We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Rooms and Location in South Beach” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Z Ocean Hotel South Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Ranked #11 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
130 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great Rooms and Location in South Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

We stayed here at the Z-Ocean Hotel in South Beach as a post-cruise stay. We found the room to be very clean, spacious, comfortable and clean. The overall design of this hotel and room is very modern for a hotel in the South Beach area (see photos). The room includes a kitchenette with dishes, silverware, drinking glasses, small refrigerator, microwave oven, sink and coffee maker. The outdoor balcony was spacious.

The check-in and check-out process were both quick and easy, and the staff were also helpful and friendly - providing a map of the area and printing our airline boarding passes when needed.

The Beach area itself is only about a half block away - very convenient. The Z-Ocean desk clerk had told us that tenants of the Hotel have complimentary use of beach towels and umbrellas.

This hotel has a restaurant that is conveniently located on the street level - the lunch we had there was good.

I would highly recommend the Z-Ocean Hotel for the South Beach area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AZCasualTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoceansales, Director of Sales at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear AZCasualTraveler,

Great to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay here at the Z Ocean Hotel South Beach post your cruise. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. Our location is truly fantastic and the beach club and staff really do make a great location even greater by providing such fantastic service. We look forward to having you back to the hotel in the near future.

All the best,

Frank Fuentes
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,852 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,215
    431
    113
    45
    48
See reviews for
337
1,009
52
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

This is a very classy hotel. Great location, smart reception, excellent staff, AMAZING room - we treated ourselves to a rooftop jacuzzi suite and it was fabulous! Well worth the extra money - we felt like rock stars sitting in our jacuzzi overlooking the city! It's just a shame that there is a daily 'resort fee' and that the only free wifi is in the lobby.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lr2012_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoceansales, Director of Sales at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear lr2012_13,

Wow it's like a November British Rock Star invasion over seven reviews from UK guests!!! We love you guys!!! Thank you for your kind words on the Z Ocean Hotel South Beach your feedback if much appreciated. I am glad to hear that upgraded your suite to our signature Rooftop Terrace Suite it really does have some spectacular amenities and views (either city or ocean). As for the Resort Fee commencing January 1st, 2014 will include wireless aside from beach chairs, towels, umbrellas, bottled water, fitness center for just joining the IHG Rewards Club. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

All the best,


Frank Fuentes
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
246 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

This excellent hotel is actually a Crowne Plaza and situated at the North end of South beach in the heart of the Art Deco area.
Great pool that is above the bar so you can see people swimming overhead while having a beer.
Attentive staff and reasonable value - great location!

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Patrick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoceansales, Director of Sales at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Paddythediver,

Thank you for taking the time to review to review the Z Ocean Hotel South Beach. We are very proud of our little boutique hotel nestled in the heart of south beach. It is always great to hear nice things about our little gem and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Z Ocean.

All the best,

Frank Fuentes
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

The Z is a luxury all suite hotel located just across the street from the beach. The location is perfect as it is within walking distance to all the South Beach attractions, seconds from the beach and great restaurants. The hotel rooms are suites which have luxurious bathrooms, multiple Flat screen TVs, mini kitchen and comfortable beds. The staff enhances the stay by making you feel as of you are a movie star, very accommodating and cater to guests. The facility has a small workout gym with the basics. Wi fi is available but pricey...( but it is not hard to find free WIFI in the area) I highly recommend the hotel.
If you shop around you can find decent deals for your stay.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JasonReville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoceansales, Director of Sales at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear JasonReville,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, your kind words and accurate description of our boutique hotel are greatly appreciated. We are very proud of our boutique hotel and our suites are really unique to the competition all are over-sized and equipped with all the luxuries our guests deserve during their visit to South Beach. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

All the best,

Frank Fuentes
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

I stayed in one of the penthouses. The room was great, there were even two sinks in separate bathrooms, HD tv set, a full minibar and a private jacuzzi on the rooftop.
The main negative point of this place is the wifi available for 14$ a day !!!
The breakfast at the front proch café which is just downstairs is good but don't order breakfast in your room. There is not much to eat and the food is not even good.
Very quiet room unlike some other places on Oceans Drive ! Depends what you are looking for !

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cassandre L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoceansales, Director of Sales at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Cassandre L,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, your kind words are greatly appreciated. Thank you for the feedback and we are happy that you enjoyed your Rooftop Terrace Suite. You'll be glad to know that effective January 1st, 2014 WiFi throughout the hotel will be given out to all guests that join our IHG Rewards program. As for the Front Porch I am sorry that you had a poor room service experience during your visit, if you would like to discuss further please email me at frank.fuentes@ihg.com. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

All the best,


Frank Fuentes
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chino, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Z Ocean is a top rate hotel. Let me say this the Customer Service is Outstanding!!!! All the Front Desk Personnel were excellent. Mickey the concierge is great. The Bartender Istvan well lets just say his friendliness and mixing skills are top notch this guy can make a cocktail do not miss out on him. Front Porch Cafe is a must for breakfast the portions are very generous. As for the hotel itself the rooms are spacious enjoyed the cooler, microwave, and double restroom with mirrors kind had a his and her feel which is great. The roof top terrace was a nice view to catch the city and lounge out during day. The one thing that I didn't like is the pillows are not comfortable I had a kink in my neck and the spacing between the headboard was off I figured it would be flush with the bed but there was a generous size split that had me confused. Other than that i did not let that get to me because the staff was great and accommodating. The hotel is a great location away from the loudness but close enough to the action in SOBE. Your close to many other restaurants and entertainment action. The valet was quick to get our vehicle. Would i stay here again of course.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelcouple89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoceansales, Director of Sales at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear travelcouple89,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Z Ocean Hotel South Beach your feedback is greatly appreciated. We truly do care about all our guests and the staff work very hard to always exceed guest expectation. It brings us great joy to know that you enjoyed your stay and that you loved your suite.... our bathrooms are the best especially when you have to share those double vanities come in handy.... I'll pass on your comments to the team especially our bartenders who are true mixologists. I apologize for the pillow situation and next time let us know and we will accommodate some extra pillows so they don't slip behind the headboard. We hope that the Z Ocean Ocean will be your Miami home away from home. On your next trip please shoot me an email so I can see to your arrangements personally.

All the best and happy holidays.


Frank Fuentes
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
101 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Don't know where to begin with this hotel. Outstanding service, rooms, restaurants and staff.
I looked to find flaw. 6 jet shower his and her separate bath vanities. full bar in room with Nespresso Coffee Maker on wet bar 2 TV sets and Bose Radio System.

Restaurants downstairs The Front Porch Café was outstanding. My wife pointed out people showed up in cabs to have Breakfast and Lunch ?? We tried it and sure enough I would take a cab myself for this restaurant. Service beyond great. Going to Miami Just go Z Hotel on Collins Ave don't waste time anywhere else.

Room Tip: just stay here Really !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LRUSSO-REALTOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoceansales, Director of Sales at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear LRUSSO-REALTOR,

Thank you for taking the time to review to review the Z Ocean Hotel South Beach. Your review is AWESOME... you wrote "I looked to find a flaw" and since you didn't list any I guess it was a perfect stay!!!! We are very proud of our little boutique hotel nestled in the heart of south beach and our hotel restaurant the Front Porch Cafe is really the best place to have breakfast or lunch guests/tourists come from all over Miami to have a meal here.

Forbes Travel Guide recently (11/2013) wrote that if your only visiting Miami for 24 hours our Front Porch Cafe was the place to have breakfast. Even Will and Jada Smith interviewed (American Way Magazine) both said the Front Porch was their local favorite while in Miami so your in great company when it comes to our restaurant.

Our showers are truly wonderful.... I call them the car wash, lather up and turn on the six jets and rain shower and just turn slowly....pure ecstasy!!!

We look forward to welcoming you both back soon here at the Z Ocean.

Happy holidays,

Frank Fuentes
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#3 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,287 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#21 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,560 reviews
The Confidante
#33 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#9 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,368 reviews
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#8 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,347 reviews
City Center
1 Hotel South Beach
1 Hotel South Beach
#10 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Z Ocean Hotel South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Z Ocean Hotel South Beach

Property: Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Address: 1437 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#8 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Z Ocean Hotel South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience true luxury at our Miami Beach resort, Z Ocean Hotel South Beach. Offering much more than other suite resorts in Miami Beach, Florida, Z Ocean Hotel is ideal for your escape to SoBe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Z Ocean Hotel South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Miami Beach
Miami Beach Crowne Plaza
De Soleil South Beach
Vincci South Beach
Regent South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing