We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“They've thought of everything”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
Ranked #3 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
uk
Level Contributor
79 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“They've thought of everything”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

The location is great - close enough to Ocean drive and the main action in South Beach, but without all the noise and bustle.
The staff are without exception a huge asset to the hotel - from valet parking, to check in, to the bar staff and poolside - all helpful, and personable. When you consider the place has only been open a couple months - this is even more impressive.
The hotel is in the old art deco Traymore building - and its restaurant keeps this name. Some people have commented that the Traymore name on the outside of the building is confusing - and it did baffle our taxi driver - however, the building code people insisted the name stayed as a piece of history - so as long as you know - no problem.
The rooms are really stylish - with marble floors and funky rippled wall coverings. The bed is huge and very comfortable - and our balcony was a real plus.
The bar and restaurant area are packed with original art deco features - and there is a huge collection of period artefacts above the bar.
The pool area is stunning - a huge 25 yard pool with great sun loungers and behind that, in a grove of palms, some vast beds in the sun - not your typical sun bed - but a king size, pillow covered, decadent space to sleep, relax , read, eat , whatever. Someone has even provided lap top / mobile charging pods all around - i said they'd thought of everything!
Across the boardwalk and onto a very quiet part of miami beach - with more comfort and service on the white sand.
We didn't eat at the hotel - as we wanted to explore ocean drive etc - and were only staying 2 nights - however the menu looked enticing, and when we return - we will certainly try it out.
All in all - a great start to our holiday - and I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: The balcony was nice - although it faced a condo block - to the side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grove1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier B, Manager at COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear grove1,

It is with great pleasure that we receive your review.
Most importantly it is fantastic to read that you highlight the attentiveness and service quality delivered by our staff members.

I remain looking forward to welcome you very soon and I will be delighted to make your reservations at The Traymore Restaurant & Bar.

Best regards,

Andres Gomez
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,038
    188
    53
    19
    12
See reviews for
160
737
71
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lakewood, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

From the moment we pulled up, from the personal greeting, till we left on Thursday evening, everything was really special. The Metropolitan by Como was perfectly designed, functional and well located. The staff is kind and professional. The food spectacular. Without question one of the nicest rooms with the best rain shower. It was amazing. I had the pleasure of spending time in the spa. The steam room is a must! I had the full body massage with Dylan. Out of all the spas I’ve been to, the Metropolitan spa and Dylan were the most impressive. I had an ocean view and while the sunlight and aromatherapy cover the room, it was the most relaxing massage till date (that’s to say I get monthly massages). Can’t say enough about the spa. I will definitely stay again and without a doubt -- visit the spa, IT’S A MUST

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabs997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier B, Manager at COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Gabs997,

It is absolutely gratifying to read that you felt really special from the moment you arrive to the Metropolitan by COMO, Miami Beach. Moreover, thank you very much on your kind comments in regards to our team members' attentiveness and overall service quality. We are also very proud of your feedback on the COMO Shambhala Urban Escape treatments, rest assure we will pass on the endorsement to Dylan.

Looking forward to welcome you again shortly.

Kind regards,

Andres Gomez
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Had a great time at Metropolitan by Como.
The location is away from the main strip of Ocean Drive but it is easily walkable. Because of this, the location is a bit more peaceful.
Breakfast is a very nice affair and the staff are all very helpful and attentive. The rooms are very stylishly decorated, although the array of booze and snacks left around is getting a bit much in hotels these days - I just shove it all in a drawer now as it's obvious they are are trying to tempt you to spend a fortune.
I thought the pool deck was amazing - they have done a great job of kitting it out and I found it totally relaxing. The bar staff are always there and very attentive without being intrusive. The pool was very quiet all the time we were there. One of the days, we were the only people there, which I like...
I only have one criticism of the hotel and that is that it is damn hard to find. The building says Traymore on it - which is not the hotel's name but the original hotel name before Metropolitan took it over...

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier B, Manager at COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Richp,

Thank you for sharing your review on your recent stay at the Metropolitan by COMO, Miami Beach.

It is very pleasant to know that you enjoyed a relaxing time and that you rate our team members' work so highly. On another note, as per historic preservation regulations we have to keep the original Traymore sign on the top of the hotel, however we will have a Metropolitan by COMO sign very shortly.

Looking forward to have you stay with us very soon.

Best regards,

Andres Gomez
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Stayed a weekend w/ my wife and had the most refreshing and relaxing time. If you are looking for a getaway to relax, re-load batteries, enjoy beach and pool, eat healthy, wholesome AND good... this is it. A perfect weekend getaway! Walking distance to Lincoln Rd and restaurants. We Spend the entire time at the hotel. Beautifully designed. Peaceful!

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view. North side might have better views than south.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toobw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier B, Manager at COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Toobw,

We are very glad to read your review on your recent weekend getaway.

It is absolutely fantastic to know that you achieved the sense of tranquility and relaxation that we strive for in each of the different services that we offer.

I remain looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Sincerely,

Andres Gomez
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

If you're looking for a unique, luxury hotel experience, this is the place for you! Loved our art deco room which was on a higher floor with an ocean view. As my husband and I walked into the room we felt like we were entering a different time period, but not...if that makes sense. Hard to describe, it's so unusual. Glo in Helsinki is the only other hotel I can think of that is similar in design and feel. Clean, open space, soothing green walls, comfortable bed, and fantastic rain shower. Eclectic decor: gotta love the golf ball ice bucket! Only downside on the room would be the dirty windows from the ongoing construction around the hotel. Hotel staff was exceptional and we'd like to personally acknowledge Toby at the pool bar. Every one of the pool staff is amazing, but he's your shining star! Good conversation, genuinely friendly and upbeat, made excellent recommendations regarding drinks and food... made us feel welcome and comfortable. The masseur (Ugh! What was his name?) listened to all my wants and needs and gave me an excellent deep tissue massage. I especially liked him because he said I reminded him of Sharon Stone. Lol! Hey, I will take any compliment I can get and hope he wasn't just insinuating I was crazy! Compliments to the chef! We ate breakfast and dinner at Traymore and thought the food was fresh, inventive, and extremely delicious. She put serious thought into the menu and it shows. Only negative would be the young bartendar's lack of experience. He was very sweet and meant well, but had trouble mixing drinks. Martinis should be poured into martini glasses, not what looked like an ice cream sundae dish, and the $18 glass of champagne should be poured into a champagne flute, not a wine glass. Signature cocktails were strange, as well. This sounds petty, but it's a high class hotel and the bar should be top notch, too. We see that the kinks are being worked out and we will definitely be back!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Christine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier B, Manager at COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Christine O,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent experience at our property.

We are cerainly glad to know that you enjoy and value the unique decor of the hotel, besides other touches in different areas of your room and restaurant. More importantly, it is excellent to read that you had such a great experience at the COMO Shambhala Urban Escape.

Looking forward to welcoming you very shortly.

Sincerely,

Andres Gomez
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

In a city known for new hotel concepts it's tempting to think you've seen it all. The Metropolitan brings something new to Miami: service. By far and away the best group of people you will meet in Miami hotel. From the moment you walk through the door to the moment you leave you are surrounded by charm and warmth.

This is a grown up hotel for people that know what luxury is.

Small, intimate, beautifully designed and spectacularly well run. An oasis in the South Beach strip. From Javier downwards you couldn't ask for more. Special mention to the guys running the pool and the housekeeper who let me into my room after realizing before I did that I'd stayed past my late check-out time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaberat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier B, Manager at COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Gaberat,

It is with great pleasure that we read that you rate us so highly and that you have identified something unique in our property.

Thank you very much for your comments on the friendliness of our staff, we truly appreciate every effort made by our team members to make your stay more enjoyable.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Andres Gomez
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

The longer we stayed at Metropolitan by COMO, the more we appreciated the hotel.
We saw the few negatives of the hotel right away. So lets get the negatives out of the way: The first couple days we were worried that we would get bored. The location of the hotel is somewhat in the middle of nowhere. You can walk to most things.. but its a far walk. Short cab ride. Also, there isnt much activity at the hotel. Its very quiet (there is a nice band most nights) with a beautiful pool and amazing beach.. but plain. Not much to do. Another negative was the food. NOTE: we did NOT have the dinner. But we did have breakfast and lunch at the hotel. The food isnt very american. Its odd. Tasty. but extremely small portions and not filling. Also they deliver food on the beach (which is amazing), but the food isnt beachy. We had salmon that we had to eat with a knife and fork. on the beach... which can be difficult. And the last negative of the hotel is that since the area of the hotel is up-and-coming.. there is construction all around. We couldnt hear it from the room (thank God), but it kind of ruins the relaxing mood at the pool.
It wasnt until the last few days that we truly started to appreciate how great the hotel was. So lets go on to the POSITIVES: After spending the days at other hotels- it was a true oasis to come back to the metropolitan. I dont think I could take the "thump thump thump" music at the other hotels 24 hours a day. Also the service at the Metropolitan by Como is truly one-of-a-kind. Honestly, it cannot be matched. It really felt like we were the only ones staying at the hotel and our wish was their command. The staff was so friendly, nice, and smart. They personalized the stay for us. Even before our room was ready- they gave us our own personal bathroom to shower, change, (with robes, towels, etc) and where we can keep our things- so we could lay on the beach until our room was ready. Did not have to worry about a thing the whole trip. Also, Metropolitan by Como's beach chairs are by far the nicest of all the other hotels. And theres no fighting for a chair. No matter when you want to go to beach, there is always a lounge chair waiting for you with fresh towels and a waiter to make sure you are comfortable. NO OTHER hotel does that. And the waiters (ours were Domi and Josh) were amazing. I dont often get to know waiters by name- but we became so fond of them by the end of the trip. They really added a personalized quality to the hotel. Also, the other guests at the hotel are high class. After going around miami (which in entertaining), its nice to return to normalcy.
SO, OVERALL- I would say this hotel is GREAT for couples. Kids would get board- stay elsewhere. The service is truly one-of-a-kind. The metropolitan by como is a beautiful and calm oasis to relax and get away from the craziness of Miami. I would DEFINITELY stay there again and again.

Room Tip: The beach side is much prettier- obviously. But if you want to save some money, the rooms facing the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier B, Manager at COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear Julie S,

Thank you for taking the time to provide a thorough review of your stay with us. Every experience has its positives and negatives and I am glad to hear that your positive experiences outweighed all else. We certainly enjoy that our location is a bit removed and quieter compared to your typical Miami Beach scene. We take great pride in our health & wellness aspects in addition to our realm for pure relaxation. I am pleased to hear that you were able to make the most of it.

Personalizing the experience is our goal for each and every stay, and as one of the smaller properties on Miami Beach, we are tremendously successful at this. Domi and Josh both work incredibly hard and deliver on what we consider the "COMO Experience". I have passed along your kind words to both of them and were both humbled by your mention.

On behalf of our entire team, we look forward to your return! Your pool chair awaits!!

Warm Regards,

Sam Eisenman
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Confidante
#34 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,585 reviews
City Center
The Plymouth
The Plymouth
#2 of 207 in Miami Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
City Center
1 Hotel South Beach
1 Hotel South Beach
#10 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#11 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,397 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#21 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,618 reviews
Faena Hotel Miami Beach
#6 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach

Property: COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
Address: 2445 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140-4702
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach is a 74-room Miami hotel in the heart of the city's Historic District, overlooking America's most iconic beach. It delivers the perfect blend of rest and revelry, urban modernity and period charm by way of light-filled rooms, a COMO Shambhala spa, and leading-edge interiors by Italian designer Paola Navone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing