We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kimpton Angler's Hotel
Ranked #18 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Avoid”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

I wish I could say that the experience was a good one. This is a nicely furnished boutique hotel located off the main south beach area. We were expecting a nice stay in a jacuzzi room for a week.

Unfortunately a the booking error which downgraded us from a King Tower jacuzzi room to a small room on the second floor and the noise from the guests entering and leaving the elevator , cleaners closet next to the room and paper thin walls and guests that kept us awake the first night only to be woken by continuous (fifteen minutes until my wife called reception) of hammering in the next room or above us the next morning, followed by a busy second night that had people chatting outside the lift and as they went down the hall every twenty or thirty minutes until around 5am, and somone in the room overhead stomping around all night we did not sleep much again.

My first attempt at getting the reservation mistake corrected the first morning was met with a “prove it” attitude. They of course claimed it was not their fault. I finally did establish finally it was the hotels error. I was able to speak wit the reservations agent and look at his rate sheet for the hotel which identified the correct room without question. However instead of offering to move us up to something better immediately we got the run around and the answer that the room we had booked would not be available until Monday. Out of a weeks stay we ended up checking out after two nights appaled with the hotel and the service. There was an offer of free breakfast and fee valet parking for the inconvenience. However I declined breakfast and we still got charged for parking on checkout. What a circus, but by then I just wanted to leave and so did not argue the point yet again.

One bright point was the valet who was professional and very helpful. Frankly the stay should have been comped for all the inconvenience we encountered and the time we wasted attempting to sort out the booking issue. This is a hotel I’d avoid as there are much better options close by.

Room Tip: If you do stay here make sure you get an upper floor room away from the lift as the lower floors wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robertjniven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqueline P, General Manager at Kimpton Angler's Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Robertjniven
Thanks for sharing your feedback from your recent stay. We are disappointed to hear that we were not able to meet your expectations when you were our guests. We would like to apologize once again for the inconveniences your experienced regarding the booking error, as well as the noise from the neighboring room.
We truly wish you would be giving us another chance and returning as our guest in the near future.
Best wishes from The Angler’s Miami South Beach, A Kimpton Hotel
Jacqueline Ploettner, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,848 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,258
    429
    104
    41
    16
See reviews for
256
1,100
76
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

We just had a week at the Anglers.
It is an excellent 4 star hotel. In particular the service was outstanding. The staff were friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. We had an issue with noise from a room above us one night and were instantly offered an alternative room which turned out to be an upgrade. Now that is really good service.
Jessica on the front desk deserves commendation. She was efficient, helpful and knew her stuff - her recommendations for trips were spot on.

The hotel doesn't have great communal areas, but space is at a premium in SoBe, and the Anglers is no worse than any of the competition in this regard. The rooms are clean and neat, and well-equipped in terms of tv, iPod docking stations etc. The beds are comfortable. The location is brilliant - Washington has lots of restaurants etc, but you're a couple of blocks back from the noise and nonsense of the beachfront strip. Lincoln Mall is a 15min walk. The airport bus picks up from just over the road too.

I think some disappointed reviewers are comparing the Anglers with 4 star hotels in other places. Compare it with others in SoBe, and it's a great hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Phil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqueline P, General Manager at Kimpton Angler's Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Phil A
Thanks for your 5star rating. We appreciate your kind words regarding our hotel ambience, spacious guest rooms and attentive service. Jessica is amazing and we are happy she created lasting memories.
We hope your travels will bring you back to our hotel soon. We are looking forward to your return.
Best wishes from The Angler’s Miami South Beach, A Kimpton Hotel
Jacqueline Ploettner, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level Contributor
410 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

It is rare to find a hotel on south beach with generous size rooms. Anglers rooms are clean and comfortable with nice amenities. We really appreciated the space in the Studio King with sofa, chairs, and a desk, plus a bench across the end of the bed. All of the public spaces were nicely decorated inside and out, with fountains in the small courtyards around the buildings.

The staff was very attentive, especially Nikolas who had to handle an issue requiring a room change when we checked in. Later we had an exterior door get stuck and the housekeeper came to our aid, and when we weren't successful, immediately found the engineer to fix it. Our bartender was friendly and provided good service. The bellman/valet was welcoming helpful.

This hotel is located two blocks from the beach, only 6 blocks from south point, and 10 blocks from Lincoln Road Mall. You can walk most everywhere, but if you prefer, the South Beach Local bus stops right in front of the hotel and circulates to most anywhere you'd like to go.

The pool is small and there are not enough lounge chairs, so you have to get your space early.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank pucgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqueline P, General Manager at Kimpton Angler's Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Pucgal
Thanks for your lovely review. It makes us happy to see that you enjoyed everything about your stay, from our amazing location in South Beach to our spacious guest rooms with great amenities. Next time you visit, just get one of our beach cruiser bikes which we offer complimentary to our guests. We also provide yummie picnic baskets – grab one for a perfect break near the beach.
We hope to welcome you as our guest again. Please return soon.
Best wishes from The Angler’s Miami South Beach, A Kimpton Hotel
Jacqueline Ploettner, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elkins Park, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Good location very helpful staff very nice rooms. We liked the intimate feel of the hotel from the valet to the concierge. The concierge Jessica was very knowledgeable about the area and helped with restaurant reservations and ideas for things to do.
Looking forward to our return trip there!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sherrie81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqueline P, General Manager at Kimpton Angler's Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Sherrie81
Thanks for your lovely feedback. We are glad you had a perfect stay and Jessica was very helpful recommending her favorite local spots in Miami.
We are looking forward to your next stay with us. Please return soon.
Best wishes from The Angler’s Miami South Beach, A Kimpton Hotel
Jacqueline Ploettner, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almere, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
324 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 487 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We carefully selected the Anglers Miami South Beach as the crown at the end of our three weeks Florida roundtrip. Our first impression of the hotel was great. The central location in Miami South Beach is top notch. When you arrive at Washington Avenue 660, the front of the hotel with its palm trees and striped patios is fantastic. Check-in was quick and when we walked through the beautiful lobby we were happy with our choice. The pool is centrally located at the courtyard of the hotel. Although it looked small, it is perfectly maintained. Our duplex suite had a separate entrance and pool view. The living area was on the main floor and the bedroom was on the firs floor, connected by a spiral staircase. The room was spotless and there was room enough for the four of us. The staff brought us cold milk with american cookies, which was much appreciated. We were looking forward to our three days stay in Miami Beach at the Anglers. At 17:00 we enjoyed complementary wine at the bar/lobby during the Kimpton happy hour. We were greeted friendly by John and other staff members and felt really comfortable. But when the days passed, our good feeling slowly became less. The pool itself and the pool area is obviously too small for the number of guests. Besides that, although you have the impression that you book a boutique hotel where you can relax without the hustle of a large resort, there were playing children in the pool every day. This was not the 'sanctuary retreat' which the Anglers call themselves. Most of the time the eight sun beds were occupied and some people had to use the wooden benches. Then the courtyard was really crowded. Because our room had a window overlooking the pool, other people were looking inside all the time. When we closed the blinds, the room had a dark feeling, because there were not many other windows. House keeping was fine, but most of the time late in the afternoon and not friendly when we stayed on our room during cleaning. These are minor issues and I intended to rate four stars instead of five because of them, but we had a surprise with the valet parking. After we checked out, our rental car was brought in front of the hotel. When we opened the trunk to put our suitcases in, I noticed that the back seat was folded in. Also there were some plastic signs lying in our car and a few cigarette-ends. Then we realized that our rental car was used!!! This is unacceptable. When you trust your car to the valet service of a hotel, in this case a Kimpton hotel!, you don't expect that it will be used by other people. The valet staff immediately started to clean the car, but I went inside and made a big complaint at the front desk. When you use valet, you hand over your car and expect that the hotel takes good care of it. Now, our rental was used and I was really angry. You never know what happened with it. The Anglers returned the valet fee of our stay, which I appreciated, but I left the hotel with a bad feeling. Together with the minor issues which I mentioned before, I rate only three stars. The Anglers did not meet our expectations! It is not a Kimpton yet and they should improve.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tRAVellerOfTheW0rld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqueline P, General Manager at Kimpton Angler's Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
tRAVellerOfTheW0rld
Thanks for taking the time and sharing your detailed feedback with us. We are sadden to hear that your stay was not to your complete satisfaction, and the service provided by housekeeping and valet service not to our standard. Receiving your car in a different condition than dropped off is completely unacceptable and therefore we sincerely like to apologize.
We truly hope that this incident does not keep you from returning. We would love to have you back as our guest to provide you with the service and ambience we are known for and deserve as our guest and loyal Kimpton fan.
Best wishes from The Angler’s Miami South Beach, A Kimpton Hotel
Jacqueline Ploettner, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flitwick
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We stayed at The Anglers at the end of a three week tour around Florida and from the moment we arrived to check in we loved the hotel. This boutique hotel exceeded our expectations and we wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. Every member of staff (from the front desk to the waiters to the guys doing the valet parking) provided excellent service and made us feel so welcome. The location of the Hotel is excellent, just a 5 minute walk to restaurants and the beach and 10 mins in a taxi to Lincoln Rd Mall for more restaurants and shopping. We loved the drinks and games in the lobby from 6-7pm, a really nice touch that you wouldn't get in one of the large hotels. On our last day we had breakfast at the hotel and it was nicer than anywhere else we'd tried, wish we'd had dinner there too. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in a family room with 2 double beds overlooking the pool which was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jdewdrop63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqueline P, General Manager at Kimpton Angler's Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
jdewdrop63
Thanks for posting such a fabulous review. We are thrilled to hear that we exceeded your expectations from the time you arrived. Thanks for mingling with us during our wine hour, a fun perk we offer to all our guests very evening. Also, our restaurant is a perfect spot for a romantic dinner, lively weekend brunch or just to start your day with a delicious breakfast.
We are looking forward to your next stay.
Best wishes from The Angler’s Miami South Beach, A Kimpton Hotel
Jacqueline Ploettner, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

From the moment we walked into the Angler we were treated like royalty. The staff really went out of their way to make us feel at home. The one thing that I really enjoyed about the hotel was that the staff really went above and beyond to make sure that you were happy. Also, I really liked the intimate feel of the hotel. It was warm and it didn't have that big hotel feel. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants the royal treatment and wants a beautiful stay in a great location. We are definitely returning to this hotel when we come back.
Thanks to all the staff who went out their way for us!
Marc, Marvin, Brian and all the staff at the restaurant.
Looking forward to our return!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank medaric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqueline P, General Manager at Kimpton Angler's Hotel, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
medaric
Thanks for your wonderful review. It makes us happy that you had a fabulous stay and that our entire team, especially Marc, Marven and Brian made lasting impressions with their attentive and friendly service.
We are looking forward to welcoming you as our guest in the future. Please return soon.
Best wishes from The Angler’s Miami South Beach, A Kimpton Hotel
Jacqueline Ploettner, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#23 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,706 reviews
The Confidante
#34 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,759 reviews
City Center
The Plymouth
The Plymouth
#2 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#4 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,339 reviews
Urbanica The Meridian Hotel
#1 of 207 in Miami Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
The Hotel of South Beach
#21 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Angler's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Angler's Hotel

Property: Kimpton Angler's Hotel
Address: 660 Washington Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6208 (Formerly The Angler's Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Angler's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled deep just off Washington Avenue one would not expect to find a unique collection of accommodations and lushly landscaped atmosphere that promises to instill a sense of relaxation the moment you enter. Privacy by design, on rooftop terraces, private gardens and private Jacuzzis. The pool is a perfect retreat to bask in by sun or moon. Unlike most hotels, at Kimpton Angler's you will instantly feel as though you are in a friends home, with furnishings, fixtures and services that meet even the most discriminating traveler. Stay a night, a week or longer. This is your new home away from home. Four legged friends are welcome too. Choose your suite for the perfect retreat for family, friends, honeymoon, girlfriend's getaway, business trip, long holiday, special occasion or just a break from the ordinary. This is a charming and lovely taste of the tropics, as never before seen in South Beach. With a subtle mix of international flavor and style clientele from all parts of the globe, all will convene and feel welcome. At once the hotel is discreet while managing to be the center of the attention all at the same time. Energies flow amongst tower suites, garden lounge, and intimate communal pool where relaxing or growing your circle of friends is the order of the day. With a unique approach melding fine island living with historic charm and elegance, we invite you to come be a part of Kimpton Angler's. Step into an era of simple yet stylish beauty and sophistication. Spacious Studios and Duplex Suites offer a new level of hospitality that you are sure to enjoy. Set in the heart of the historic art deco district, travelers are invited to take their place in public or in private. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Angler's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Angler`s Boutique Hotel Miami Beach
The Anglers Boutique Hotel
Kimpton Angler's Hotel Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing