and revelry of South Beach. It represents the best of Asian hotel hospitality, with great service, rooms and and overall feel. Plus, The Setai's dog policy is great -- and they are most welcoming. My only two reservations are 1. to brighten up the bathrooms a bit -- more lighting and more towels (and thicker, more plush ones) and 2. extend the menu offerings at the restaurants for lunch.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amanwarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
1,790 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 342 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

I had a friend staying here so I used the amenities. The hotel offers beach yoga which was amazing. The hotel offers 3 pools each one a different temperature depending on which you want. Beautiful hotel.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Autumn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
1 Hotel South Beach
1 Hotel South Beach
#7 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,102 reviews
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#12 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,521 reviews
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#4 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Faena Hotel Miami Beach
#8 of 208 in Miami Beach
669 reviews
The Miami Beach EDITION
#13 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,398 reviews
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#32 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Setai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Setai

Property: The Setai
Address: 2001 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139-1913
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#5 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#14 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Setai 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Setai is an intimate, serene oceanfront resort in the heart of South Beach. Its design vision artfully combines the rich architectural history of the neighborhood and its cultural diversity with the International Art Deco movement, particularly its influence in Asia. Our new restaurant, Jaya, invites you to discover a menu that dedicated to the traditional flavors and dishes of Asia from China, India, Thailand and Japan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Setai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Setai Hotel Miami Beach
Setai Hotel Miami Beach
Setai Miami Beach
The Setai Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing