We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in Miami”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kimpton Angler's Hotel
Ranked #39 of 214 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 18 October 2013

This is a great hotel for a trip to South Beach Miami. Rooms are furnished to a very high standard and are very spacious. Really like check in being done in your room. Other nice touch was a personal card with your name on it and address of hotel. Staff were friendly and efficient. Location is handy to just about everything.

Room Tip: We stayed in original building towards rear so virtually no noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,904)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

653 - 659 of 1,904 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2013

We stayed at The Angler's Boutique from 26th September for 2 nights, 3 days. This was the first part of our honeymoon trip around Florida and we had mentioned this to the hotel when we booked.

We used the valet parking when we arrived as there were very limited options when it came to parking. The street parking is limited and was always full, and the nearby multi-story looked a bit iffy and was only $8 per day cheaper. The valet was friendly enough but we can't comment on the rest of his service; we didn't use the car for the 3 days we spent in Miami and the hotel had arranged for the car to be brought around ready for our departure on the morning we left.

On arrival in our room we were impressed. We booked a Queen Tower Duplex which had a lovely lounge downstairs complete with flat screen TV and sound system with an AUX in point, and a bedroom and ensuite upstairs. There wasn't masses of room but the space was well thought out and was more than adequate for us. To our surprise, the bed had been laid with a heart shape made from rose petals with a lovely welcome note to us. That was a nice touch. The extra bits the hotel had thought of were fab too such as the beach bag with towels in, the robes in the closet and the books and magazines about the local area. The accommodation also had a fridge which was well stocked but with room for some bits of your own, and a mini bar which wasn't really mini, but full sized bottles of liquor. Pretty pricey too when you could call down the road and buy the items for much much less, but you pay for convenience. This also goes for the little hamper with lots of little goodies in such as M&Ms and Jelly Beans, Advil, an AUX cable and extra coffee pods.

We ate breakfast in the Hotel on both mornings and we enjoyed this. The service was good and they had a range of options which could be supplemented by extra's. The restaurant was the first stop on the South Beach Culinary Tour, which we didn't go on, but we were having a 'happy hour' drink when the tour started in the bar/lounge area. It sounded really good and we would have booked to go but we didn't see this until our last night.

The Hotel in located on Washington and 9th Street, so is 2 roads back from the Ocean. To be honest, I am glad of this! We walked down onto Ocean Drive on our first night and realised how disappointed we would have been to have stayed there. The main promenade is packed with tables for the restaurants and bars that splay out and you have waitresses and hostesses grabbing at you from every direction waving menu's in your face. It was a bit annoying as we just wanted to have a nice stroll and look at some menu's without feeling pressured to go into an establishment! With this in mind, I would give the location of the Angler's 10/10!

We walked to the beach both mornings and this only took 5 minutes, and we had a nice wander down Collins to some nicer restaurants.

We would recommend this hotel to others and if we go back to the area, we would probably consider this Hotel again. It is a little bit more expensive than staying on Ocean Drive, but the location makes up for the price difference.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KRBarnard1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

This is the best small hotel in South Beach. We've been coming here for several years now, at least a half dozen times and each time is wonderful. Very friendly and knowledgable staff. Large well appointed rooms with marble showers in the 1930s main building (where we always stay). A great hotel kitchen - especially for sitting in the outdoor patio and dawdling over breakfast for a couple of hours. The hotel is in walking distance of dozens of other great restaurants and excellent shopping (including Lincoln Road) but it's a quiet location two blocks away from the party scene on Ocean Drive.

Room Tip: We always ask for a room in the main building. Ask for a room on the pool side. From the first flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zebrastripedhearse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We stayed at the Angler’s for a weekend during part of our holiday in September. After reading the good reviews, we were excited for our stay in a duplex however we were a little disappointed. Initially we were annoyed the private sun terrace that came with the room was closed with just a note on the door as an apology. We’d had a long trip and were not in the mood to see if we could change rooms. Otherwise the room was very pleasant and we were pleased. The hotel has nice touches like bringing ice round in the evenings for the ice bucket however after using the wine glasses on Saturday night, they were not cleaned or replaced for Sunday. So we had ice but not glasses? I’m sure we could have got some from reception but it seems like a silly thing to have to request. We also weren’t supplied replacement complimentary coffee for our final day (when we had to be up for an early flight), a little thing but there were several little things taking the polish off the otherwise nice hotel. We did like the supplied beach bag and towels though – nice touch.

We’d had a busy trip and decided to have a quiet night on Saturday and eat in the hotel but they had a wedding on and the whole restaurant was closed, which was annoying. However the staff were very apologetic and provided menus for several local restaurants that would deliver to us.

All the staff were really friendly and helpful with any enquiries.

The hotel is well located close to Ocean Drive and the beach but on a quieter road. It’s a bit of a trek to Lincoln Mall if you’re not used to the heat but perfectly do-able.

Room Tip: If you book a duplex, confirm you will actually be able to use the sun terrace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

The Angler's will always be a Must Stay for me when in South Beach!!!

A friend and I shared a duplex and everything worked out perfectly!!! Check-in was smooth and seamless. We were escorted to our room and shown around. Just so happened that we arrived right before a Guest Appreciation Happy Hour with free drinks and appetizers. Regular Happy Hour prices were fantastic as well for drinks and small bites! The location is great! Walking distance from the beach and shops and restaurants. A little off the main strip of Ocean and Collins but that's exactly what we were looking for.

Cleaning services were excellent!! I feel like they cleaned our room twice one day!!! The staff was always very helpful and friendly. The duplex was more than spacious with 2 balconies and tons and tons of light coming in!

I have not one complaint. I will stay here again and again and would recommend anyone to stay here as well.

Room Tip: I've always stayed in a duplex. If you can swing it, go for the extra space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daphney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Great location, lovely rooms and fantastic staff.

Lots of little touches that make you feel special which is what we are all after on holiday.

Our room had a pool view and was large with a seating area. Room was furnished to a high standard and the cleaning was first class: the room was always spotless.

We didn't have a meal but did have the happy hour tapas. Portions were very small for the price and we didn't like the margaritas as they were small, in jars and had a funny taste. The food was great however.

May have just been bad luck.

I have been to Miami 6 times and always stayed in boutique hotels and this one was the best. Book it.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We chose the Angler's Boutique for the location, and because we did not want a "party" hotel. The location is great - just a couple of blocks from Ocean Drive and within walking distance of many of the main South Beach attractions. The swanky hotels with their bars and restaurants are only a cab ride away.

We had a duplex suite with a plunge pool. The bed was very comfortable and having a split level was really helpful when one party has jetlag and is up reading at 3am! I agree with the previous reviews that the bathrooms are unimpressive - I would expect at least a power shower in a hotel like this. Overall the bathroom decor was also tatty. The bathrooms let down the room when you have chosen (and of course paid for) a suite. I was also not keen on the narrowness of the circular staircase, which made it difficult to carry luggage up and down. However overall we liked the room and it was very quiet and peaceful - we never heard anyone else.

We did have a few niggles (in addition to the bathroom above):
- we emailed ahead with a couple of queries - whilst promptly answered, they never really read my queries properly so we ended up doing our own research on restaurants instead and booking those ourselves. We also asked for the hot tub to be turned down (as I am pregnant it is dangerous for me to be in the hot water) but it was not - however as there are individual temperature controls this was easily solved;
- we went for breakfast on the last day as we did not have much time. We went inside and said we would sit outside. After 10 mins without so much as a menu being brought out to us we got up and went elsewhere (there's plenty of options within a short walk and probably cheaper too). I think they just forgot we were there, though it was hardly busy.

However the staff in general were very friendly. In particular the valet was great with getting us cabs, and when I went to fetch the rental car before coming back to pick up our luggage he was great with helping us to park and load up the car. The staff at front desk were also lovely and helpful once we were actually at the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LTravel81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
The Plymouth
The Plymouth
#6 of 214 in Miami Beach
411 reviews
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
#49 of 214 in Miami Beach
3,584 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#32 of 214 in Miami Beach
2,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#18 of 214 in Miami Beach
1,998 reviews
Urbanica The Meridian Hotel
#1 of 214 in Miami Beach
609 reviews
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#5 of 214 in Miami Beach
1,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Angler's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Angler's Hotel

Address: 660 Washington Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6208 (Formerly The Angler's Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#27 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: £156 - £549 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Angler's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled deep just off Washington Avenue one would not expect to find a unique collection of accommodations and lushly landscaped atmosphere that promises to instill a sense of relaxation the moment you enter. Privacy by design, on rooftop terraces, private gardens and private Jacuzzis. The pool is a perfect retreat to bask in by sun or moon. Unlike most hotels, at Kimpton Angler's you will instantly feel as though you are in a friends home, with furnishings, fixtures and services that meet even the most discriminating traveler. Stay a night, a week or longer. This is your new home away from home. Four legged friends are welcome too. Choose your suite for the perfect retreat for family, friends, honeymoon, girlfriend's getaway, business trip, long holiday, special occasion or just a break from the ordinary. This is a charming and lovely taste of the tropics, as never before seen in South Beach. With a subtle mix of international flavor and style clientele from all parts of the globe, all will convene and feel welcome. At once the hotel is discreet while managing to be the center of the attention all at the same time. Energies flow amongst tower suites, garden lounge, and intimate communal pool where relaxing or growing your circle of friends is the order of the day. With a unique approach melding fine island living with historic charm and elegance, we invite you to come be a part of Kimpton Angler's. Step into an era of simple yet stylish beauty and sophistication. Spacious Studios and Duplex Suites offer a new level of hospitality that you are sure to enjoy. Set in the heart of the historic art deco district, travelers are invited to take their place in public or in private. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, IHG, Southall Travel, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kimpton Angler's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Angler`s Boutique Hotel Miami Beach
The Anglers Boutique Hotel
Kimpton Angler's Hotel Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing