We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Ranked #12 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great hotel”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Stayed in the Z Ocean hotel a number of times. Location is perfect. At the end of ocean drive opposite Espanyola Road. The rooms are luxurious with comfortable beds and very nice rainshower. Rooms are soundproofed well, the ones overlooking the pool are the best. The lobby and pool area are nice but not flashy. The Front porch cafe in the hotel is great for breakfast and lunch.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank W0bbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZFOM, Front Office Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Good Morning W0bbie,

Thank you for being a loyal returning guest. Your kind comments bring smiles to our staff. Hopefully we see you soon here at the Z Ocean Hotel. Anything you need, please do not hesitate to contact a manager on duty.

Warm Regards,
Elen Terzis
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,909 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,257
    440
    115
    48
    49
See reviews for
350
1,037
57
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (456)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Very nice and the scenery is for all types of crowds.First We love the fact you never have to open a door but your own,second the staff was very helpful to my every need (thanks johnel)other than the reviews We read. No homo.And third,I come down here every year for my birthday and this is my third year,I've been to hotel victor(penthouse suite),hotel ocean(penthouse),and this one wins hands down,see you guys and gals next year.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cran2berry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZFOM, Front Office Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Good Morning cran2berry,

Lets make it a fourth year straight! Thank you for writing such an amazing review and choosing the Z Ocean Hotel year after year. We are glad you enjoyed the room and the staff! We will make sure to inform Johnel of his name mentioned on Tripadvisor! Thank you for being apart of the Z Ocean Family. Anything we can assist you with, please do not hesitate to contact a Manager on Duty! We are waiting for you to return!

Warm Regards,
Elen Terzis
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
316 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Fantastic place to stay. Upscale, Chic, Trendy, and Excellent service. Booked a Penthouse room with its own rooftop terrace, and Hot Tub. ABSOLUTELY AMAZING. I have found my new SoBe home away from home. Room was great with a kitchenette, comfy bedding, full size couch with pull out bed. Nice chairs, 2 Flat screen TVs, Huge Granite bathroom, Awesome Rainfall shower, plenty of comfy patio furniture. Private pool area with its own bar area was a high light, excellent service at the pool. There is a Restaurant downstairs, but it was always packed so we didnt try it. Room service was timely and good. Beach area is a couple block walk, but they make it nice for you with chairs and umbrella. Plenty of restaurants and nightlife in walking distance.......This place is THE BEST !!!!

Room Tip: Top floor "penthouse" rooms have the amazing rooftop terrace. Also lots of rooms right on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slayridez06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZFOM, Front Office Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Good Afternoon Slayridez06,

Thank you for taking the time to write such an AMAZING review for us. Welcome to the Z Ocean Family. We are extremely proud of our room product and our associates. We strive to make every guest stay memorable. Please be assured that your comments will be shared with our entire team. Hopefully we see you soon here so we can create more memories together.

Warm Regards,
Elen Terzis
Front Office Manager
Z Ocean Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 April 2014

This is a direct response to macesullivan's review of the z ocean hotel. I am the mother they refer to in their review. The problem with internet reviews is that small minded people can sprout a load of rubbish without it being monitored in any way. It was not a strange confrontation; the husband stamped on my young child's foot without apology and I challenged him. I find it petty and embarrassing to have to respond to this review and am only doing so to defend the hotel staff. I have returned to this hotel with my family for the third time not only for its service but because all of the staff are amazing and make us feel like family; particularly the pool staff Valaria. Macesullivn you re in Miami; it is rich in its multicultural diversity, your problem with me was deeper than stepping on my child's foot. Perhaps you should try holidaying somewhere like Germany- I think you may feel less threatened there!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Hardeep B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZFOM, Front Office Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Good Afternoon Hardeep B,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Z Ocean Hotel. We are extremely sorry that you had to deal with an issue at the pool. We strive to make every stay memorable from start to finish and hopefully that situation does not hinder you from returning a 4th time. We are extremely thrilled to hear that you find our staff amazing. Please be assured that we will share this with all our associates. Hopefully we see you soon here at the Z Ocean to create more fonder memories.

Warm Regards,
Elen Terzis
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livonia, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We absolutely love this hotel. Location, location, location!!! Get a Lanai suite, the pool side access and patio is worth every dime. Rooms are quite and beds are comfortable.

Valencia at the pool is THE BEST!!! Don't think about it, just book it!

Room Tip: Book room 205, shade and sun!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roxann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZFOM, Front Office Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Good Afternoon Roxann M,

Thank you for writing a review for the Z Ocean Hotel. We our proud to have such a staff member as Valencia. As you stated, she is the best!!! Hopefully we see you soon at the Z Ocean Hotel for you to create more memories with us and Valencia!

Warm Regards,
Elen Terzis
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qidong, China
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

All,

I stayed the Z Ocean Hotel (a Crowne Plaza Hotel) from April 6th to April 11th. The service at the hotel was incredible. From when I first walked in to the last day. When we checked in I found the front desk personnel very pleasant and upbeat. When they found out I was a frequent guest of Crowne Plazas they upgraded me to a pool suite. Amazing!

My wife who is extremely picky was completely won over when she ....
1. requested my light in the room. The maintenance man came with a smile and replaced the needed light bulbs and actually brought a floor lamp into our room.
2. found one of the cable set top boxes was not working well. Once again maintenance came with a smile immediately and address the issue.

The Concierge Mickey Montella was extremely helpful in suggesting activities (in South Beach and in the Keyes) and was even able to get tickets to the Miami Heat games.

Everyone from the pool staff, bartender to the waiters in the restaurant were great. If great is to general a word... they were upbeat, pleasant, genuinely concerned that we have a good time.

Under other important topics I found the hotel clean and well kept. The main lounge area where the bar was had two TVs, great drinks, interesting discussions with visitors from all over the world. Great place to chill. The back of the hotel is on Ocean Drive and a 2 minute walk to the beach. Once at the beach you get two chairs and 2 umbrellas as part of your resort fee daily. They are reserved for the entire day for you. The front of the hotel is on Collins and one block over is Española Way. This is a great area containing many restaurants and a few boutiques. The food is great and the price is not bad for a tourist area. If you are into high energy music and eating alfresco then take the Ocean Drive exit out of the hotel and in block you are in a high energy restaurant, bar area. If you want a more laid back experience take the Collins Ave entrance of the hotel and walk over to Espanola Way. In short the hotel is in a great location.

Staff also has a great relationship with the Betsy Hotel which is next door. The suggestion to go up to the Betsy Hotel roof top for drinks was outstanding. We had a great time. Be warned they close at 9 PM or 10 PM on the week days. The lounge area as you walk in on the first floor is great.

Cons: If you are into large intricate pool areas this may not be for you. For me it was more than adequate especially on very windy days. Given the service I will take this pool any time.

All in all I applaud the staff at this hotel for giving us such a great experience.

Room Tip: One word room 204
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trav1motime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZFOM, Front Office Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Good Afternoon Trav1motime,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review for the Z Ocean Hotel. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff. We are extremely happy that we were able to win over your wife! Hopefully you enjoyed the Miami Heat Game and that we will see you back again to enjoy the room and staff. I am sure Mickey would love to assist in planning your next trips/tours.

Warm Regards,
Elen Terzis
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Stayed with small children and other family members. Our room was a standard room while other family members had a rooftop penthouse with an amazing view and jacuzzi. Staff were super-accommodating with any request. The rooms were spacious, had fridges and Nespresso machines. The pool is small but bonus points for having viewing windows from the lobby below (coolness factor for the kids). The outdoor lobby/ lounge was comfortable and great for evening drinks. The accompanying restaurant had great food (have the Migas for breakfast or a BLT) but take note- 18% gratuity is already added to the bill. The beach is only a short walk across a small street and the chairs and umbrellas easily accessible. Our only issue occurred upon checkout- an altercation with housekeeping management- and it was resolved with management.

Room Tip: Walking distance to all restaurants and pedestrian areas- if you dont need a car for anything specif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aidan98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZFOM, Front Office Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Good Afternoon aidan98,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Z Ocean Hotel! We are extremely happy you enjoyed your stay with us! The rooftop rooms with the jacuzzi's are amazing! We are happy to hear that management was able to assist with the issue at check out. Hopefully we see you at the Z Ocean soon to enjoy a memorable stay from start to finish.

Warm Regards,
Elen Terzis
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#15 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,569 reviews
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#54 of 208 in Miami Beach
6,705 reviews
South Pointe
Marriott Stanton South Beach
Marriott Stanton South Beach
#22 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#14 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,551 reviews
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#4 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,400 reviews
The Confidante
#32 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Z Ocean Hotel South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Z Ocean Hotel South Beach

Property: Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Address: 1437 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4103
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#8 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Z Ocean Hotel South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience true luxury at our Miami Beach resort, Z Ocean Hotel South Beach. Offering much more than other suite resorts in Miami Beach, Florida, Z Ocean Hotel is ideal for your escape to SoBe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Z Ocean Hotel South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Miami Beach
Miami Beach Crowne Plaza
De Soleil South Beach
Vincci South Beach
Regent South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing