We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Ranked #12 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
“Lovely”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Best location, Best service.. Se love the hotel.. Next time we visit Miami Beach, we stay at the same hotel.. The restaurants around the hotel are amazing... Thank you só much.. My babies love the pool... :)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Filipa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoceansales, Director of Sales at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Google Translation
Dear FilipaH,

Muito obrigado pelas suas amáveis ​​palavras em sua recente estadia aqui no Oceano Z. Nós estamos deliciados que você tenha gostado mesmo e seus bebês tinha um grande momento! Uma vez que você tem filhos que é tudo que importa se eles têm um bom tempo que é tudo o que importa. Ansiosos para recebê-lo de volta em breve.

Tudo de bom,

Frank "eu não falo português" Fuentes
Diretor de Vendas e Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,908 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,257
    440
    114
    48
    49
See reviews for
349
1,037
57
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (456)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 November 2013

My boyfriend and I came to Sobe originally just for the weekend. We started off at a hotel down the street on Ocean Dr. The concierge there suggested the Front Porch Cafe when I asked where I could grab a casual bite to eat. I had a late lunch at the breezeway bar. Major was the bartender, he was fantastic, extremely hospitable, and welcoming. We continued our stay "down the street" but we kept coming back to the Front Street Cafe because of the good food, great service and location.
When my boyfriend and I decided to extend our trip, we checked into a 5 star hotel further down Collins St. After one night, I really wanted to be closer to Ocean Dr. So we looked at changing to Z Ocean Hotel. We were able to book the very last room available in the whole hotel. When we arrived we were told our room would be ready in an hour. We returned an hour and a half later and was greeted at the front desk with champagne. (nice touch) We went up to our room, which was a king suite with a pool view. We entered the room and realized that it wasn't ready. It was clean, but nothing was put back in place or set-up. Trash cans and rugs on the counter, mini bar not set up, things were just in disarray. The bellman Johnell (very friendly and professional) apologized and called down to the front desk right away to send up housekeeping. Housekeeping came and fixed things, then someone else came to restock and set-up the mini bar. A few hours later I tried to watch a little tv and the cable box didn't work, then I tried to call down to the front desk and the cordless phone didn't work. I called the front desk from the second phone in the room and they sent maintenance up promptly. I understand things happen, but after two guys from maintenance came and went several times, I was starting to get a little frustrated. They finally got the cable and the phone working.
The next morning I went to take a shower and the shower heads were awesome, but unfortunately, the bathroom floor flooded from water leaking from the shower door onto the floor. So finally I asked to speak with a manager. I went to the front desk and spoke with Elen Terzis. I explained what's happened so far and that we'd really like to continue our stay but in a different room. She apologized, and discounted our rate for the room we were in, then she upgraded our room to a partial ocean view penthouse suite. She personally showed me the room, and reassured me that she would ensure that everything was in working order, set up properly, and ready as quickly as possible. About an hour later the bellman moved us to our new room. It was amazing! It had two vanities in the bathroom, a balcony overlooking Ocean Dr., a rooftop terrace, with a Jacuzzi and partial Ocean view. And I can't forget about the nespesso espresso machine, which was so good I never went back to the coffee shop across the street. Just like Elen said, everything was in working order. She didn't stop there, she called to make sure the room was to our liking and that everything was perfect. On our way out for the afternoon I requested an ice bucket for a bottle of champagne.(we got it earlier in our trip but didn't get a chance to drink it) I also requested the Jacuzzi be set up. When we came back Elen informed me that the rooftop was set-up, and that there was a complimentary bottle of champagne waiting in our room. Unbelievable! She is amazing! We ended up staying for 2 more nights! I never thought I would use the Jacuzzi with it being so hot out, but I was delightfully surprised when the water temp was perfect for the weather. Everyday the room was cleaned and made up for us and every evening the room was turned down. We had slippers, bottled water and truffles waiting for us when we got in for the night. The 5 star hotel down the street didn't even do that!
I unexpectedly needed a car rental and Mickey the concierge arranged it last minute for me. My flight left the next day before the rental place opened and he arranged for enterprise to pick it up for me. Wow! Talk about above and beyond!
Elen and her staff really made our stay a luxurious one. We will definitely be back to Sobe, and we will be staying at Z Ocean Hotel. I can't wait! I never wanted to leave in the first place. Thank you again for everything!

P.s. I loved the Aveda products!


  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmccarthy890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoceansales, Director of Sales at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear mmccarthy890,

Thanks so much for your GREAT review on your recent stay here at the Z Ocean Hotel, I was literally on pins and needles the entire time, reading we did good then oh boy not so good then finally the team did pull everything together.. Seriously the building and location are amazing this hotel has beautiful suites amazing bathrooms anything you need when visiting South Beach. But that alone doesn't make your stay AMAZING it's the dedication and the service minded individuals we employ, that provide that, we don't claim to be perfect but when we react to a guests need or concern as fast as you describe that's what helps to have the AMAZING experience. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay here and we look forward to welcoming you back for year and years to come.

All the best,


Frank "Amazing" Fuentes
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

first the shower is to die for best relaxing therapy 6 headed shower ,rooms are perfect for couples or girls weekend , management is great room service is awesome , food at there restaurant , Porch is great . so the next time you visit south beach , visit my home away from home.

Room Tip: love the balcony , my least favorite is side rooms view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deborah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoceansales, Director of Sales at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear Deborah,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Z Ocean Hotel South beach, your feedback is greatly appreciated. It is great to hear that you feel that the Z Ocean is your new home in south beach. All of the staff works extremely hard to ensure that all of our guests have an amazing time while on property. Our showers are the best.... I call them the human car wash, all you do is lather up and turn the jets one and just slowly turn and have those jets do there magic!! Thank you for the kind words about the Front Porch Cafe the food there is amazing and staff are the best. . We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future

All the best,


Frank Fuentes
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Best location across from the ocean. It says Collins Avenue but the other side of the building is Ocean Blvd, lots of restaurants, shows, shops and fun. Very good food, bartender plus we felt welcome everywhere. Large hotel room, large bathroom with 2 separate granite top vanities and 2 separate doors for the bathroom!
We just spent 8 nights there - relaxing and yet you can just walk down Ocean blvd past many restaurants, and many have music and shows going on.

Location is just a short walk to Espanola Way where there is a walking street with good Italian and other restaurants there.
One of the few hotels with a balcony that has a lounge chair and table & 4 chair set.
Ask for any help and they are right there with suggestions and service!
Collins Avenue construction on the other side from our room is almost finished in front of the hotel as the area is redoing underground drain pipes to prevent flooding etc.
We went across the street to the ocean daily and if you are an IGH Platinum member the cushioned lounge chairs, umbrella and towels are free, and the beach crew has a complete list of hotel guests so you just sign in daily. What a great service! And did I mention cushioned, towel covered lounge chairs plus an extra large towel for drying after your dip in the ocean?

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room not near the pool and away from the construction. The pool is on the 2nd f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TjFromPA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoceansales, Director of Sales at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear RONDA11,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, your kind words are greatly appreciated. Thank you for the feedback and being a loyal IHG Rewards Members. Our location is truly the best in the heart of South Beach walking distance to shopping, restaurants and nightclubs and the beautiful beach that has made Miami famous. Looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

All the best,

Frank Fuentes
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at Z Ocean Hotel from October 19th to October 26th and we had a good experience. The location of this hotel in South Beach is what makes it desirable, the front of the hotel faces Collins Avenue and the back of it faces Ocean Drive, which are 2 of the major tourist locations in South Beach. Once you walk out of the front of the hotel, you are steps away from Espanola Way, Lincoln Road and Washington Ave, all major tourist areas in South Beach. We had originally booked another hotel in South Beach, but decided to switch to the Z Ocean Hotel a few weeks before our trip, and we are glad we did as the location was truly perfect! As a result, we were able to walk everywhere, no cabs needed! The beach is right across the street from the back of the hotel, and you are provided with 2 beach chairs, an umbrella and 2 towels during your stay. You have to pay a daily resort fee ($22), and these amenities are included in this price. Our room was on the 3rd floor (coincidentally our room # was 305, Miami's famous area code!) and it overlooked the pool. The room was nice, but the furniture could use some updating as it appears a little old. The king size bed was very comfortable and we had no problems sleeping. The kitchenette was useful as we used the mini fridge and microwave quite a bit. The bathroom was great, alot of space, and the huge shower was fantastic! The only thing I would recommend is that the hotel fixes the "Hot" and "Cold" shower plate. We took cold showers for the first 5 days of our trip because the plate is backwards, i.e: if you place the lever at "H" the water is cold, if you place the lever at "C" the water is hot. We realized towards the end of our trip that the shower does have hot water, but you have to put the lever on "C" to get hot water! LOL! Good thing it was extremely hot in Miami, otherwise those cold showers would have been unpleasant! The room was cleaned daily, with turndown service, and it always smelled fresh and clean, even the hotel itself (lobby, elevators) always had a nice scent to it. The balcony in our room was big, and overlooked the pool, but we never really used it other than to hang our wet swimsuits. It didn't feel very private as it faces a lot of other room balconies, but a very nice touch to the room though. The "Do not disturb" and "Make up room" buttons near the room door are great and convenient, and the cleaning staff was always friendly. The bathrooms in the lobby for hotel guests are outstanding, very clean and modern. We didn't use the hotel bar, just once to use our "free drink" cards, but the bar area was always empty. We ate breakfast once and lunch once at the Front Porch Cafe, which is located in the hotel, and the food was good. We used the hotel's pool almost every afternoon that we were there and although small, it was nice too. Two things that I would recommend regarding the pool facilities: the pool and jacuzzi should be cleaned better as the bottom of both seemed dirty everyday, and seeing that families also stay at the Z Ocean Hotel, they should have a "No topless" policy at the pool for respect of the families with small children. There were a bunch of swingers at the pool one afternoon, and the women decided to go topless, and act questionably, and a manager had to come over to the pool and ask them to put their tops back on as some parents had complained. One of the swingers complained that she had called the hotel prior to her arrival to see if going topless would be ok, and they told her that it would be fine. If it was an "adults only" hotel, I could understand that policy being fine, but if you have families staying at the hotel, make it a firm "no topless" policy. Anyway, from the atmosphere we saw in South Beach, we realized "anything goes" there, so it provided us with some good laughs, but then again we don't have kids, but we understand and can appreciate parents' concerns. The reception staff at the Z Ocean was friendly and check in and check out was very easy. Overall, we had a good experience at the Z Ocean Hotel, and if I had to pick one major advantage of this hotel, it would be the location. The majority of 4 and 5 star hotels in South Beach are expensive, so if we ever have the pleasure of coming back to South Beach, we'll probably stay in the same location, but we may try a different hotel as we've heard good reviews from other tourists at other hotels nearby that are in the same price range, and offer free breakfast. We did expect more of a "Wow" factor aesthetically for the price we paid to stay at Z Ocean for 7 days, but then again this was our first time in Miami and from what we've seen and heard, everything is expensive (and hotel rooms are generally small) in South Beach, so we can't complain as our room was a fair size and we didn't spend much time in it anyways…oh the price we pay to shindig with the rich and famous! LOL! I would recommend the Z Ocean Hotel though, we had a pleasant stay regardless. If you are going for the first time, be sure to check out Mango's and Clevelander (Barbie is the nicest and best waitress ever!) on Ocean Drive, both are major hotspots in South Beach! Also, some good places to eat (and pretty economical too) are Pizza Rustica (huge and delicious pizza portions) and Spris (fantastic Italian food), both on Lincoln Road! It was our first time in Miami, a vibrant city with a great beach and lively atmosphere, and we hope to visit again some day. Now back to reality and our cold Canadian weather :(

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mare D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoceansales, Director of Sales at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear MareDee,

Thank you for your kind words on your recent stay here at the Z Ocean Hotel South Beach your feedback if much appreciated. I am glad to hear that we were able to get the famous #305 suite (shhh don't tell Pitbull we might have to pay him royalties). As for your detailed review thank you so much for this great feedback which I have shared with the team and we are making changes as we speak... As for the pool it was deep cleaned a few weeks back and you'll find it spotless once again. Our suites are currently undergoing a face-lift to the furniture curtains deep cleaned, wall repainted and furniture touched up. On your next visit I'll reserve the SHHHH Suite for you and I want to hear your feedback again. Looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

All the best,


Frank "305" Fuentes
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

came here with my wife here for 2 nights for her birthday

great location just steps from the beach, great staff, great pool area (surprised we did not see many people there), and lots of choices for restaurants just steps from the hotel. You can just park your car and walk to anything you need.

The hotel itself feels new- nothing worn down like you see in many other hotels.

Only one strange thing- we went to the pool in the hotel during the day, and was told the pool area closes at 8pm... the next day we were at the pool area around 630 pm, the bartender was gone but there was a sign saying call the room service extension if you need anything. so I called and asked if we could order some drinks to the pool and was told that they can only bring something to a room. I was completely surprised and told the person on the phone that I called the number on the the sign in front of me but he said he could not do anything- so we didn't get our drinks and the hotel lost a little bit of money they would have made from us.

All in all I think this is perfect for a getaway.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoceansales, Director of Sales at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear Dowers

Thank you for taking the time to relay your most recent experience here at the Z Ocean Hotel South Beach your feedback is greatly appreciated. I am happy to hear that you felt a warm welcome from all of the staff members they work very hard to exceed all guest expectations. I also wanted to apologize for the pool confusion.. We've updated the signage to reflect the correct hours of operations plus we alerted our food and beverage team to the proper hours and procedures on ordering food on the pool deck (sorry we hired some new associated and were in training). We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon and the first rounds of drinks on the pool deck is on me!!!!

All the best,

Frank Fuentes
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I stayed here the night before leaving on a cruise and left with a positive view of the hotel and staff. All of the staff (housekeeping, porter, front desk, bar, etc.) were extremely friendly and helpful in making our brief stay in South Beach a highlight of our trip. Upon returning to Miami, I realized that I had forgotten a suit jacket in my hotel room. Upon calling the hotel, they located the suit jacket and offered to ship it to me. Daniel in Security even sent a tracking number so that I could know the latest status on my package. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LynchburgTraveler944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoceansales, Director of Sales at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear LynchburgTraveler944,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Z Ocean Hotel South beach, your feedback is greatly appreciated. We hope that you enjoyed your cruise as much as you did your stay here at the Z.. As mentioned before our team of professionals really go the extra mile to ensure our guests stays are as close to perfect as possible. Danny on our security team is one of those individuals that really like to go above and beyond (he sends his regards). Hopefully you'll be back soon wearing your recovered Sports Coat. Looking forward to welcoming you back.

All the best,

Frank Fuentes
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#15 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,565 reviews
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#55 of 208 in Miami Beach
6,696 reviews
South Pointe
Marriott Stanton South Beach
Marriott Stanton South Beach
#22 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#14 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,550 reviews
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#4 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,398 reviews
The Confidante
#33 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Z Ocean Hotel South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Z Ocean Hotel South Beach

Property: Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Address: 1437 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4103
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#8 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Z Ocean Hotel South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience true luxury at our Miami Beach resort, Z Ocean Hotel South Beach. Offering much more than other suite resorts in Miami Beach, Florida, Z Ocean Hotel is ideal for your escape to SoBe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Z Ocean Hotel South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Miami Beach
Miami Beach Crowne Plaza
De Soleil South Beach
Vincci South Beach
Regent South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing