We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kimpton Angler's Hotel
Ranked #34 of 214 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 22 March 2009

We stayed at The Angler's for 5 nights and had a really great stay. We chose it because it was rated so high on tripadvisor.com and we didn't regret it.
The location of the hotel is excellent, right in the middle of everything, yet a bit out of all the noise of Miami beach. All the cool places on Ocean Drive and the shopping district on Collins Ave are just about two minutes walking distance.
The service in the hotel is excellent, the staff is very kind and professional. It's quite a small hotel so they can really pamper their customers. I'll just give you a couple of examples- while we were waiting for a taxi the receptionist brought us each a bottle of cold water just in case we were thirsty, and if you are going to the beach they provide you a complimentary bag with two towels and two bottles of water which is really nice. The rooms are very nice, we stayed in a standard room. It is modern, with all the technologies you need, you can rent Playstation and Wii and even iPods filled with songs. The mini bar is excellent, and they have some extra packages with all kind of different things (cosmetics, things for relaxation etc) in the offer. The only thing about the room is that the closet is small.
The pool is small but nice , so if you are looking for a hotel with a great pool scene then this is not a hotel for you. It's a perfect city hotel.
They don't have parking spaces, but they do have a valet parking and take your car to a parking garage (I presume) and the fee is 19 $ over night.
We only had one complaint and we did think about rating it 4* but since it was so nice we decide to overlook this. We came to the hotel in the evening after a long day and we didn't have hot or even warm water so I had to take a shower in cold water , and in the morning the problem was still there. They did apologize and solved it during the day , said that they were full, but any respectable hotel cannot have water problems because that is a big minus. But they did manage to charm us with everything else so we recommend it to everyone and I hope that it will not happen again.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheHousens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,904)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,404 - 1,410 of 1,904 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2009

Chose the Angler's based on its #1 popularity ranking on trip advisor and so glad I did! I wanted a nice hotel room in South Beach but didn't want to pay an exorbitant amount. Got a room on the Angler's website for $250/night which I thought was very reasonable.

Arrived at the hotel a little before the check-in time and the room wasn't ready. Since we had not eaten they suggested that we get something to eat at their restaurant and offered a free appetizer with lunch.

They gave us a room on the top (5th) floor - being the only room on that floor it was nice and private. I'm usually disappointed when I first walk into a hotel room because they never look as nice as the photos. But not this time - I was pleasantly surprised! The room was very spacious and modern. It had two flatscreen TVs and an iPod docking station (which didn't work but at least the staff came up right away and made an effort to fix it). Comfy bed and bedding. Nice bathroom with very plush bathrobes and Aveda products. Had a view of the vacant parking lot but it didn't really bother us because everything else pretty much made up for it. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Upon learning that we were going out for a run they handed us bottles of water.

The location is convenient. We walked to everything for the most part. There's a CVS right next to the hotel which was great. No, it doesn't have direct access to the beach but who cares? In my opinion having to walk a couple of blocks sure beats paying an extra couple of hundred bucks for a room (and most likely not as nice!) on Collins Ave.

The only negative was that our stay at the Angler's was so short!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RLBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2009

We decided to stay at The Angler's based on prior reviews on tripadvisor and we were not disappointed. The room was very nice. The staff was very accomodating and the location is perfect. Although we only had breakfast in the restaurant it was a nice meal. I would hightly recommend this hotel based on the location, price and staff.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrFloridaXRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2009

This is a great boutique hotel. The greatest feature of this hotel is the room - one of the best rooms and I have been to many a boutique hotel! The room was the perfect size and very comfortable for two people. I love Aveda products so I was happy to find that this hotel uses Aveda. The second greatest point about this hotel is the location. It is in walking distance to the shops, to Lincoln road, to Espanola Way (be sure to check out Tapas & Tintos for some great wine and tapas), and to the beach!
I was also delighted that this hotel was far away from the crowds that March break brought to Miami. We are a thirty-something professional couple that wanted to get away from winter and were glad to stay in a hotel that had a similar profile guest.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jetsetta19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2009

I loved every part of my stay at the Angler's. To our pleasant surprise we were upgraded to an amazing 3 level pool side suite! It was such a relaxing experience, we felt truly spoiled, and will never forget our experience there. It is the ideal spot for a quiet, tranquil, and romantic getaway. It is far enough away from the craziness that is the rest of Sobe, that you can feel rested!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MontyOakville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2009

We stayed at the Angler's for one night as a getaway while a relative watched our babies. The hotel earns top marks on TripAdvisor, so we felt confident that it would deliver. The location is fantastic... just 2 blocks from prime South Beach. Close enough to get wherever you need to go, but not right in the middle of the madness. Others have complained about club noise, but we were there on a weeknight and the clubs were quiet. We stayed in one of the tower duplex rooms, which are very interesting. Comfortable and clean, but the views from the living room are onto the adjacent building next door, which is only 8 feet or so away. The upper floor, with the bedroom, had great views out over the rooftops and felt much more private. The "roof deck" is just a door way onto a bare rooftop... it really puzzled us as to why they haven't done anything with this; you can't really call it an amenity.

Our only complaint was with the service/staff. We arrived at the hotel at 1:30pm, knowing that check in was at 3pm. The front desk staff told us that they would call us when our room was ready, before 3pm. We lounged by the pool and waited. And waited. And waited. Finally, at 3:30, we went back to the front desk and were told that the room was "almost ready" and that they would call us. More waiting. Finally, at 4pm, we went back. The staff, who were pretty unfriendly, said the room wasn't ready. I reminded them that we were told the room would be ready by 3 and was met with a blank stare: "Your room will be ready soon". No apology, nothing. Well, our room was finally ready at about 4:15 and there were no apologies.

Staff gets a zero. Hotel gets a 4. I'd probably give the Angler's another shot, but with so many hotels in South Beach, why take the chance.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brooklyncouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2009

My partner booked us 3 nights at the Angler's, at the end of a cruise to the Bahamas. He chose it purely from reviews on Trip Advisor, and they weren't wrong!

Throughout our stay the staff were attentive; friendly and very helpful. As we were celebrating my birthday, it was a lovely touch to find balloons; a cake and even a birthday card signed by the staff when we arrived!!

The room was beautifully decorated; bathrobes and towels were wonderfully fluffy and I didn't want to get out of the bed, that linen was divine!!

This is a very well placed hotel, a real find and I hope to return very, very soon.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kimlet65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
The Plymouth
The Plymouth
#6 of 214 in Miami Beach
412 reviews
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
#49 of 214 in Miami Beach
3,584 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#32 of 214 in Miami Beach
2,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#18 of 214 in Miami Beach
1,998 reviews
Urbanica The Meridian Hotel
#1 of 214 in Miami Beach
611 reviews
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#5 of 214 in Miami Beach
1,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Angler's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Angler's Hotel

Address: 660 Washington Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6208 (Formerly The Angler's Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#22 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: £157 - £544 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Angler's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled deep just off Washington Avenue one would not expect to find a unique collection of accommodations and lushly landscaped atmosphere that promises to instill a sense of relaxation the moment you enter. Privacy by design, on rooftop terraces, private gardens and private Jacuzzis. The pool is a perfect retreat to bask in by sun or moon. Unlike most hotels, at Kimpton Angler's you will instantly feel as though you are in a friends home, with furnishings, fixtures and services that meet even the most discriminating traveler. Stay a night, a week or longer. This is your new home away from home. Four legged friends are welcome too. Choose your suite for the perfect retreat for family, friends, honeymoon, girlfriend's getaway, business trip, long holiday, special occasion or just a break from the ordinary. This is a charming and lovely taste of the tropics, as never before seen in South Beach. With a subtle mix of international flavor and style clientele from all parts of the globe, all will convene and feel welcome. At once the hotel is discreet while managing to be the center of the attention all at the same time. Energies flow amongst tower suites, garden lounge, and intimate communal pool where relaxing or growing your circle of friends is the order of the day. With a unique approach melding fine island living with historic charm and elegance, we invite you to come be a part of Kimpton Angler's. Step into an era of simple yet stylish beauty and sophistication. Spacious Studios and Duplex Suites offer a new level of hospitality that you are sure to enjoy. Set in the heart of the historic art deco district, travelers are invited to take their place in public or in private. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, IHG, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Kimpton Angler's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Angler`s Boutique Hotel Miami Beach
The Anglers Boutique Hotel
Kimpton Angler's Hotel Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing