We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So this is #1, really!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Angler's Hotel
Ranked #18 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Midwest
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“So this is #1, really!”
Reviewed 14 March 2012

While we had a good time and pleasant experience at the Angler recently, I walked away wondering how this could be the #1 Tripadvisor rated hotel in South Beach. We have limited experience at SoBe, the Ritz being our only other experience many years ago. The Angler sounded like the place we wanted this time. Local, small, with some charm. It does have great curb appeal, but its three blocks off Ocean Drive on a mixed commercial street with not much else going on around it. It has valet parking ( no self park provided by the hotel) and attentive staff when you arrive. The public areas, while small, are nicely done, especially the outdoor restaurant seating which has vegetation screening and lounge options. We had two good meals, a lunch when we arrived and breakfast. Both were well prepared, and well presented. Our two room suite, however, was a bit of a buzz killer. It was pretty tight quarters, only average furnishings, and had a bathroom sized for a Manhattan efficiency. Shower only. Interestingly though, the suite had a stereo that could have powered speakers in ten rooms. Of course, the South Beach experience isn't really about your room, its about what's going on outside. An SoBe did not disappoint us. There was a food and wine festival going ( it could be there all the time for all we know) but it was a lot of fun. Had dinner at A Fish Called Avalon, which is a couple of blocks from the hotel on Ocean drive. Fabulous food and very entertaining people watching. All in all a nice weekend. But for the money we dropped for the Angler experience, we're going to try something else next time.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room first. Avoid poolside first floor rooms unless you like strangers hanging aroun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akeptman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,848 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,258
    429
    104
    41
    16
See reviews for
256
1,100
76
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Poolside room was fantastic, feels like a tiny boutique hotel, really stylish and a lovely pool area too. Certainly will be back. Stayed June 2009.

Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jimsquirrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

We had two nights in the The Angler's Boutique Resort in one of their most expensive suites. The suite was on two levels, with a patio containing a hot tub. Our general feeling was that we paid the price for a top hotel, but did not feel that it lived up expectations. Everything about the property seemed as if it was just missing the mark, to be fair not by much, but just not where it should be. We had a number of meals in the room and they were also good but there was regularly something missing or wrong with what was delivered (i.e. missing cutlery, the wrong item). The same was true of the room, toilet seat was loose, stereo did not fully work, there was a small hole in bathroom door. In summary and to quote Homer Simpson "Close but no Doughnut".

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMF62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayres, General Manager at Kimpton Angler's Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Thank you for your recent visit with us and taking the time to review us.

I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. However, it would appear that we need to work on our consistency. As soon as I saw your E-mail, I checked myself into a room under a false name and ordered room service with my best accent. While I didn't have any challenges, I do agree that we need to work on our consistency so that we hit the mark every time. From the tips you gave us about your room I was able to isolate it down to four guest rooms which I walked personally with out Housekeeping Manager this afternoon. While we strive for excellence, it would appear that we need to tighten up on our detail with some staff members.

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are a better property due to guests like yourselves who share their feedback both positive and constructive. I'm deeply apologetic that our lack of consistency caused you to have to be so understanding.

Please feel free to reach out to me at JAyres@theanglersresort.com. I'm very confident that should you wish to return; we can and will exceed all of your expectations.

Sincerely,

James Ayres
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We stayed here as part of our honeymoon to the US. The staff were so welcoming and decorated our bed with flowers upon our arrival in a heart shape it was was a great touch. The room was fantastic with a great entertainment system and i dock and cool mini bar. The hotel itself was really central on washington ave and rite beside the beach with loads around it. The guy on the hotel reception Marc payed special attention to us and was so helpful and gave us plenty of info for our onward journey. We would 100% recomend this hotel to anyone staying in MIami.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rachellovesfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exton, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Service and atmosphere were excellent. Easy walking and rent-able biking distance to "the action". Loved that hotel was not typical "cookie cutter" hotel. Lush vegetation and artistic touches helped create a warm, relaxed, and secluded atmosphere. Breakfast in the restaurant area was excellent - plenty of pillows. There is a blighted/crumbling/empty parking lot that mars the scenery a little - but easily ignored.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our balcony view of Washington Ave - this was cheaper than the "pool view" whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dave O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

When you are visiting South Beach you can stay in one of the big "Walmart" sized hotels, but in the end you feel just like you are just another room key. Or you can stay at the Angler's and you can feel like you are the only one in the place! The staff is friendly and hospitable and they make you feel right at home instantly. The rooms are spacious and comfortable but you know they must of paid some designer a ton of money to make the rooms look like they do. Everything from downtown Miami to Lincoln road is just a short cab ride away. No wonder this place is #1 on Tripadvisor!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ScottGardiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayres, General Manager at Kimpton Angler's Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Thank you for making The Angler's your home during your recent visit and reviewing us.

We did have an exceptional Interior Designer. His name is Wallace Tutt and he also did the design work at the Versace Mansion. We are very proud of the work he did and lovingly care for all of the rooms.

I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. We enjoy interacting with all of our guests one on one and making you feel like you are visitng someone's upscale home.

We look forward to welcoming you home to The Angler's again soon.

Warm Regards,

James Ayres
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Awesome place for a couple looking to be just outside the meat market that makes the rest of SOBE so fun but a little too intense for 24 hours a day.

I would not recommend for singles looking for a party pool, or lobby bar parties.

Sunday brunch here is really popular as well, great little vibe.

Most notable was the staff's great attitude. Super friendly and helpful, never overbearing.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DZaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayres, General Manager at Kimpton Angler's Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
I'm so happy that you enjoyed your visit to The Angler's!

Thank you for taking your precious time to review us. I'll share your feedback with all of our staff. Our staff enjoys what they do and I'm truly honored to have such extraordinary individuals to work with each day.

We hope you return to your home in Miami Beach again soon!

James Ayres
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#23 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,706 reviews
The Confidante
#34 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,763 reviews
City Center
The Plymouth
The Plymouth
#2 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#4 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,339 reviews
Urbanica The Meridian Hotel
#1 of 207 in Miami Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
The Hotel of South Beach
#21 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Angler's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Angler's Hotel

Property: Kimpton Angler's Hotel
Address: 660 Washington Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6208 (Formerly The Angler's Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Angler's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled deep just off Washington Avenue one would not expect to find a unique collection of accommodations and lushly landscaped atmosphere that promises to instill a sense of relaxation the moment you enter. Privacy by design, on rooftop terraces, private gardens and private Jacuzzis. The pool is a perfect retreat to bask in by sun or moon. Unlike most hotels, at Kimpton Angler's you will instantly feel as though you are in a friends home, with furnishings, fixtures and services that meet even the most discriminating traveler. Stay a night, a week or longer. This is your new home away from home. Four legged friends are welcome too. Choose your suite for the perfect retreat for family, friends, honeymoon, girlfriend's getaway, business trip, long holiday, special occasion or just a break from the ordinary. This is a charming and lovely taste of the tropics, as never before seen in South Beach. With a subtle mix of international flavor and style clientele from all parts of the globe, all will convene and feel welcome. At once the hotel is discreet while managing to be the center of the attention all at the same time. Energies flow amongst tower suites, garden lounge, and intimate communal pool where relaxing or growing your circle of friends is the order of the day. With a unique approach melding fine island living with historic charm and elegance, we invite you to come be a part of Kimpton Angler's. Step into an era of simple yet stylish beauty and sophistication. Spacious Studios and Duplex Suites offer a new level of hospitality that you are sure to enjoy. Set in the heart of the historic art deco district, travelers are invited to take their place in public or in private. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Angler's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Angler`s Boutique Hotel Miami Beach
The Anglers Boutique Hotel
Kimpton Angler's Hotel Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing