We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, pool and bar”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Suites at Congress Ocean Drive
Ranked #147 of 210 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We arrived on gay pride parade day which was a bit excessive and this hotel is at ground zero. But the next day the paraders left and we could appreciate the hotel better. It is right on the art deco beachfront strip between 10th and 11th, has a rather underwhelming lobby at the back (original lobby converted into a restaurant), the rooms are a decent size but not spectacular (we had 2 adults and 4 kids in one room, so they are big enough! and the hotel was good enough to let us do this) but wow, the rooftop pool and bar is a revelation. The view is amazing, but the best thing is that hotel guests have free flow drinks every night 5-6pm and everyone gets happy! The bar tender is a really friendly young guy, easy to get talking, and you can enjoy the view of the street, the beach, and the cruise liners heading out. I saw some complaints about the parking but get real, this is like being in New York or London so of course you are going to pay US$30 a day. You can just step outside and you are amongst the beautiful deco buildings, right behind hotel is a great Cuban cafe called Davids that has a window selling cuban coffee, perfect start to day. More a party goers place but our family enjoyed it too.

Room Tip: Ocean facing rooms have good balcony
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Graham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,374)
There are newer reviews for Suites at Congress Ocean Drive
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

409 - 415 of 1,374 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

As a local I stayed at the Congress hotel for WMC and I must admit It was great from the staff to the room. I was in the main building and my room was so spacious and clean!!! The rooftop party was the best in south beach!!! I will definitely come back.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Lia319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

I stayed here for a bachelorette party March 2014 and we had such a blast!! As soon as we checked in we were greeted with a glass of Sangria...yum! Management and all the staff were very accommodating! RAFA was one of our favorite bell man he is funny, helpful, and made sure we were well taken care of he really did "Spoil us" their motto is to spoil the guests and they did exactly that! This is also walking distance from the beach and hold rooftop pool parties so that is a plus!I will definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LunaRose67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

At first was in a terrible mood due to flight cancelations and being rerouted to Palm Beach International airport instead of Ft. Lauderdale. Thankfully the sweetest lady at the front desk took care of us when we arrived and flipped our frowns to smiles. Her name was Eleanor. She noticed right away how tired we looked from traveling and offered us refreshments right away. Whenever we called the front desk or came in contact with her, she would delightfully greet us by our names and make sure everything was alright. Definitely staying at the Congress Hotel my next Miami trip!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Contact5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Between the excellent customer service our entire stay by Louis and our beautiful room facing the Versace mansion we had a great stay at the congress. I didn't like the security guard upstairs Jose I believe his name was. He let some guest in with drinks while making others throw it out. He was very friendly with certain guests and extremely brute with others. That was a major turn off which kept us away from the rooftop pool with a gorgeous view.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mizzspecialk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We really enjoyed staying at the Congress. Although we were only there for two days it was great because not only were we able to experience the night life, eat good food but we were also so close to the beach. This is a great location in south beach as it is on the main drag of Ocean. The rooms were trendy with a full kitchenette. Only draw back was the small TV but in my opinion when your in Miami your not going to be sitting in your hotel room watching TV. We happen to have our 3 year old with us which I was quite concerned about the club noise from the pool deck party at night. The nice thing is they have 3 seperate buildings and so the front desk receptionist moved us away from the main building. You could hear the hubub of South Beach night life but no bumping music all night long. The best part of our stay was the great customer service. Every employee was very accomodating. Especially Louise he helped us get taxi's, gave great restaurants advice and always was there to help us out with my daughter getting in and out of the building. He was such a great guy and you could really tell he cared about his job and the guests that visited the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms facing east are the best ones to get because they have ocean view as well as people watching o...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dusti T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We checked in for New Years Eve. It was the perfect location for anyone that liked the late night scene. We really enjoyed watching the fireworks on the beach. The pool on the roof was very nice with a great view. The rooms very very nice as well. We had two rooms and both were clean and nice. We had never been in the area and this was great for the sightseeing bus line. Great value.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
#49 of 210 in Miami Beach
1,323 reviews
Bentley Hotel South Beach
#79 of 210 in Miami Beach
1,485 reviews
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
#114 of 210 in Miami Beach
1,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leslie Hotel
#44 of 210 in Miami Beach
559 reviews
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#39 of 210 in Miami Beach
1,064 reviews
City Center
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suites at Congress Ocean Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suites at Congress Ocean Drive

Address: 1052 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly Congress Hotel South Beach/The Strand)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#99 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: £101 - £281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Suites at Congress Ocean Drive 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Live the South Beach lifestyle at our hotel in Miami Beach, Florida. Located in the heart of Miami's Art Deco Historic District on Ocean Drive, we offer spacious, stylish suites with all the amenities of home. With stellar views of the ocean and the bustling action of Ocean Drive, our beachfront hotel is exactly what you need for your stay in Miami. Because we are located right on the beach, fun in the sun is literally at your doorstep. Stake out your spot in the sand and enjoy the signature Florida sunshine. With the average temperatures in the 70s and 80s, you can enjoy the beach and the sun almost all year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Suites at Congress Ocean Drive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strand Ocean Drive Hotel
Strand Ocean Drive Miami Beach
Suites At Congress Ocean Drive Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing