We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Choose your room carefully”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Ranked #11 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Choose your room carefully”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We stayed here for nine nights around Easter and were generally impressed by the quality of the hotel and the efficiency of all the staff. We had booked a roof-top "partial ocean view" for the duration of our stay but apparently some of the upper rooms had flooded and we stayed one night on the third floor in a high quality room over looking Collins. I would say that the potential for rooms on this side of the hotel to suffer from serious noise, is considerable. After one night we were moved into Room 426, a partial ocean view with roof top jacuzzi. "Partial" is right, from the bedroom itself there was no view at all but from the roof terrace, if we leaned around a corner, we could see the ocean. The bedroom was too dark for our liking and dominated by the floor to ceiling TV stand but otherwise the fittings were of a high quality and the bathroom was excellent with huge rain shower and double sinks. It's worth noting, we stayed in three different rooms in nine days and none of them had a tub.
For the last three nights we moved to Room 409 which was superb, overlooking Ocean Drive and with a clear view of the ocean. This room did not have the central TV station so was open and airy and a significant improvement on our other rooms.
One note about the beds - they're huge and use the "pillow top" thing that seems ever more popular. We personally found this one of the more uncomfortable hotel we've used in a long time, to soft, and too ridged.
Wifi is 14 dollars per night, and as others have said, when you're paying 500 a night, this should be included.
Parking is 32 a night but it looks like all hotel parking is expensive in that area. There is a public parking garage about 100 yards away that's half the price, and worth looking at.
This is a great hotel in a fantastic location. The Jacuzzi rooms are great, but so are the standard rooms although you should be careful about the location, on Collins you could be plagued by noise.

Room Tip: Rooms on Ocean Drive take some beating..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StheBRIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZOceanSobe, General Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Dear Valued Guest;

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your experience over Easter break at the Z Ocean Hotel. Your feedback is very important to us. Thank you for your kind words for the team, they are pleased to hear that you enjoyed their service.

We hope that if your travel plans bring you back to South Beach you will join us again at the Z Ocean Hotel. I would like to personally ensure your next experience is enjoyable. If I can be of any assistance please do not hesitate to call me directly.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,898 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,249
    438
    114
    48
    49
See reviews for
346
1,034
55
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (452)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We are platinum priority club members and stayed three nights over Easter weekend. It was fabulous! The staff could not have been nicer, from the front desk personnel (props to Catherine and Milly) to the bell men to the jacuzzi guys. We were upgraded after the first night when the hotel cleared out a bit. As priority members our wifi and resort fees were waived each night. Your chaises, umbrella, and towels are complimentary on the beach, which is literally across the street.

The balconies are large, the shower has one overhead and four body level shower heads. There is a small 'kitchen' area with a microwave, espresso machine, wet sink, refrigerator, wine and martini glasses and china coffee and espresso cups. There are two flat screen TVs, one facing the bed and one facing the sofa. The bathroom has his and hers vanity areas.

It is right in he heart of South Beach. We can't wait to go back!

A word of warning - as is true in much of Miami, many restaurants and bars ADD AN 18% GRATUITY onto your bill. We ate once on property, at the Front Porch Cafe (wonderful food, great for people watching), and the gratuity was included. We paid with a credit card, and when the bill came there is a line for 'tip', so I added 20% of the total and signed. No one mentioned that I had just tipped Peter almost $25 for a $55 tab. I know it was my ignorance, and I'm not blaming the restaurant, but it did sour me a bit and we didn't eat there again because of it.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, or get an upgrade, the spa rooms are wonderful - jacuzzi tub on the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BitzyPhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZOceanSobe, General Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Dear Valued Guest;

We thank you for taking the time to write those kind words about the Z Ocean Hotel. It is our goal to provide exceptional service and amenities for our guests. Thank you for your kind words for Catherine, Milly and the team. We are very pleased to learn that your experience at the hotel was a pleasant one; we strive to provide a warm environment for the guests.

We hope to welcome you here at the Z Ocean Hotel again soon. I would like to personally ensure that you have a great experience. If I can be of any assistance to you please do not hesitate to call me directly.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Visited the Z Ocean for the second time two weeks ago and loved it. I have written a previous review on this hotel but just thought I would update. We love this hotel and would go back but there are a few things I would say to management....
1) Put the rates up!!! It will keep the 20-24 year olds out...at 500.00 a night for roof top terrace I don't need the room next to me filled with 6 people all splitting the cost.
2)Set a maximum level on the roof top speakers so we don't have to listen to techno from 4 patios away at 10am
3)FREE WIFI...Most hotels at 500.00 a night include it now wherever you are in the world.
Overall from the front desk to the maids, the service was great and we would return.
For others looking to go, Sunday through Thursday are the best nights if you want to avoid the loud 20-25 crowd that arrive for a SoBe weekend. I love a party but thats why we stay here...its close enough to the Ocean Drive action but just far enough to be relaxing when you don't want the noise.

Room Tip: Take a look at Miami events before booking...this hotel is very cool and if there is an event on i.e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MJCDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZOceanSobe, General Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Dear Valued Guest;

I am glad you enjoyed your get away here at the Z Ocean Hotel. Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review and providing us with your insight. We are very happy to know that our team enhanced your experience. Customer service is something that I place a lot of importance on and our team is constantly striving to exceed your expectations.

Thank you for your loyalty, we hope that you will consider staying with us yet again. It is a pleasure having you at the Z Ocean Hotel. If I can be of any assistance to you please do not hesitate to call me directly.

Warmest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012 via mobile

We've just had a fantastic stay at the Z - fantastic room, loved the roof top jacuzzi, great service, amazing breakfasts at the cafe - the staff were particularly fab. But this really isn't the ideal hotel for kids and I think that should be explained on booking. We arrived in our room with our 11 and 14 year olds to find a lovers intimacy kit on the bed - tip for the hotel - if a family is booked into the room - don't get housekeeping to put this out. The sofabed for the kids was really inadequate - it dropped down at the end of the bed so the kids kept slipping down. We should have probably read the blurb on the hotel more carefully which does talk about it being a couples hotel, with curtains for 'privacy' around your roof top jacuzzi. That said we all had a fab time, there were other kids at the hotel and the children were treated particularly well by the staff. Big thumbs up for Domingo.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank LucieJScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZOceanSobe, General Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Dear Valued Guest;

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at the hotel. We greatly appreciate your feedback. I am pleased that you found the Z Ocean Hotel to your liking. We place a high importance on customer service and the staff is delighted that you enjoyed their service. Thank you for your kind words for Domingo, I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our restaurant, and I will pass the compliment on.

If your travel plans bring you back to South Beach, we hope that you will consider staying with us again. I would like to personally ensure that you have a great experience. If I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to call me directly.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

A nice little hotel, which in a way tries to impress, but does not really succeed. The room was nicely decorated, but looked like it would be too small to all the furniture, the pool area is small, the common areas (including the bar and the restaurant) quite shady and usually quite deserted. However, the jacuzzi on the roof of the room was quite a treat and the personnel (during the few interactions with them) was very friendly!

Room Tip: The rooms with a roof top jacuzzi are quite a treat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlyingFinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZOceanSobe, General Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Z Ocean Hotel on South Beach, your insights mean a lot to us. I have shared your courteous comments with our team, and they are delighted to hear that your stay was a memorable one.

We look forward to welcoming you back and feel free to contact me directly to assist you in your next visit.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Fernando
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Art Deco hotel was great. Service was excellent. Staff was helpful, polite and friendly.Great breakfast at the Front Porch Cafe. Penthouse with Jacuzzi was pampering. On the other hand, a charge of $14. per day for internet was ok but management needs to notify guests that the charge is per device and not per room. will surely recommend to friends and will return .Near Lincoln Road, Espanola Way and Ocean Drive.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alleemshah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZOceanSobe, General Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Dear Valued guest;

Thank you for your kind words for the team. I am happy to hear that you were able to enjoy your visit with us. I am pleased that you enjoyed the amenities we offer, location, great service of our hotel, as well as the private Jacuzzi on your rooftop terrace.

We hope that if your travels bring you back to Miami Beach that you will consider staying at the Z Ocean Hotel again. If I may be of any assistance to you on your next stay please do not hesitate to call me directly.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Stayed for 3 nights as a premier elite priority club member payed on points 25000 a night and this included complimentary resort fee and free wifi internet access. Room 303 was large with lovely balcony with pool view.. Rooms facing pool on 2nd floor open out onto pool deck and i feel i would not have likes this, as provided less privacy with open patio areas and full view into rooms.
Lovely light, bright public areas with large comfy sofas, small gym, bar and patio restaurant. We did not use restaurant but food looked good if a bit pricey. However we found the location to be excellent with lots of bars restaurants and shopping areas in walking distance.
Fresh towels provided in the evening and turndown service if required. Room had cooler, espresso machine, microwave and 2 tvs.Jack and jill vanity areas and fantastic power shower with extra jets.
Would stay here again and reccomend to all our friends.
Staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wildbull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZOceanSobe, General Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Dear valued guest:

Thank you very much for your kind words and sharing your experience on your last visit. We are delighted to learn that you found our property to you liking and your kind words for our staff.

Should your travels bring you back you back to South Beach, please contact me directly. I would like to assist to personally and ensure another superb experience with us.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#15 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,535 reviews
The Confidante
#31 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,003 reviews
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#4 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#59 of 208 in Miami Beach
6,537 reviews
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#12 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,521 reviews
South Pointe
Marriott Stanton South Beach
Marriott Stanton South Beach
#22 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Z Ocean Hotel South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Z Ocean Hotel South Beach

Property: Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Address: 1437 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4103
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#8 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Z Ocean Hotel South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience true luxury at our Miami Beach resort, Z Ocean Hotel South Beach. Offering much more than other suite resorts in Miami Beach, Florida, Z Ocean Hotel is ideal for your escape to SoBe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Z Ocean Hotel South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Miami Beach
Miami Beach Crowne Plaza
De Soleil South Beach
Vincci South Beach
Regent South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing