We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely quiet, close to beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kimpton Angler's Hotel
Ranked #20 of 210 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 26 March 2014

The room was very spacious and super quiet. It didn't have a balcony or ocean view, as this hotel is a few blocks back from the beach, but it did have a lot of light. Walking to the beach was not a problem. Hotel provided beach towels and a yoga mat. Large comfy bed. Room had a fridge (although mostly full of hotel snacks) and a microwave, but no utensils (probably the restaurant would have lent). The restaurant was good too, and the grounds are lovely. A small but nice pool. Very friendly staff. A quiet retreat from the Miami Beach hubbub.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spanish_af
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqueline P, General Manager at Kimpton Angler's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

spanish_af
Thanks for your amazing comments. We are thrilled that you were pleased with our oversized guest rooms and our location, one block away from the beautiful white sandy beach and close to local restaurant, clubs and shops.
We hope you will be our guest again when returning to Miami Beach.
Best wishes from The Angler’s Miami South Beach, A Kimpton Hotel
Jacqueline Ploettner, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,879)
There are newer reviews for Kimpton Angler's Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

537 - 543 of 1,879 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2014

We chose the Anglers due to its positive reviews. However, we were a little disappointed. We had a two floor suite where we found each level to be smaller than we had expected, the view from the windows was non existent. The sofa and carpets were stained, the TV's were not digital, but analogue (in this day and a age ?) really, but the Wifi was good.

We found the hotel to be a little dark and disjointed and the breakfasts which we paid for to be a bit hit and miss, one day good, next day poor. The local area surrounding the hotel was a bit dirty / seedy, but the hotel is close to Ocean Drive.

To be honest we didn't really like South Beach, full stop, not even the nicer bits, I expected more of the world famous SoBe, but we just didn't get it. Everything was hugely overpriced, with over loud music and tacky, the food was mediocre and waiters and waitresses in most cases only had the most basic understanding of the English language.

Maybe if we had liked South Beach more, then we may have got a better feeling for the hotel, but I was left wondering, if this is top three on Trip advisor what on earth must the other places be like ?

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Flyinggull78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqueline P, General Manager at Kimpton Angler's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Flyinggull78
Thanks for sharing your feedback from your stay with us. We are sorry to hear that we were not able to meet your expectation with regards to our design and that you disliked South Beach in general. We sincerely like to apologize for the shortfalls in our service, as well. However, we truly hope, should your travels will bring you back to South Florida, to welcome you back as our guest again.
Best wishes from The Angler’s Miami South Beach, A Kimpton Hotel
Jacqueline Ploettner, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We were originally planning to spend 3 nights at the Anglers but loved it so much that we extended our stay by another 2 nights. Marven and the team could not have done more for us. The breakfast choice was excellent. The portions were huge by UK standards!
Our studio room had a great kingsize bed, sofa and all amenities we needed. The hotel, despite being on Washington Avenue, is quiet as it is set back from the street.
We enjoyed borrowing the bikes (at no cost) and exploring Mid Beach and North Beach. We were always back by 5 o'clock for 'wine o'clock' where the hotel offers free wine between 17:00-18:00. It is an informal opportunity to meet up with the staff and other hotel guests.
We've had the pleasure of staying at 3 different hotels all of which are high standard over the last couple of years in Miami. The Anglers would without doubt be our 1st choice for our next trip.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Adellie7172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqueline P, General Manager at Kimpton Angler's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Adellie7172
Wow – thanks so much for haring such wonderful comments. We are thrilled to hear that you were so impressed by our service, hotel amenities and ambience, that you even extended your stay. We are glad you enjoyed all the extra perks, such as our bikes, morning coffee and our evening wine hour – no better way to finish a perfect vacation day and to start a relaxing evening.
We hope your next vacation is coming up soon and we are looking forward to your next stay with us.
Best wishes from The Angler’s Miami South Beach, A Kimpton Hotel
Jacqueline Ploettner, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Thank you Jennifer for booking my room(501). I asked for a clean, quiet room and that is exactly what I got. Housekeeping was excellent too! Thanks for a very enjoyable stay, I will surely recommend it and I would definitely return.
Thanks again!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ljbrd33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqueline P, General Manager at Kimpton Angler's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Ljbrd33
Thanks for sharing your great comments with us. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and that our staff was welcoming, attentive and friendly.
We hope you will be selecting our hotel again when visiting Miami in the future.
Best wishes from The Angler’s Miami South Beach, A Kimpton Hotel
Jacqueline Ploettner, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

OK I agree with others that brading this as a resort (botique resort is the branding) maybee this is not up to Kimpton standards but sure up to mine. Enjoyed a very good 5 nights here in february/march 2014 and found peace and just what we wanted. We wanted to walk and bike areound, it is 5 minutes walk to most South Beach activities. We enjoyed good service, borrowed bicycles and even this was spring break weekend the evenings were quiet and peacefull. The restaurant is good and enjoyed one evening at the hotel - just fun to walk the area, find restaurants and enjoy. And when you are tired, a quiet place to rest. Good sized rooms etc. (I was wondering why the marble floors looked weared - a guide told us they are actually corals from when build in 1930's.
My wife will accept an invitation to go again any time!

Room Tip: Try to get a private veranda on 2nd floor
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henrik_BA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqueline P, General Manager at Kimpton Angler's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Henrik_BA
Thanks for sharing your feedback from your recent stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed our perfect location, in the heart of South Beach - close to all the night life, shops and restaurants, but appreciated the good night’s rest our sanctuary setting and guest rooms provide.
We would love to have you and your wife as our guests again and looking forward to your next stay with us,
Best wishes from The Angler’s Miami South Beach, A Kimpton Hotel
Jacqueline Ploettner, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I wish took some photos of our room (standard king, with poolside balconies), as their website doesn't have much in the way of photos. Our room had two small balconies facing the pool. The bed was very comfortable, and the room was quiet. The bathroom was clean and stocked with all of the usual amenities, plus plush bathrobes. My husband and I enjoyed an lovely diner on the patio. The staff was friendly and very helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool are quieter.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqueline P, General Manager at Kimpton Angler's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Julia H
Thanks for your lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed all about your vacation, from our spacious and comfy rooms with charming balconies to our great food and beverage offerings, especially our weekend brunch at 660 Restaurant.
We are looking forward to your next stay with us. Please return soon.
Best wishes from The Angler’s Miami South Beach, A Kimpton Hotel
Jacqueline Ploettner, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

First, the positives: we were so happy with the responsiveness of the staff, especially Jessica (the concierge) when an emergency at home caused us to cut short our trip. I can’t say enough about how helpful she was. Also, we loved the room that we had, one of the two story “solarium” rooms. The layout was great with a separate living and sleeping area. In addition, the hotel is located on Washington street, and is about two streets away from the most active part of South Beach. This means that you’re not in the middle of the crowds, but close enough that you can be part of that within minutes.

Now, the not so good: By being on Washington Street, you’re in the middle of an area that is – good or bad – not tourist-driven. Sure, there are a few shops and restaurants, but the area immediately surrounding the hotel was less resort-like than we had hoped for. We also thought that the entry area of the hotel was dark, and in the nights that we were there, we saw very few other guests. We understand that it has only recently become part of the Kimpton Hotel group (the reason we chose this hotel was for its affiliation with Kimpton), but it does not measure up to other Kimpton properties that we have stayed in, with respect to its common areas. Also, on the second night of our stay, despite being in a room that appeared to be quiet, we were awoken at 2AM by noises of a party nearby. After trying unsuccessfully to ignore the noise and get back to sleep, we called the front desk at 3:30AM and they were helpful in having the noise stopped. But, for the quality of hotel this was, this noise level was unacceptable to us. And, needless to say, it was a very unrestful night for us.

Room Tip: The solarium room on has lots of space, and windows on four sides. This means that you have enough s...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hal T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqueline P, General Manager at Kimpton Angler's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

thisishal
Thanks for sharing your candid feedback with us. We appreciate your kind words about our attentive and friendly staff, especially Jessica, who created lasting memories.
However, we are saddened to see that you were disturbed my neighboring guests, and therefore we sincerely like to apologize.
We are disappointed that we were not able to meet your "Kimpton expectations”. We recently converted The Angler’s in to a Kimpton hotel and being in the process of updating our product.
We hope you will be our guest again.
Best wishes from The Angler’s Miami South Beach, A Kimpton Hotel
Jacqueline Ploettner, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#17 of 210 in Miami Beach
2,591 reviews
Marriott Stanton South Beach
#24 of 210 in Miami Beach
2,417 reviews
Urbanica The Meridian Hotel
#1 of 210 in Miami Beach
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#12 of 210 in Miami Beach
1,918 reviews
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
#43 of 210 in Miami Beach
3,483 reviews
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#4 of 210 in Miami Beach
1,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Angler's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Angler's Hotel

Address: 660 Washington Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6208 (Formerly The Angler's Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: £144 - £427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Angler's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled deep just off Washington Avenue one would not expect to find a unique collection of accommodations and lushly landscaped atmosphere that promises to instill a sense of relaxation the moment you enter. Privacy by design, on rooftop terraces, private gardens and private Jacuzzis. The pool is a perfect retreat to bask in by sun or moon. Unlike most hotels, at Kimpton Angler's you will instantly feel as though you are in a friends home, with furnishings, fixtures and services that meet even the most discriminating traveler. Stay a night, a week or longer. This is your new home away from home. Four legged friends are welcome too. Choose your suite for the perfect retreat for family, friends, honeymoon, girlfriend's getaway, business trip, long holiday, special occasion or just a break from the ordinary. This is a charming and lovely taste of the tropics, as never before seen in South Beach. With a subtle mix of international flavor and style clientele from all parts of the globe, all will convene and feel welcome. At once the hotel is discreet while managing to be the center of the attention all at the same time. Energies flow amongst tower suites, garden lounge, and intimate communal pool where relaxing or growing your circle of friends is the order of the day. With a unique approach melding fine island living with historic charm and elegance, we invite you to come be a part of Kimpton Angler's. Step into an era of simple yet stylish beauty and sophistication. Spacious Studios and Duplex Suites offer a new level of hospitality that you are sure to enjoy. Set in the heart of the historic art deco district, travelers are invited to take their place in public or in private. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Kimpton Angler's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Angler`s Boutique Hotel Miami Beach
The Anglers Boutique Hotel
Kimpton Angler's Hotel Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing