We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not quite....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Angler's Hotel
Ranked #19 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not quite....”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Overall, a good experience. Room was a good size, but didn't have a desk even though there was plenty of space. Shower head pointed in wrong direction on narrow side. Check-in was a bit hectic, likely a symptom of being under-staffed. On check-out car was not ready as scheduled and had to wait another 15 min while they tracked it down. Ironing out these minor issues would make this a better place.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raincheck1129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqueline P, General Manager at Kimpton Angler's Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Jim G
Thanks for sharing your comments from your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and ensure your concerns being addressed. We are glad you enjoyed your overall stay and we are looking forward to your next visit.
Best wishes from The Angler’s Miami South Beach, A Kimpton Hotel
Jacqueline Ploettner, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,848 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,258
    429
    104
    41
    16
See reviews for
256
1,100
76
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Level Contributor
128 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in December 2013. The hotel is centrally located in Miami Beach. It’s only a 5 minutes walkt o Ocean Drive and you can easily reach all the Art Deco sights by foot, so this was fine.

But…..! Upon arrival, nobody found our booking: neither the guy responsible for the valet parking („sorry, what was your name again?“) , nor the front desk staff („sorry, what and when did you book?“). We were told that the hotel’s management changed some months before and that this might be the reason for our „lost“ booking….By the way: 2 days before arrival the hotel sent an email to remind us to our booking, so they seemed to have had it to 2 days before.

Finally, after a long search for a room (maybe almost half an hour after our arrival) by the reception staff we were given a room in the main building, they said the room to be a Studio King Suite like we booked in advance. The room had a balcony door (but no balcony) and a spacious bathroom. All in all, the room was really nice, but not like indicated on the hotel’s website and confirmed on our booking confirmation, as there was no ‚Living area with full sized sofa‘ and the room was definitely smaller than 455 sq.ft, maybe 320 sq.ft at the maximum. When we told the reception, they said that we are right, but that they are not responsible for the mistakes on their website…..:-).....funny! They offered two other rooms to us –no difference, so we stayed in the first one. We got the valet parking and a bottle of wine for free as a compensation for the missing room amenities which we found to be fine.
Some oft the male service staff was too importunate, asking us when leaving for the evening where we plan to go, in the morning if we had been to any party and so on etc….and it was definitely not just the professional way of asking like for a small talk for guest convenience.
Upon departure, our bill was incorrect as they wanted to charge a higher room price than we were confirmed on our booking confirmation. Again a lot of discussion with the front desk, having to tell them again and again (we already did when arriving) that we already paid a deposit, that our guaranteed room price was different to what they wanted to charge us and so on. How lucky we were to have our printed booking confirmation and our credit card invoice with us to proof the room price we were confirmed and the deposit we already paid! Lot of time again until we could pay the correct amount, and an additional at least 20 minutes afterwards just standing there and waiting until the valet parking managed to bring our car.

After all: the website still indicates the same mistakes, so do not expect to get all that is promised and maybe confirmed when booking. Would we return? Maybe. But we would also check for another possibility to stay.

Room Tip: Do not rely on the website's room description concerning the rooms' size and amenenties
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelSiMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqueline P, General Manager at Kimpton Angler's Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
TravelSiMa
Thanks for taking the time and sharing such detailed feedback from your stay. We are truly sorry to hear about the inconvenience you experienced upon your arrival and departure. Please accept our sincerest apologies once again for not being able to retrieve your booking information and for the incorrect invoice. We completely understand your frustartion but we are glad we were able to rectify the issues and that you had an overall enjoyable stay. We hope you will be giving us another chance and returning to our hotel in the future.
Best wishes from The Angler’s Miami South Beach, A Kimpton Hotel
Jacqueline Ploettner, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterdown, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Stayed here back in March and have just got round to writing this review. We were traveling for my 50th Birthday and I have to say, The Anglers was the best! They pulled out al the stops to make sure we had a memorable stay. The rooms are comfortable and well equipped with spacious bathrooms.

For us, during Spring Break, the location was perfect. Far enough back from the beach to limit most of the noise, but close enough that you are a part of the party if that's what you are looking for.

We made use of the slightly warm and slightly small pool, but as we were the only customers most of the time, we had the pool to ourselves mostly. Wonderful breakfasts and how can you go wrong with free wine in the evening?

We will certainly be back with Kimpton Hotels.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emmpeez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqueline P, General Manager at Kimpton Angler's Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Emmpeez
Thanks so much for finding the time and writing this amazing review. We are thrilled to hear that you had a fabulous 50th birthdays and that our team did everything possible to create lasting memories.
We are looking forward to your next visit. Please return soon.
Best wishes from The Angler’s Miami South Beach, A Kimpton Hotel
Jacqueline Ploettner, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The hotel was a typical boutique hotel, nice decor.
The location is good close enough to the beach but not on main drag.
We were disappointed after booking way ahead the previous year to found the room allocated was next to the lift,which can be heard in the bedroom as it moves, bleeping at different floors.
Some nice touches bikes available to use, water to drink by the pool.
Used the bar on two different occasions and overcharged TWICE.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms next to lift, you can clearly hear the lift moving and it also makes a bleep sound.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alfeebaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqueline P, General Manager at Kimpton Angler's Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Alfeebaby
Thanks for sharing your feedback from your recent stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed our hotel, cozy ambience and attentive service. However, I am saddened to read your comments about the bar charges. I am certain we rectified the issue already, but if not, please contact me directly and I will ensure it will be handled immediately.
We truly hope you will be selecting us again, when your travels will bring you back to Miami.
Best wishes from The Angler’s Miami South Beach, A Kimpton Hotel
Jacqueline Ploettner, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The Anglers is an incredible boutique hotel with the sweetest staff and a great vibe!
Only a short two blocks from the beautiful beach, we stayed in a two floor suite that was perfect for 5 energetic girls- two bathrooms is key!
Close enough to the noise and action but far enough to be able relax in a quiet atmosphere, The Anglers is a South Beach gem.
Special thanks to the manager, Stephanie for making our bachelorette weekend so enjoyable! Can't wait to go back..

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brittany H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqueline P, General Manager at Kimpton Angler's Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Brittany J
Thanks for your great comments. We are glad that Stephanie made your bachelorette weekend unforgettable and fun. We hope your next trip will bring you back to our hotel. We would love to have you back as our guest.
Best wishes from The Angler’s Miami South Beach, A Kimpton Hotel
Jacqueline Ploettner, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
147 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

small but had all it needs
big bathroom ( large walk in shower no bath)
pool small and almost too warm but just the size for small place and nice cool drinks free
restaurant and bar
excellent friendly attentive service
if u can afford it then go for it
ah yes, their espresso, was not good but only fault to be had

Room Tip: corner room at front is well insulated and has nice street view and great airy windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashtori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqueline P, General Manager at Kimpton Angler's Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Ashtori
Thanks for your detail review. We are very happy that you had a very relaxing and enjoyable vacation. We are glad you felt comfy in our spacious studios and enjoyed all other perks we offer our guests, such as our complimentary coffee and tea service each morning and our hosted evening wine hour. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best wishes from The Angler’s Miami South Beach, A Kimpton Hotel
Jacqueline Ploettner, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park City, UT
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

When I think of South Beach, relaxation is not a word that comes to mind. There is the life, noise and even chaos that goes with Ocean Drive. There is the ever present intolerable traffic throughout South Beach. There is the world-class shopping dining, clubbing and beach. Wouldn't it be nice to find a luxury hotel, close to the action, that offers a nice quiet night's sleep? Well, there is. It is The Angler's Miami Beach. Only two blocks off the beach, this little gem is a welcome addition to this bustling neighborhood.The rooms offer 1st rate amenities, including comfortable beds, spacious showers, mini-bar and private roof-top decks. The pool, while very small, is more like a private pool in one's home, than a pool that one would find at a hotel.
The staff is friendly and offers personal service. This becomes apparent immediately upon checking in (valet parking) to restaurant and shopping recommendations to health care recommendations.
This is the perfect hotel for a South Beach family vacation, as accommodations vary from a single room, to a one bedroom loft, to a two bedroom apartment. While The Angler's does not offer the luxury of the Continuum, or the glitz of the Delano, it is perfect for those who want to actually sleep at night, and relax a bit during the day.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Schindlerpiste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqueline P, General Manager at Kimpton Angler's Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Schindlerpiste
Thanks for your amazing feedback. We are thrilled to hear that you found your little oasis in South Beach – our hotel. And you are absolutely right – our location is perfect to explore sizzling South Beach, but our sanctuary setting offers great relaxation and a good night’s rest. We are happy you enjoyed your vacation to the fullest and we can’t wait having you back as our guest.
Best wishes from The Angler’s Miami South Beach, A Kimpton Hotel
Jacqueline Ploettner, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#22 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,701 reviews
The Confidante
#34 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,751 reviews
City Center
The Plymouth
The Plymouth
#2 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#3 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,339 reviews
Urbanica The Meridian Hotel
#1 of 207 in Miami Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
The Hotel of South Beach
#21 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Angler's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Angler's Hotel

Property: Kimpton Angler's Hotel
Address: 660 Washington Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6208 (Formerly The Angler's Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Angler's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled deep just off Washington Avenue one would not expect to find a unique collection of accommodations and lushly landscaped atmosphere that promises to instill a sense of relaxation the moment you enter. Privacy by design, on rooftop terraces, private gardens and private Jacuzzis. The pool is a perfect retreat to bask in by sun or moon. Unlike most hotels, at Kimpton Angler's you will instantly feel as though you are in a friends home, with furnishings, fixtures and services that meet even the most discriminating traveler. Stay a night, a week or longer. This is your new home away from home. Four legged friends are welcome too. Choose your suite for the perfect retreat for family, friends, honeymoon, girlfriend's getaway, business trip, long holiday, special occasion or just a break from the ordinary. This is a charming and lovely taste of the tropics, as never before seen in South Beach. With a subtle mix of international flavor and style clientele from all parts of the globe, all will convene and feel welcome. At once the hotel is discreet while managing to be the center of the attention all at the same time. Energies flow amongst tower suites, garden lounge, and intimate communal pool where relaxing or growing your circle of friends is the order of the day. With a unique approach melding fine island living with historic charm and elegance, we invite you to come be a part of Kimpton Angler's. Step into an era of simple yet stylish beauty and sophistication. Spacious Studios and Duplex Suites offer a new level of hospitality that you are sure to enjoy. Set in the heart of the historic art deco district, travelers are invited to take their place in public or in private. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Angler's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Angler`s Boutique Hotel Miami Beach
The Anglers Boutique Hotel
Kimpton Angler's Hotel Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing