We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I'd stay again for sure” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton Angler's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kimpton Angler's Hotel
Ranked #15 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“I'd stay again for sure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012 via mobile

Great efforts to get to know you and make sure you feel welcome. Lovely rooms and the best part is location, it's only short walks anywhere, the shortest being to the beach. I wouldn't stay on Ocean drive and would imagine the constant restaurant hostesses hounding to sit you down would get tedious over and over just walking into your hotel.

Back to the Anglers
It's a cute pool too and again the staff are fantastic, btw no resort fees either' loved it

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WelovetravellingOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,829 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,247
    424
    103
    40
    15
See reviews for
253
1,091
76
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Odenton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

Please make sure when you pick this hotel you understand the location, amenities, and customer service can not fulfill a 4-5 star rating. They try to make up in customer service what they lack in the older facility, not located near the beach. Unfortunately they made promises they did not honor. The one pool, only goes up to 5 feet, small enough for 3 to 5 children without adults to swim. This hotel is appropriate for a business traveler staying a night or so. Please seek discount rates if you choose this hotel for family or romantic getaway. No spa.

Room Tip: Older property, choose according to your need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elijah42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayres, General Manager at Kimpton Angler's Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Thank you for recently being our guest and taking the time to review us.

I am sad to see that you feel that we have not delivered on our ratings. We do not sell ourselves as a beach front property nor do we market that we have a spa. We have a wonderful spa company that comes in and does in room or pool side massages of all kinds and they are top notch without ever causing a single guest complaint. As we are only 45 suites, our pool is smaller but again receives rave reviews from our guests.

Please feel free to contact me at Jayres@theanglersresort.com so that I can learn more of why you feel that we deserve a 1 out of 5.

Sincerely,

James E. Ayres
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, Michigan
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

We had a great stay at the Anglers. Service was outstanding, from the managers to the front desk staff. Everyone seemed to make the effort to go out of their way to make sure things were going well. Location is good. Just 3 blocks from the beach and the art deco district. The rooms were well appointed and comfortable. Overall a very nice, peaceful hotel very close to the fun in SoBe.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fv17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayres, General Manager at Kimpton Angler's Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Thank you for recently being our guest and taking the time to review us.

I'm glad that you enjoyed your visit with us. Our team takes great pride in exceed our guests expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you home again soon.

Regards,

James Ayres
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bedfordshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

As a contributor to trip advisor I try to put back in what I get out, I chose this hotel based upon other travellers reviews of this hotel.

The hotel was situated close South Beach , just a 3 minute walk , there was valet parking right out side the hotel which was very convenient. Check-in was quick they were all ready for me and so was my room when I got there.

To be fair the room was very well furnished and very clean, we had a Tower Duplex Queen Suite which was a lounge downstairs and bathroom and bedroom upstairs. Not really the biggest of rooms that I have had but just big enough to make you comfortable. Free internet access.

I’m not sure if the adjacent room was vacant for the first 2 nights but on the 3rd night we could here their conversation and their TV through the walls. The worst bit for me though was our next door neighbour was up and down most of the night with what I assume was with her stilettos on and with the wooden floors the footsteps reverberated right though our room, we had clunk clunk clunk until the early hours of the morning.

We had breakfast at the hotel which was ok but expensive. Although I knew before I booked the hotel that breakfast was not included I felt a little bit aggrieved that when you pay so much money for a room in a so called top hotel they couldn’t throw in a basic buffet breakfast.

Apart from one sleepless night with my neighbours the hotel didn’t really have tom many any negatives for me but it also didn’t really push my buttons. I would try somewhere else next time I visit Miami

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank waynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

I booked this trip last year and was really looking forward to coming to Miami having never been here before. The reason we booked this hotel was it was small intimate and really well located. It delivered on all,my wife was not feeling too good when we arrived and we would not have wanted to be any where else because the fact the hotel is small it was quite, peaceful the pool area was great not ever crowded. The rooms were great, really up market with all the usual facilities, we were surprised when we arrived that our bed have a love heart on it made up of rose petals which was a really nice touch ! The restaurant was good serving Cuban and latin food we ate here quite often as my wife was not too well, the chocolate desert cake went down well and definetely recommend the cocktails. The staff were very attentive, we were looked after very well, the location was perfect you are so close to everything it was very hot to walk but the best way to see parts of Miami is to walk especially Ocean Drive on a Sunday which was a really good experience everybody just having a great time and all the fancy cars drivng up and down, Lincoln Road is not too far for shopping, we did take a walk to Joe Stone's Crab on a Wednesday but unfortunately they were closed. This place is the perfect location very good value for money and you will not be disappointed,we are looking forward to going back, hopefully soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pradip P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayres, General Manager at Kimpton Angler's Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Thank you for recently being our guest and taking the time to share your experience.

I'm delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us here at The Angler's. We delight in special occasions such as yours where we can make your visit extra romantic and memorable. It sounds like you had an amazing visit. I'll make sure to share your rave reviews with all of our team.

We look forward to welcoming you home again soon.

Regards,

James Ayres
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

Coming to SOBE I expected to stay in the heart of Art Deco district, walking distance to the beach, easy access to restaurants and night life but also wanted to experience an elegant , tropical, setting with addition of the superb service. Guess what ?
I found it all at The Angler's !!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

We stayed at the Anglers in April and had a suite with a private patio and a jacuzzi. First of all the good points: the hotel has a fantastic location. It's so quick to walk to the beach, shops and great restaurants but also quiet. The staff were really friendly and helpful too, helping with booking tours and providing beach bags with towels and water was a nice touch. Yummy chocolates and beach balls and kites were freebies for the children, also very thoughtful. The pool was lovely too, albeit small, but that's common to all hotels in the area.
I would really have liked to give it a higher rating but the room was just ok, nothing special and a little tired looking. I would have expected something a bit smarter for this price. The tv sound did not work properly and we gave up trying to get our suitcases up the spiral staircase ( whoever thought that was a good idea??) to the bedroom and ended up leaving our suitcases downstairs. The jacuzzi was nice but had a mind of its own and kept turning itself on and off which was disconcerting. Also the private patio faces onto the main road, although there is a hedge separating you from the pavement so its fairly private. That said we did get a few other hotel and restaurant guests taking the wrong path and ending up in our patio when we were in the jacuzzi! As there was so much on our doorstep we didn't eat in the restaurant so can't comment on the food, but we did order mojitos one evening and unfortunately they were not great. I think this could be a great place to stay if the rooms were updated & with a little more attention to detail.

Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank JAHS28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#20 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#3 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,287 reviews
The Confidante
#32 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#9 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,364 reviews
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#11 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,852 reviews
City Center
The Redbury South Beach
The Redbury South Beach
#12 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Angler's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Angler's Hotel

Property: Kimpton Angler's Hotel
Address: 660 Washington Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly The Angler's Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#13 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Angler's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled deep just off Washington Avenue one would not expect to find a unique collection of accommodations and lushly landscaped atmosphere that promises to instill a sense of relaxation the moment you enter. Privacy by design, on rooftop terraces, private gardens and private Jacuzzis. The pool is a perfect retreat to bask in by sun or moon. Unlike most hotels, at Kimpton Angler's you will instantly feel as though you are in a friends home, with furnishings, fixtures and services that meet even the most discriminating traveler. Stay a night, a week or longer. This is your new home away from home. Four legged friends are welcome too. Choose your suite for the perfect retreat for family, friends, honeymoon, girlfriend's getaway, business trip, long holiday, special occasion or just a break from the ordinary. This is a charming and lovely taste of the tropics, as never before seen in South Beach. With a subtle mix of international flavor and style clientele from all parts of the globe, all will convene and feel welcome. At once the hotel is discreet while managing to be the center of the attention all at the same time. Energies flow amongst tower suites, garden lounge, and intimate communal pool where relaxing or growing your circle of friends is the order of the day. With a unique approach melding fine island living with historic charm and elegance, we invite you to come be a part of Kimpton Angler's. Step into an era of simple yet stylish beauty and sophistication. Spacious Studios and Duplex Suites offer a new level of hospitality that you are sure to enjoy. Set in the heart of the historic art deco district, travelers are invited to take their place in public or in private. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your Kimpton Angler's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Angler`s Boutique Hotel Miami Beach
The Anglers Boutique Hotel
Kimpton Angler's Hotel Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing