We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST HOTEL I HAVE EVER STAYED AT”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Ranked #11 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Spearfish, South Dakota
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“BEST HOTEL I HAVE EVER STAYED AT”
Reviewed 1 December 2010

From check in to check out the customer service at this hotel is second to none. I put on my reservation that it was my anniversary and low and behold a bottle of good champagne shows up to the room hours after check in. The cable went out for a few hours the next day or so and guess what....a bottle of wine from the management again apologizing for the inconvenience. Chocolates on you pillows every night. Clean beautiful rooms, with marble floors in bathroom and showers give you the feel of the Caribbean. Cold water and apples in lobby every day and night. Walking distance to Lincoln Street and steps away from Ocean Blvd and the beach. Anyone who has ever written a bad review on this place is a jerk...I will never stay anywhere else on South Beach Ever Again!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank forcoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,898 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,249
    438
    114
    48
    49
See reviews for
346
1,034
55
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (452)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 November 2010

stayed 7 nights was charged 3000$.dicovered 2nd day pool was closed,no restaurant in hotel,b ar area could be described as a wind tunnel with barmaid wrapped up in a coat.3rd night smoke alarm went off at 4am,next nite guest vomiting outside my door at 5am and charged 190$ for late checkout when tojd 2 days earlier this would not apply.not a single word of apology in spite of fact that 3 couples in our party spent 9000$ on rooms only.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank russell110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZOceanSobe, Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, 24 November 2010
Dear russel110:

We regret that you were so disappointed with your stay recent with us. Please accept my humble apologies for any inconvenience caused by the emergency repair work being performed on our pool, (please note that the pool is now fully functional) as well as the limited service of our restaurant and bar. The hotel is in the process of upgrading our restaurant space in preparation for the opening of Front Porch cafe on December 1st, 2010.

Rest assured that fees regarding your evening check out were adjusted off of your bill prior to departure.

Thank you for your valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 November 2010

A group of about 10 of us stayed at this hotel. James Angel and Lori Butts made the reservation process so easy. I reserved one of the roof/terrace suites and it was worth every penny. We hosted a cocktail party in our room and there was more than enough room for everyone. The rooms are very modern, the bed was comfortable and the shower was the best I've ever experienced! This hotel is centrally located, an easy walk to Ocean Drive and Lincoln Place. I go to Miami often. I will never stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HailMari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2010

We have stayed at the Z Ocean Hotel in South Beach twice and love it. The suites are good sized with a lounge area and beautifully designed and having a kitchenette is super handy. Beds are heavenly! We walked to the local supermarket and stocked our fridge with food and drinks, which was very convenient and helped save money. We were also opposite Jerrys Deli, which is open 24 hours. Other positives were being so close to Ocean Drive (yet not in the midst of the craziness and noise there) and the fact the rooms are SO QUIET. I am a stickler for a quiet room and Miami is of the noisiest cities, the walls in most hotels are paper thin and people like to party here, so unless you're in a well constructed hotel, you will not get any sleep. We used to stay at the Sagamore, which has a nicer pool area and lobby, but it was way too noisy (hardwood floors with furniture scraping above and thin walls), plus it was way more expensive. The room at Z Ocean Hotel are just as nice for much less. Both times we stayed at the Z Ocean Hotel, we were on a room facing Collins Ave, which you would think would be noisy, but the glass is so thick that you don't hear a sound. Plus if you manage to wrangle a room looking out on Collins Ave, you get a balcony with lounge chairs and you can sit and watch the world go by. We would sit outside in the evenings and eat our dinner and drink our wine and loved it. Only downside as of last March was the resturant and bar had shut down, which is a shame because there is a gorgeous area backing on to Ocean Drive which goes unused. If you're looking for similar pluses but this hotel is out of your price range, you can also get a quiet room and a suite with fewer stars at the Dorchester Suites, which is down past Lincoln.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canyonmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pksahora, General Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, 4 November 2010
Dear Canyonmum, we justed wanted to let you know that we loved your comments regarding our property. It is uplifting to hear from our guests when they had a good time whilst staying with us. I have some good news regarding the restaurant space. As of December 1st, 2010 the Front Porch cafe will move into the available space. We are excited to offer this choice to our guests and are looking forward to a close and productive relationship with their organization. The interior space is currently undergoing a complete restoration. On behalf of all my colleagues at the Z Ocean, thank you for your kind review. Sincerely, Peter K Sahora.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 October 2010

One of the worst experiences ever in a hotel. Reserved rooftop suite with ocean view and hot tub. Pool was under construction, jack hammer from 9:00 am to 6:00 pm every day. Couldn't even go on balcony or relax in hot tub, noise was deafening. Management not apologetic. Sent letter to IHG, did not resolve issue. Ended up refunding 1 night stay, but still paid $32 to park every day and $19 resort fees each day (what a joke). Management did not handle issue the right way. DO NOT stay at this boutique hotel. There are better ones out there. If not a boutique hotel, stay at Ritz or Lowes you wont be disappointed there.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chefdlrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pksahora, General Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, 4 November 2010
Dear Chefdlrs, I deeply regret that your stay with us was such a disappointing one. I truly wish that we could have avoided the disturbance during our emergency pool repair work. Thankfully we are in the final stage of the repair work and are looking forward to offer a brand new pool experience to our valued guests and the opportunity to provide all with the calm and relaxing environment our guests are seeking. Please note that we are ready to assist you in any manner if we you wish to contact us in the future. Again, I am very sorry that we could not provide you a the experience you expected. Regards, Peter K Sahora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wildomar, California
Level 6 Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2010

We stayed here because of the location and we're glad we did. You can walk everywhere. You walk out of the hotel, turn right and you're in the Deco district, the beach is right across the street, Espaniola Way is right outside the door and the Lincoln st. mall is just a couple of blocks away. There are more places to eat and drink within walking distance than you can count. We loved the Betsy next door, great food and service.

The hotel itself is beautiful . Our room was gorgeous . Great bed and the big televisions and bar area were fun. The balcony was huge and would be great if you are on a side of the building with a view unfortunately we were over looking air conditioning units and a vacant lot. I would recommend this hotel based on the shower alone. Amazing!

Everyone was friendly but there were some minor issues. When we first arrived, we were waived in by the valet, it's valet only, and then he disappeared. We sat in the car for a while and then drove into parking garage and waited longer trying to decide if maybe we were supposed to park ourselves. He showed up when we decided to get out and find someone. He apologized, someone came and got our bags and then disappeared . We had no idea where to go. It was a
little weird but we figured it out. The day we checked out our final bill was put under our door and we were only charged for two nights parking , we figured it was because of the mix up the first day and we thought "cool". As we were out of the lot the valet came running out to stop us and said they had forgotten to charge us for one nights parking and should they charge it to our room! Oh well! Parking was $39 a night by the way. Pool was closed and didn't look like anything was being worked on. Hopefully they are not putting anyone in the poolside rooms, it was pretty dirty out there. We could never figure out when the bar and restraunt were open. We would walk by and there would be someone behind the bar and two hours later ther was no one. We never saw any customers, weird.

Housekeeping was fabulous
though. Anything we needed was
provided. Overall we had a great time and would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnellec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pksahora, General Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, 4 November 2010
Dear Johnellec, we are grateful for the feedback regarding our property and you stay with us. Thank you for taking time to share it with others. A couple of notes addressing the areas needing management attention. The Valet company has received a copy of your feedback. I am pleased with the attention given to your observation and expect that this will be addressed effectively. We will also keep an eye on their progress. Happy to report that we are in the final stage of the emergency repair to our pool. Should be back in operation by no later than mid-November. Shortly thereafter, on December 1st, 2010, Front Porch Cafe will open their doors in the vacant restaurant space. We are looking forward to this partnership and the services our guest will be able to enjoy. Again, thank you for your business and the kind review. Respectfully, Peter K Sahora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2010

My husband 10 month old infant and I stayed here for one day and night pre-cruise. We arrived early in the day and was able to get an early check in. The staff was very friendly and answered all of our questions very promptly. The pool was closed for renovations but we were able to spend some time at the beach with the little one. The room was very spacious even with a crib. The kitchenette area came in very handy, especially for the baby stuff. We were able to step out on the balcony while the baby was sleeping to have our evening coffee before bed.
The room was very clean and washroom very spacious. The hotel is steps from starbucks if you like coffee and many dining options. We walked down Lincon Rd in the evening and chose a place to dine as well as buying a few things. Its a very nice tourist area. All in all the hotel was a great choice for us and will absolutely stay there again.
Definitely have breakfast at Front Porch which I believe is going to be moved into Z Ocean at some point.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SGM09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pksahora, General Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, 4 November 2010
Dear SGM09, regret that the pool was closed during your visit. Unexpected emergency repair needs forced us to shut it down. Relieved to report that we should be back in operation shortly. Glad that the location and the services helped to contribute to an enjoyable and relaxing stay. And yes we are looking forward to the opening of Front Porch cafe on December 1st, 2010. Again thank you very much for taking time to share the feedback with us and others. Regards, Peter K Sahora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#16 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,542 reviews
The Confidante
#31 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,019 reviews
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#4 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#59 of 208 in Miami Beach
6,563 reviews
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#12 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,523 reviews
South Pointe
Marriott Stanton South Beach
Marriott Stanton South Beach
#22 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Z Ocean Hotel South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Z Ocean Hotel South Beach

Property: Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Address: 1437 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4103
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#8 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Z Ocean Hotel South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience true luxury at our Miami Beach resort, Z Ocean Hotel South Beach. Offering much more than other suite resorts in Miami Beach, Florida, Z Ocean Hotel is ideal for your escape to SoBe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Z Ocean Hotel South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Miami Beach
Miami Beach Crowne Plaza
De Soleil South Beach
Vincci South Beach
Regent South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing