We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hotel on Energetic Ocean Drive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Suites at Congress Ocean Drive
Ranked #140 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Washington DC
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Average Hotel on Energetic Ocean Drive”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights and it was fine. We had a room on the 4th floor facing Ocean Drive- it had a nice view of Ocean Drive and somewhat obstructed (by trees) views of the ocean. We definitely felt the energy of South Beach from our room- the music from the restaurants and clubs/bars downstairs and from watching the people as they walk about on Ocean Drive. The noise and music end earlier during weekdays and much later (2-3AM) on the weekends, can still faintly hear and feel the music even with the doors closed. We expected this and were fine with it, but can imagine others being bothered by the music/noise.

The room was fine. It's starting to show its age from scratches on walls and furniture. We had a mini kitchen but no table and chairs to eat whatever we cooked from it. There was a desk, but once again, no chair to sit on to use the desk. There were no drawers to put folded clothes on, there were two closets. No beach chairs in the unit neither. We did enjoy the balcony in the unit.

Service and friendliness from the front desk was minimal. The best people we encountered from the hotel were the porters. The bartender (Sindy?) from the rooftop pool was nice and friendly as well. The rooftop pool had an awesome view btw. The maids, even though nice, did not care if you have a "do not disturb" sign on your door, they will knock on your door anyway, they did this everyday.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WashingtonJonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    509
    381
    196
    147
    134
See reviews for
175
500
58
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 22 February 2014

The hotel is small, dirty, and noisy. They consider themselves to be a "resort" but they offer nothing a "resort" would. There are bugs in the room, and they will try to charge you for items in the mini bar that were not touched or did not exist. They also charge a "resort fee" of $20.00 a night, for what?! I booked this trip through a travel agent, all fees should have been paid upfront.

After disputing the insane mini-bar bill we left, even knowing that our flight was cancelled. We decided to stay at another hotel. And just as recent as today, they manually charged my credit card for the same fees I paid when I left (resort & mini bar). Now I have to waste time disputing the charges. Very dirty, very shady.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Del_Sol_1118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Saint Augustine, Florida, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2014

The room is nicely decorated, and has what you need. The only thing is you hear everything in the room next door, in the hallway, at night it was really bad. I called the front desk, but little changed.

Room Tip: Very noisy hall ways, and no sound barriers to other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

My husband and me stayed here for a few nights in January. I paid over $300/ night for an "ocean front" room. You can't tell by the description, but this hotel is spread over 3 buildings. We arrived early and were taken to the oldest of the 3 buildings to a room that was facing the ocean, but with small high windows- so you could only see the ocean if you stood up! I went back to the front desk and told them that the photo that represents this room that I booked, had a balcony, big doors that opened out, and lovely large windows looking at the ocean and no where did it state that this is not the room you get! She started to give me the "this is first come first serve, you are getting ocean front, and other guests have booked similar rooms, etc" . I stopped her right there and told her that she needs to give me the room I paid for, since I have arrived before the other guests that have this similar room reserved, and that makes me "first served"....she fumbled around her keyboard and finally said that she found us a room that we would love and she really had to move stuff around! Went off to another building, better room, door opened, balcony, big windows. This was definitely not what they represented in their site- the room I paid for and saw on the site was in the main building, the one with the roof top pool- I didn't want to mess with it anymore so we took the room. I paid extra to get a balcony and sit and enjoy my ocean view- this room had a very narrow balcony with a high wall that was solid. In other words, you can sit in one of the plastic chairs on the balcony, no extra leg room in front of you and would then stare at a wall- since you could only see the ocean, or anything else for that matter, if you stood on the balcony - No sitting and relaxing!!! In addition, the room was not very clean- see pics. I never felt comfortable in the room, as I felt that they do a little "touch up" after every guest and thus there is an accumulation of many peoples gross debris......Last time, we stayed at the Cardozo- awesome...should not have felt a need to try something new!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nooshilicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Stayed at congress hotel for 7 nights in Feb 14. Overall, we had an enjoyable and comfortable stay and I would recommend this place to anyone that wants to be at the heart of the action in Ocean Drive and doesn't mind all the noise.

Good points
- Great location opposite the beach (including kitchen appliances)
- Spacious and clean rooms with good facilities
- Roof-top pool with an amazing view
- Free happy hour drinks between 5-6
- Great DJ on the roof-top (DJ Skillz)
- Some staff were friendly and would go out of their way to help (mainly Henry). The reception was responsive to most requests during our stay

Bad Points
- Room facing Ocean Drive was very noisy (although we were prepared for this)
- Some staff were not particularly friendly or welcoming
- I contacted the hotel twice in the months leading to my stay to get their help in arranging a small surprise for my wife's birthday. On the second occasion they responded and said they would send me some information but I got nothing
- Resort fee of $12 per person per night (excluding tax)

One last point, as soon as you step out of the hotel you will be bombarded by waiters from La Baguette and Papayago restaurant trying to entice you in with their 'Happy Hour' deals. Do not go in these places. They will rip you off. I read the reviews on tripadvisor and stayed well away.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Min3010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

We came here for Friday and Saturday and did not see anything on the reviews about noise. We were up most the night because there are two night clubs nearby, like next door!! and they don't close til 4am. We heard boom, boom, boom all night. The location was amazing!!! Staff very nice!! Hotel was dated as they aren't allowed to do much with this area because its protected for Historic purposes

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mascarell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
#109 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,748 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
#42 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,297 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Victor
Hotel Victor
#80 of 208 in Miami Beach
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bentley Hotel South Beach
Bentley Hotel South Beach
#77 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,439 reviews
0.2 mi away
Leslie Hotel
Leslie Hotel
#47 of 208 in Miami Beach
546 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#34 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suites at Congress Ocean Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suites at Congress Ocean Drive

Property: Suites at Congress Ocean Drive
Address: 1052 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly Congress Hotel South Beach/The Strand)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#95 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Suites at Congress Ocean Drive 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Live the South Beach lifestyle at our hotel in Miami Beach, Florida. Located in the heart of Miami's Art Deco Historic District on Ocean Drive, we offer spacious, stylish suites with all the amenities of home. With stellar views of the ocean and the bustling action of Ocean Drive, our beachfront hotel is exactly what you need for your stay in Miami. Because we are located right on the beach, fun in the sun is literally at your doorstep. Stake out your spot in the sand and enjoy the signature Florida sunshine. With the average temperatures in the 70s and 80s, you can enjoy the beach and the sun almost all year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Suites at Congress Ocean Drive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strand Ocean Drive Hotel
Strand Ocean Drive Miami Beach
Suites At Congress Ocean Drive Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing