We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible service, dirty rooms!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Congress Hotel South Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Congress Hotel South Beach
Ranked #124 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible service, dirty rooms!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2011

We have gone to South Beach to get out of the cold for five years now. We have stayed at this hotel when it was call the Strand and we thought it wouldn't have been a big deal with a name change but we were wrong. We arrived at 1:00 and were told our room would not be ready until 4:00 and that was their check in time. SERIOUSLY?!? Also, the two girls who work the front desk are the most rude, incompetent, 'customer service' employees we have seen yet. When they address you they talk to you as if you are the vagrants off of the street asking questions.

We were given a room with a balcony over looking traffic and didn't get a good nights sleep the entire time we were there. You feel like you are sleeping on the street in the middle of the chaos. The room itself was dirty. There were stains all over the furniture, rugs, and bedspread! When they did come to clean they did not give extra towels or clean the sheets the entire week we were there. Also, the lighting in the room is terrible for getting ready.

The positives of this hotel would be location, kitchen located in the room, and beach chairs. Yet, you pay a $25 resort fee each day that includes bee fees and breakfast at the hotel restaurant. The breakfast itself isn't bad but the service is terrible. You have to beg for refills on water, coffee, etc. Overall, this hotel is definitely not a four star and should not charge you as one either.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NewYorkMax88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    508
    381
    193
    145
    119
See reviews for
168
497
58
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2011

This place is NOT a hotel and DEFINITELY not 4 stars. It's really a condo building managed for unit owners d/b/a Congress Hotel. Arrive at 3:30p. Room not ready and told to come back in an hour. Can we change out of our business attire? Sent to public bathroom on 5th floor - gas station bathroom cleanliness - but not big enough to change in so have to change in the hallway. Store bags with bellhop (who was wonderful). Come back at 4:45p. Room still not ready. Asked to sit in lobby and wait while they clean it. 5:15p. Your room is ready. What? 5p and we get to check in? Get to room. Filthy furniture and carpet. Shades don't work. Handles on cupboards broken. Finally, NOT room we paid for. Were told for $400/night we'd have a "oceanfront" room with a balcony, but we're now on the side of the building with a balcony overlooking an air conditioner condenser farm (and listening to it, too). Call front desk - not even and argument. Let us show you another room. I go check it out and it's a second floor room with large windows overlooking the street. Dirty carpet and furniture, but at least a bit better than the first. Asked front desk staff to explain what happened and why we didn't get what we paid for and they try to shuffle me out with the new key completely ignoring the question. Upon insisting to understand what happened, manager comes out and rudely says "You booked an oceanfront room. This property considers the first room you were given oceanfront. The room you have now is definitely oceanfront". What? No it wasn't and no it isn't. The first overlooked air conditioners and the second traffic. Not what we paid for and it's 3 hours late. Why aren't we in the upper floor room with a balcony? Essentially I got a "too bad" from her. Now we're in the room. Coffee packets, but no coffee maker. Freezer, but no ice trays. Large windows overlooking street, but an entire shade missing. Balcony, but on side of building overlooking noisy restaurant. "Free" wireless, but akin to using 2400 baud dial-up. On second day, shirtless homeless men at bottom of stairway (inside property!) urinating on curtains, drunk, yelling. Now this is 4-stars!!! That "free" breakfast? It's the $5.75 special they offer to every person that walks by. Lousy food, even worse service. This place was just awful. I gave it two stars because it's right on Ocean Drive. But a word to the wiser, if you're accustomed to staying in real 4-star hotels, please book a room north of here at the Betsy Ross or Tides. Anywhere south of about 12th or 13th street is a dump.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thephuj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2011

Went there on honeymoon. Staff helpful. Rooms unclean smelly towels couldn't take shoes off, carpet so dirty. Worse hotel ever. We were booked a sea view and was given a room at the back of the hotel, with air con above us, it was so noisy you couldn't sleep, we asked to be moved. The room had kitchen but no pots or kettle to heat water. My husband asked for one they said they didn't think it came with package, after an hour a maid gave us a coffee pot. They withdraw money from my credit card, which they said was a mistake but it took three days to give me it back, but in two lots. Did try to complain but waste of time. On the surface it looked good but not what you want when it's your honeymoon. The sad thing was they new we were newly weds. Wouldn't advise anyone to use this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smcgregor2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Miami Beach, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2011

We when to south beach to celebrate my birthday, the check in at the front desk office was fast ,everyone were so friendly and helpfull. The hotel is right in Ocean Drive, room was clean and the bathtub fantastic the best place in the entire south beach.. you can see the ocean righ on front your balcony. They have a great pool roof . Night life walking distance for all the clubs at Ocean Drive or Collins ave great location, was one of the best birth days ever.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clautan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brooklyn
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2011

PROS:
Bellhops that smile with excellent service
Soft sheets, feather pillows
Full kitchen
Sunken tub/Rain shower
Excellent sit down breakfast with multiple options, in Restaurant
Oceanfront hotel

CONS:
Stains on sofa
Furniture has wear
Mattress too soft, sunk in middle, needs replacement
Front desk staff cold
Outside music can be heard in room
Tiny TVs
"Resort fee"

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mooveestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa Mesa, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2011

Even though not accustomed to write reviews while traveling, we had such a blast with my fiance I just wanted to drop a couple of lines. We stayed for almost a week. We did not experience what the previous guests wrote. In fact, when I read some reviews we were puzzled but none of it was true for us. On the contrary, the staff was super super friendly. It's South Beach after all. We were even lucky to meet the manager Claudio who showed up at the pool making sure all was in order. The pool was busy too that's probably why. It was a tad cool at times but what a gorgeous view from the roof top pool. For me it was the best part. Definitely worth it and relaxing. Also, if anybody cares about the rooms, they are simply HUGE in comparison to a standard hotel! We absolutely loved it. I recommend the boat trip from downtown Miami too. Can't wait to come back. South Beach is definitely a happening place.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisMiller23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2011

I was traveling alone, hoping to get some r & r. The valets were terrific and couldn't have been more helpful. Service at the front desk was another story. Staff was not outgoing or friendly. My room was dirty, with stains on the sofa and duvet cover. The bed sheets did not seem to be cleaned thoroughly. During my stay, housekeeping staff did not maintain my room each day that I was there. My room had a small kitchenette with a fridge AND a freezer, but no bottle opener or corkscrew. In fact, when I asked for a corkscrew, housekeeping never responded and the front desk staff didn't have one either! South Beach is a lively, entertaining, and loud place...great if you love to party, but not so great if you are trying to relax....

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandytoes627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
#97 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,636 reviews
0.0 mi away
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
#45 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,218 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Grande Suite Hotel of South Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#44 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
0.2 mi away
Leslie Hotel
Leslie Hotel
#41 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#27 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Congress Hotel South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Congress Hotel South Beach

Property: Congress Hotel South Beach
Address: 1052 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly The Strand)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#85 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Congress Hotel South Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Live the South Beach lifestyle at our hotel in Miami Beach, Florida. Located in the heart of Miami's Art Deco Historic District on Ocean Drive, we offer spacious, stylish suites with all the amenities of home. With stellar views of the ocean and the bustling action of Ocean Drive, our beachfront hotel is exactly what you need for your stay in Miami. Because we are located right on the beach, fun in the sun is literally at your doorstep. Stake out your spot in the sand and enjoy the signature Florida sunshine. With the average temperatures in the 70s and 80s, you can enjoy the beach and the sun almost all year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your Congress Hotel South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strand Ocean Drive Hotel
Strand Ocean Drive Miami Beach
Congress Hotel South Beach Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing