We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just OK”

The Traymore Restaurant & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
The Traymore Restaurant & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #103 of 1,096 Restaurants in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$50
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Traymore Restaurant & Bar, in Metropolitan by COMO, Miami Beach, is a contemporary seafood restaurant, displaying an array of International and American dishes. Native creations include seasonal dishes with fresh ingredients harvested from Florida-presented in a simple, rustic style by Executive Chef Jonathan Lane with exceptional service by the team of Restaurant Manager, Sergio Caceres. French and Portuguese inspired desserts by Master Chocolatier, Chef Emmanuel Alves, are based around seasonal, The Traymore also features the company's signature COMO Shambhala Cuisine. Developed by COMO's Executive Chef, Amanda Gale, the menu promotes better health through nutritional eating, focusing on the use of raw foods. The Traymore Bar offers a premium gin array from 40 distillers around the world. The bar staff has created a series of classic and signature gin-based cocktails and are well versed in pouring the perfect Gin & Tonic.
idaho
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“just OK”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

we ordered their large raw seafood platter for two...it was just ok. the shrimp was tough and dry. the lobster was the same expect it was so bad we didn't even finish it. after eating most of that platter we realized we were still hungry and ordered the grilled octopus and that was great. it may have been we ordered poorly but it was the first hing on the menu and they we recommending it as their best.

if i could do it over again i would order different but stay away from their raw platter...its priced at $135...not worth that at all. the most expensive meal we had in south beach and the worst.

service is GREAT
atmosphere is GREAT

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mnymaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    78
    17
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Worth the discovery”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

As a Miami Beach local, it is easy to be overwhelmed by the number of restaurants that open (and close) in a given month. And we locals tend to be skeptical of the hotel/restaurants on that particular stretch of Collins Avenue. But the Traymore Restaurant and the Metropolitan Hotel by Como are definite exceptions to the rule!

The space is inviting and typically all-white. It has that clean, beachy feel, pointedly highlighted by the wicker-backed chairs. All things considered, the chairs are pretty comfortable if a little casual for the space - but be warned that a larger guest will find the seats a little narrow. Our service initially was too spaced out ... It took longer than we expected to get menus, to have a server approach the table - we didn't even have a wine list. Fortunately, as the meal progressed, the service improved and overall I would say that they're quite polite, helpful, and attentive without being overbearing.

The food is the real star here. We ordered a number of appetizers and sides so that we could try a little of everything. By far, my two favorite things were the grilled octopus and the black ink squid rice. If I could eat those dishes every day, I'd be happy! The brussel sprouts were also excellent, and the tuna tartare had a nice kick. The wine we ordered was reasonable, and they didn't flinch when I asked for it to be decanted. If you bring your own wine, they have the most reasonable corkage fee I've heard recently, whether on the beach or elsewhere.

The hotel can be tough to spot if you aren't looking carefully, but it's worth the find. Fabulous dinner at The Traymore!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MiaBchGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent!!!”
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

It was amazing dinner. The food and also the service was spectacular. You must try the dessert. We really had a great time!

Helpful?
Thank Pkroli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delightful”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I went to Miami Beach after staying away for ages--do not care for the hype or the hot spots. I was delighted by my experience at the Traymore. The operations manager greeted us at the door. He is charming and very hospitable. Every service person we encountered was friendly and approachable. The atmosphere is calm, warm and friendly. I felt comfortable and at home. The meal was a great experience. Our server was helpful and knowledgeable. I had the seafood stew--a savory meal with a great medley of tastes, a wonderful sauce over grilled bread. At my server's suggestion it was accompanied by a dry Austrian white wine--perfect. My friend had the halibut and was raving about its delicate taste. Desserts were original, fresh and tasty, my personal favorite the passion fruit. All in all a delightful experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Foodie503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Great dinner on South Beach”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We chose to dine at Traymore due to the Trip Advisor reviews, and we are very glad that we did.

After beginning the meal with some slow, slow service, everything turned for the better once the food started coming out.

We had:

Grouper Ceviche - Outstanding. They use Peruvian Peppers, I believe... which are excellent
Fluke Crudo - Good
Ivory Salmon - Awesome. Unique tasting salmon... very delicious
Halibut - Good
Orange Chocolate Texture - Incredible
Passion Fruit Cannelloni - Very good. Only issue is we both noticed a pretty severe aftertaste of the cannelloni for the remainder of the evening.

A highlight of the meal, aside from the wonderful food, was a visit to our table by Operations Manager, Samuel Eisenman. While we don't normally love chit chatting with managers, Samuel was extremely friendly and down to earth. We very much enjoyed the 5+ minutes or so he spent at our table. The Traymore is lucky to have him. We will definitely be back to dine here. Thanks, Samuel!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelinKind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Traymore Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 
Miami Beach, FL
 
Miami Beach, FL
Miami Beach, FL
 

Been to The Traymore Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing