We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots going for it.......but not everything!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Ranked #11 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lots going for it.......but not everything!”
Reviewed 9 June 2010

We searched long and hard online looking for an above average (4 or 5 star) 'Ocean Drive' location hotel and decided on spending one night at the Z Ocean Hotel and one at the Tides. Overall I'd give the 'Z' a 7 or maybe a possible 8 out of 10.
Things we liked: the room itself was very funky and unusual and well equipped and we opted for a balcony room with the spiral staircase going to our own PRIVATE roof-top sunbathing area including a wet bar and private jacuzzi!! You'll no doubt read that several people talk about how 'wonderful' the shower in the bathroom is, and they're right, it truly is an amazing experience! The location is awesome, just close enough to the lively nightlife but far enough away that you can get some good shut-eye without that thudding beat all night long! The breakfast here was expensive but also very good. Things we didn't like: The entrance is off Collins Ave, not Ocean Drive, so the first impression is "are you kidding me?? I paid all this price for this???". The staff were 'okay' but just okay. I expected more for the price I paid. The bar was closed when we were there (a Thursday nite) which quite surprised me as it looked like a luxurious place to sink a few martinis. Oh well, their loss. The pool is small but cute. Would I stay here again? Maybe, but only with a private rooftop room.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,891 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,244
    436
    114
    48
    49
See reviews for
344
1,031
54
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (451)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Allentown, PA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2010

In every interaction, it was fighting tooth and nail to get some kind of response! From the reservations department who "didn't know" what was included in the $19 "resort fee," to the front desk people who really seem to think they are doing you a favor by letting you stay there, to the maintenance department, which just does not fix things, to housekeeping, which did not show up some nights until 6pm, even after requesting 9am cleaning, this place makes it too hard to be a guest there. I want to feel like a business appreciates me. There is no feeling whatsoever at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PAGuy65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany,ny
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2010

Found this hotel on Kayak, booked standard room. Tries to be a trendy hotel in South Beach. Smaller than it looked on Web, passed by it first time. Our first room was a little dirty, some things cracked, upgraded to a PH jacuzzi for $150 /night, don't bother- rooftop is basically open to other rooms and hotels, not private, we used it once , a little shabby, and side view of ocean. We had PH3. Also two "coolers" in room, one for mini bar, and one free. These are NOT refrigerators, they are just coolers, you need to put ice in for anything to be cool.Who thought that was a great idea, cheaped out! Coffee maker is one of the most stupid I have ever seen, makes espresso size cups. Location is right on end of Ocean where it meets Collins, great location to just walk down Ocean. Beach is across the street, chairs and unbrellas are provided for $19 "resort fee", another ripoff. Parking is $30/day. Great deli across the street, with little markets, buy juice, great pastrami sandwiches, rivaled Katz's in NY. Breakfast at 11th street diner is a must. about 5 blocks south on Washington. Did not use the postage stamp pool, always full of loud kids and their large parents. Hotel is jammed between two others, it looked spacious in the pictures, and made to look like it is standing alone on the beach, which it is not.
Now we haven't been to South Beach in 8 years, we were in Florida looking at condos in three cities. South Beach has gone back to being a little shabby, more crowded, and with gang elements cruising the strip. I don't mind a party, but I do mind not being shot. Last time in South Beach. I also got to use my Spanish quite a lot. Gone are the great cars cruising, saw one Aston, a lot of Nissans. Everything has its time, and South Beach has had it. I would stay at a different hotel next time, but I doubt there will be a next time.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ddiverd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2010

I still cant work out if the place is good or bad?

No Restaurant

Room Service = Terrible

Mini Bar - Warm

Bedroom - Great (bar Minibar and room service)

Room Location - Great if on pool deck .. 5 steps to the water!

Hotel - we had 12 Cubans partying all day and very drunk very noisey we almost moved hotel ... however they did knock one night accomodation off, after glass was broken in pool and pool out of order for 4 hours!!

Staff all very friendly and helpful

mmmm .... I think you can find better

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RgePage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2010

Stayed here twice, first time was great but under different management, this time not so much!
Cons: Considering the fact that your spending almost $500.00/night for a penthouse suite your room should be spotless. Dust on everything, utensils in room dirty, fridge doesn't get any colder than room temperature, rugs not vacuumed, sand on the floor and who would want to use the hot tub when the thing is filthy and filled w/hair and all this upon arrival!!! Rooftop access is great but the furniture is dire need of some washing had to ask for extra towels just to lie down on the furniture. What they call a suite is actually a studio w/the tiniest kitchen and sitting area, and the bathroom is a third of the room. If your looking to be on the beach don't stop here the beach is across the street but with the walk to the actual beach its more of a hike. If you want to be close to the action this is not the hotel for you, it is actually at the very end of the strip away from the crowds. No nightlife in this hotel. The lobby & restaurant are always empty. Very small pool, the pool area itself can only accommodate about 20 people at one time, so we had to go back to our rooftop on several occasions.
Pros: Small private hotel with entrances on Collins Avenue and Ocean Drive, great rainfall shower w/six shower heads, really comfy bed w/superior bedding, private rooftop for tanning is a plus (retractable curtains available so your nosy neighbors cant see.) You're in walking distance to everything. Jerry's diner across the street (open 24hours) has a great menu & big portions. Hotel staff was very helpful every time we had a complaint they responded immediately . Soundproof windows which were great when your trying to get some rest even on the side of Collins (which on Friday nights can get hectic.) In room massages can be scheduled if available, they are great, but staff was late for our appointments.
Overall: you can stay some where were they actually appreciate your business and get more for your money.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SunLuvnGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2010

We stayed in a room with a private, rooftop terrace, ocean view and hot tub. What an unbelievable experience!! Although this is not a bargain hotel, if you are looking for a great location (near the action but not in the midst of the craziness) and a fabulous ocean view and luxury room, this is the place! There was a mini bar set up and 2 TVs with a Bose music systerm. The bathroom was spacious with a vanity seat and the shower was the best I've ever seen, with many different nozzles and water jets. The bed was heavenly and the turn down service each night was great. We didn't try the on site restaurant but it looked very nice.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laftime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2010

We have stayed here 3 times before and every time has been great. I came with my husband and our 5 year old son. As always, bed and shower were great as well as the balconies. We always book a city view rooftop view and always get the one we want. We didn't check in until 4 pm on day one so they refunded the beach chair fee for this day since they are only open until 5 pm (no arguement, just yes we will refund that). Not sure what people are talking about with hidden fees and arguing. They give you a paper upon arrival that you have to sign and initial that explains the fees. You have to read people!!! And really the $19 fee for 2 chairs and an umbrealla is a steal on miami beach. it is much more expensive just renting them separate from the hotel! Hotel staff was very nice as always and very responsive.

My only compaint (again) is that they still don't have trash cans on the rooftop and still no utensils. I agree with the internet complaints as well. Many hotels offer this free now so they should change this. Also it would be nice to having a mini fridge in the room as opposed to having to walk up to the rooftop to put something in a COLD fridge (minibars don't keep anything cold or even cool). Also a place to print out boarding passes would be nice (some hotels will do this for you if they don't have anywhere for guests to do it-hint, hint).

These are so minor though it doesn't take away from the hotel as a whole and the vacation. Pool was great, beach was great and my son and husband loved it once again.

Thanks Z Ocean! We will be back.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lolopfitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Confidante
#35 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,853 reviews
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#13 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,475 reviews
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#4 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#62 of 208 in Miami Beach
6,388 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#23 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,745 reviews
City Center
The Plymouth
The Plymouth
#3 of 208 in Miami Beach
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Z Ocean Hotel South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Z Ocean Hotel South Beach

Property: Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Address: 1437 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4103
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#8 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Z Ocean Hotel South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience true luxury at our Miami Beach resort, Z Ocean Hotel South Beach. Offering much more than other suite resorts in Miami Beach, Florida, Z Ocean Hotel is ideal for your escape to SoBe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Z Ocean Hotel South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Miami Beach
Miami Beach Crowne Plaza
De Soleil South Beach
Vincci South Beach
Regent South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing