We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kimpton Angler's Hotel
Ranked #20 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Philadelphia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Stylish hotel in a great location”
Reviewed 10 October 2010

We stayed here on a beach retreat after getting married in the Northeast. Very pleasant experience all-around. The hotel had an upscale feel even though it is a smaller establishment. The rooms were very spacious and had a cool modern feel (flatscreens, sound system, decorations). And the location was great, just blocks from the beach. The staff was very nice as well - very friendly in helping with bags, and proactively making sure we had extra towels and cold bottles of water just before we left for the beach.

I usually like to list positives and negatives in my hotel reviews, but I really don't have any negatives to share. We had a great experience here.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jokerbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,866 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,266
    436
    105
    43
    16
See reviews for
257
1,106
81
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2010

After much searching we finally decided to stay at this hotel for a relaxing few days following our 1st cruise. We requested upgraded rooms as one of our party was celebrating a special birthday. The hotel was very accomodating with our request and we were allocated a 1 room apartment on the ground floor by the pool and a duplex apartment with roof terrace also by the pool. All of the management and staff were very friendly and helpful and I would have no hesitation in staying here again or indeed recommending this hotel either for a few days before or after a cruise or as a base for a longer vacation. The location is excellent only 2 blocks from South Beach and within walking of Lincoln Road Mall. I would not recommend a sight seeing tour of Miami but I would definitely recommend a tour of Star Island, however do not use the company offered by the hotel as they were not the best and a bit unreliable especially on timings. One of the bar staff, Brandon, was an excellent worker and very sociable, also the bar manager was very friendly. If you are not sure where to stay this is the place for you, only15 mins to Miami Airport

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkland, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2010

Where should I start?
I spent some time researching for a hotel in South Beach as I was very skeptic reading the great reviews on Trip Advisor. I am very familiar with South Beach service or lack thereof and Boy was I wrong. This was one of the best experiences we ever had with any hotel starting with the room and continuing with the service. When we got there the bell boy took us directly to the room which was upgraded to a duplex and was decorated for my birthday (we did not have to go through the front desk check in). The following day we were handed a beach bag with two towels and two bottles of water after we mentioned that we are going to the beach. When we got back home I realized that we forgot something at the room. I called the hotel right away and was told that the item was found and will be shipped to me at no charge. I can not come up with any complains what so ever. Generally speaking we are very picky and critical since we usually stay at 5 star hotels. I can’t find one thing that was less than perfect. If you are looking for a large Ritz the Angler is not for you. However, if you like a boutique like hotel with the best personal service, do you a favor and stay at the Angler.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ALRDT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2010

We stayed at this hotel actually back in Aug/sept 2008. It was absolutely boiling.
The hotel is in a great location just a block back from South Beach and aa ten minute walk to the main shopping centre. Food wise you are 5 mins from the Spanish Quarter and if you turn right out of the hotel and keep walking for ten mins there is a great grill bar, China Grill and other fab restaurants!
I booked the hotel through Expedia, and was delighted, great air conditioned room, attentive staff, when we went to the beach the next day we didn't even tell then we were going when they presented us with a bag each with towels and a bottle of water for the beach! Nice touch! I would definitely stay here again!

If you want a hotel that is in a good location and are not fussed about a pool, fitness centre etc and just need a base, then this is an excellent place to stay

There is so much to do in Miami, i didn't spend enough time there and will definitely be going back!

Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AndreaProctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2010

This is a classy hotel. The reviews are justified. The location is very good - one block from Collins, 2 from the Beach. And therefore a thankful distance from riot of Ocean Drive. It's an easy cab ride to the airport and the malls too.
The décor is soothing and there's alot of attention paid to the details in the rooms (Aveda toiletries, great bed, huge TV and loads of space). Although it's amusing to note that someone else commented on the jute/seagrass rugs - while very nice to look at, they are indeed hard on your bare feet. Equally the towels; not only could have done with more but also somewhere to hang them that wasn't in the shower vestibule. The only element that annoyed outright was the freezing (obv), hurricane force air-con. Just had to turn it off in the end.
Other than the room - there is a cute pool available to guests, although it's small and doesn't get too much sun due it's positioning. No gym or anything like that - but that's not the hotel's vibe. The breakfast on offer was also pretty satisfying; simple and healthy. Overall we had really pleasant stay. The staff are probably the selling point; very attentive but at the same time perfectly calm and diligent. The one exception was the pool attendant who rushed out during a light but brief rain shower and gathered up all the sunlougner cushions and bundled all the towels away, despite several people being in and around the water. Minor niggle though. Would return, would recommend.

Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AnotherUnitedKingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anglers660, General Manager at Kimpton Angler's Hotel, responded to this review, 28 September 2010
Hello AnotherUnitedKingdom -
Thank you for your feedback and detailed review. We are happy that you appreciated our staff - thank you very much for your kind words.
I am sorry that the pool attendant was a little over zealous. As you saw during your visit - the weather here can be a bit unpredictable and can go from rainy to sunny in a matter of minutes and vice versa, and we should have done a better job checking in to see if anyone needed extra towels and loungers. Also regarding the air conditioning - an interesting topic as we locals can't live without it but sometimes it takes some getting used to - we regret that it became uncomfortable for you in your room. We are pleased though that you will recommend us as well as return to us yourself. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Warm regards,
Safe Travels,
Karen Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2010

Wonderful place!!! no negatives, will always stay here for visits to Miami.
Lives up to all of the great reviews

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slforsch14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anglers660, General Manager at Kimpton Angler's Hotel, responded to this review, 28 September 2010
Hello slforsch14!
Thank you for your great - short and sweet review - we are thrilled that you will
stay with us again when in Miami - hopefully soon!
Safe travels,
Warm regards,
Karen Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2010

My wife and I stayed for 4 nights (3 nights, then one night with a trip in between to Key West) at the Angler's during September and had a great experience. We booked the September special which included a free room upgrade and breakfast.

Our room was on the 3rd floor and overlooked the pool. The room was spacious, very clean and the a/v system was top notch. And at night it was very quiet. We liked it so much we requested the same room on our final night stay after returning from Key West and were delighted to see they accommodated our request.

We also had the Thursday night BBQ dinner at their restaurant. The food was delicious and very reasonably priced. They roll out a grill and cook right out in front of the restaurant. If we had more time we would have loved to try out their Miami Spice menu.

My wife and I travel quite a bit and this was the first time I've been motivated to write a review on tripadvisor. While the hotel and rooms are great, it really was the staff that set this place apart. Everyone on the staff that interacted with us was professional, friendly and genuinely interested in making sure we had a good experience. That's really hard to come by and a big motivation for this review.

If I had to suggest any areas for (very minor) improvement I might offer:
-I’m not sure there email system is working. Upon returning from our trip there was an email from the Angler’s asking if we enjoyed our trip. I tried on two separate occasions to reply but both times the email bounced.
-The area rugs in the rooms look great but are a little rough on bare feet
-The valet parking situation always seemed a bit disorganized
-More bath towels in the rooms. Would have liked 4 vs 2.

And that's all I really can come up with :)

When we are back in the Miami/South beach area we'll be staying at the Angler's Resort again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tfrisinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anglers660, General Manager at Kimpton Angler's Hotel, responded to this review, 28 September 2010
Hello tfrisinger!
Thank you for your lovely review of the Angler's and 660! We are so happy that you enjoyed your room and stay with us. And we are thrilled that you were able to sample our Front Porch Supper BBQ - thank you so much.
Since it was your first review we feel honored - and we appreciate your taking the time to mention our staff and they way they interact with our guests. It's funny that as we travel that is what we tend to remember most. You are most kind.

Your suggestions are also helpful - the rugs are a sturdy seagrass but we do offer slippers (and extra towels) for your comfort, your next visit - please just let us know and we will be happy to bring them to you. The email bounce was because the inbox was full. We apologize for the frustration, you are welcome to send anything you wish to my attention karen@theanglersresort.com and I will direct to the proper departments.

We look forward to welcoming you back and thank you again for your review.
Warm regards and safe travels,
Karen Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Urbanica The Meridian Hotel
#2 of 208 in Miami Beach
429 reviews
City Center
The Plymouth
The Plymouth
#3 of 208 in Miami Beach
271 reviews
The Confidante
#31 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#4 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,387 reviews
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#15 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,535 reviews
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
#43 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Angler's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Angler's Hotel

Property: Kimpton Angler's Hotel
Address: 660 Washington Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6208 (Formerly The Angler's Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Angler's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled deep just off Washington Avenue one would not expect to find a unique collection of accommodations and lushly landscaped atmosphere that promises to instill a sense of relaxation the moment you enter. Privacy by design, on rooftop terraces, private gardens and private Jacuzzis. The pool is a perfect retreat to bask in by sun or moon. Unlike most hotels, at Kimpton Angler's you will instantly feel as though you are in a friends home, with furnishings, fixtures and services that meet even the most discriminating traveler. Stay a night, a week or longer. This is your new home away from home. Four legged friends are welcome too. Choose your suite for the perfect retreat for family, friends, honeymoon, girlfriend's getaway, business trip, long holiday, special occasion or just a break from the ordinary. This is a charming and lovely taste of the tropics, as never before seen in South Beach. With a subtle mix of international flavor and style clientele from all parts of the globe, all will convene and feel welcome. At once the hotel is discreet while managing to be the center of the attention all at the same time. Energies flow amongst tower suites, garden lounge, and intimate communal pool where relaxing or growing your circle of friends is the order of the day. With a unique approach melding fine island living with historic charm and elegance, we invite you to come be a part of Kimpton Angler's. Step into an era of simple yet stylish beauty and sophistication. Spacious Studios and Duplex Suites offer a new level of hospitality that you are sure to enjoy. Set in the heart of the historic art deco district, travelers are invited to take their place in public or in private. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Kimpton Angler's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Angler`s Boutique Hotel Miami Beach
The Anglers Boutique Hotel
Kimpton Angler's Hotel Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing