We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Z Ocean Hotel South Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Ranked #11 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
97 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“A good hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

A nice little hotel, which in a way tries to impress, but does not really succeed. The room was nicely decorated, but looked like it would be too small to all the furniture, the pool area is small, the common areas (including the bar and the restaurant) quite shady and usually quite deserted. However, the jacuzzi on the roof of the room was quite a treat and the personnel (during the few interactions with them) was very friendly!

Room Tip: The rooms with a roof top jacuzzi are quite a treat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FlyingFinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZOceanSobe, General Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Z Ocean Hotel on South Beach, your insights mean a lot to us. I have shared your courteous comments with our team, and they are delighted to hear that your stay was a memorable one.

We look forward to welcoming you back and feel free to contact me directly to assist you in your next visit.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,852 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,215
    431
    113
    45
    48
See reviews for
337
1,009
52
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Fernando
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Art Deco hotel was great. Service was excellent. Staff was helpful, polite and friendly.Great breakfast at the Front Porch Cafe. Penthouse with Jacuzzi was pampering. On the other hand, a charge of $14. per day for internet was ok but management needs to notify guests that the charge is per device and not per room. will surely recommend to friends and will return .Near Lincoln Road, Espanola Way and Ocean Drive.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alleemshah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZOceanSobe, General Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Dear Valued guest;

Thank you for your kind words for the team. I am happy to hear that you were able to enjoy your visit with us. I am pleased that you enjoyed the amenities we offer, location, great service of our hotel, as well as the private Jacuzzi on your rooftop terrace.

We hope that if your travels bring you back to Miami Beach that you will consider staying at the Z Ocean Hotel again. If I may be of any assistance to you on your next stay please do not hesitate to call me directly.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

Stayed for 3 nights as a premier elite priority club member payed on points 25000 a night and this included complimentary resort fee and free wifi internet access. Room 303 was large with lovely balcony with pool view.. Rooms facing pool on 2nd floor open out onto pool deck and i feel i would not have likes this, as provided less privacy with open patio areas and full view into rooms.
Lovely light, bright public areas with large comfy sofas, small gym, bar and patio restaurant. We did not use restaurant but food looked good if a bit pricey. However we found the location to be excellent with lots of bars restaurants and shopping areas in walking distance.
Fresh towels provided in the evening and turndown service if required. Room had cooler, espresso machine, microwave and 2 tvs.Jack and jill vanity areas and fantastic power shower with extra jets.
Would stay here again and reccomend to all our friends.
Staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wildbull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZOceanSobe, General Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Dear valued guest:

Thank you very much for your kind words and sharing your experience on your last visit. We are delighted to learn that you found our property to you liking and your kind words for our staff.

Should your travels bring you back you back to South Beach, please contact me directly. I would like to assist to personally and ensure another superb experience with us.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon - Portugal
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

I've been in Z Ocean for 2 nights and i like it. Very good location in South Beach, near the beach and near a commercial zone. You have so many restaurants to choose in bothe areas. The rooms are very good and very big, with a great balcony. Very good service on front desk, with friendly people always ready to help you with some good advices about everything you want to do in Miami.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NunoLisbon_Portugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZOceanSobe, General Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

I would like to personally thank you for your kind words and great review of the Z Ocean Hotel. I have shared your courteous comments with the team and they were very pleased to hear that you had a great stay. It is our goal to provide our guests with exceptional services and I am so glad to hear that you got to experience this.

We look forward to your next visit in South Beach and welcome back at the Z Ocean Hotel again. I would like to personally assure that your next stay with us will be as good as the last one. Feel free to contact me directly as I will be happy to assist you further.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

Splurged on a roof-top room with 2nd floor patio & Jaccuzzi. Nice but probably not worth the price. We were celebrating with family so it was cool to party up on the roof. Profession, friendly staff, clean hotel, nice pool and beach services. My only minor complaints are that the roof-top patio is accessible to the maintenence staff and it would have been nice to know that! I walked up one afternoon, and was somewhat surprised to find 2 workers there! It was a little off-putting. Anyway, we ate at the Front Porch Cafe both mornings and it was very good, but busy so we waited a while for the food - not terrible. It was definately expensive, though. The other minor complaint has nothing to do with the hotel. The immediate surrounding area seems a little rough. . . lots of liquor stores and young loud drinkers with lots of "ink" and skin showing. I'm no prude, but I think there are other parts of South Beach (around Prime 112, and the Bentley Hotel) that are classier and quieter.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rosie816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZOceanSobe, General Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience regarding your recent stay with us. We are so thrilled to hear you had such a nice experience at our property and that you enjoyed our great amenities. Thank you for your kind words for our team. I place a great importance on taking care of our guests’ experience, and efforts are currently underway to ensure seamless service. We are also making some changes to address some of the specific issues that you have mentioned.

We look forward to welcoming you back and feel free to contact me directly to assist you in your next visit.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

This hotel is easily one of the nicest hotels I've ever stayed in. The nightly rates are pretty high, but I got a good flight+hotel+car package online through Expedia. The staff is very friendly and polite. The room is gorgeous. I had a king sized bed that was very clean and comfortable. The shower was my favorite part - it had 6 separate shower heads and a spa-style bench inside. The room also had two separate vanity/mirror areas, a minibar, additional mini fridge, sink, microwave, couch, chair, gorgeous spacious balcony (unfortunately overlooking the street, but it wasn't that bad at all), and 2 TVs (to watch depending on where you are sitting, couch or bed). Overall I had a fantastic stay. There is a $21/night resort fee which gives you seating/towels on a private section of the beach. The beach area was quiet and relaxing, which surprised me considering this was spring break for me. The hotel is located close enough to everything, right in the heart of the beach nightlife area. Other rooms had hot tubs on the balcony. My only gripe is the overpriced minibar (but that's to be expected) and the valet only parking (which is $32 overnight). Overall, staying here will cost you about a couple hundred dollars more than the flat room rate, but it's worth it.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dsukontarak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZOceanSobe, General Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Dear Valued guest:

I am very pleased to hear your kind words for our hotel. Particularly that you had such a memorable stay with us. Thank you for your accolades for our team. I have shared your comments the team and they thrilled to hear that you were delighted with their service, we are extremely grateful for your comments. We place a great importance on catering to our guests’ every need, and strive to go above and beyond.

Should your travels bring you back to South Beach, please contact me directly; I would like to personally assist you. In the meantime, we remain at your service and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mentor, Oh
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

Great location, great suites and wonderful staff. Lovely pool with very gracious attendants. The restaurant was headed by an attentive manager and a hustling staff.The food was good. Loved the lobby/bar area...what wonderful ambiance!!! Only suggestion would be for the housekeeping to wet mop the tile floors in the suites spotted floors the whole time we were there. This hotel is NOT beachside but a short distance. Would definitely stay here again!!!

Room Tip: Suites overlooking the pool were surprisingly quiet day and night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cupcakeRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZOceanSobe, General Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Dear Valued Guest;

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Z Ocean Hotel, your review is greatly appreciated. I am pleased that you enjoyed the service provided by our team, thank you for your kind words for our team at the pool and restaurant, I will be sure to share your comments.

We hope that if your travels bring you back to Miami Beach that you will consider staying at the Z Ocean Hotel again. If I may be of any assistance to you on your next stay please do not hesitate to call me directly.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#3 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,287 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#21 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,561 reviews
The Confidante
#33 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#9 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,368 reviews
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#8 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,347 reviews
City Center
1 Hotel South Beach
1 Hotel South Beach
#10 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Z Ocean Hotel South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Z Ocean Hotel South Beach

Property: Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Address: 1437 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#8 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Z Ocean Hotel South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience true luxury at our Miami Beach resort, Z Ocean Hotel South Beach. Offering much more than other suite resorts in Miami Beach, Florida, Z Ocean Hotel is ideal for your escape to SoBe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, TravelUp and Booking.com so you can book your Z Ocean Hotel South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Miami Beach
Miami Beach Crowne Plaza
De Soleil South Beach
Vincci South Beach
Regent South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing