We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet find”
Review of Hotel Croydon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Croydon
Ranked #48 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Aix-en-Provence, France
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Sweet find”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Beautiful little spot with an eye for details - fresh flowers everywhere, lemon water on tap, Ferraro-rocher chocolates - and lots of other details to find as you go about your stay (I'll let you find some on your own)
The hotel is on it's way up - it is working through some of it's procedures and amenities - the breakfast buffet could be better; the types of food offered right now don't really fit it's vibe, and when the restaurant gets going it will become a hot spot. The staff are friendly and working hard to make it a memorable stay amidst the start-up process.
With the price right now, the quality can't be beat.
One thing: if you are looking for quiet, this is probably not your place - I found my floor to be quite noisy throughout the night and early to late morning hours. Some sort of recommended quiet hours would be appreciated.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank J F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Croydon, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Good Day J F,

Here at Hotel Croydon we want to make sure that everyone is having a great time! We add a lot of nice touches to our guests stay. I am delighted to know that you appreciated them! :) Our staff all work hard to make sure that everyone is happy! We would love to have you come back!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,879 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,048
    567
    147
    57
    60
See reviews for
420
687
119
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Valparaiso, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The location of the hotel is good - just a block in from the beach. They provide special "little touches such as robes in your room, turndown service with bottles of water and chocolates, and a much above average continental breakfast. The the bar and dining area are not yet open, so you must go out for dining and entertainment. The only strong suggestions I have is speed up check-in (took over 20 minutes and we were the only ones checking in) and have all people that answer the incoming calls actually know the answers to questions asked by travelers. We received misinformation twice and it affected our enjoyment of the hotel and surrounding area. This is a newish hotel so I am sure things will get better as time goes along.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cyhurls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Croydon, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Hello there cyhurls,

We value all of our guests feedback, and thank you for sharing yours with us! We are located a bit north of all the South Beach craziness! The beach is just a convenient 1 block walk from us. I will make sure to share your feedback with the rest of our team, so that they are aware! We are a newly opened hotel, so constructive feedback is very much appreciated! We hope to have you stay with us again in the future!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with the family on a spur of the moment getaway. The rooms are amazing!!! Very clean, modern, and well designed... The staff seemed eager to please and made our stay very comfortable... Alejandro was very helpful and knowledgeable about places to go to that I didnt even know about. He definitely goes above and beyond.

Being a Miami Beach resident, I can only hope this place stays the way it is. This is exactly what the beach is needing and will attract residents in addition to the tourism which will always be here...

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Croydon, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Good Evening David G,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and providing us with your feedback! We are delighted to read you had such a great getaway here at Hotel Croydon! We offer an amazing time at an unbeatable price! Our team is definitely knowledgeable on where to go, and what's popping on what night. Please come back for another memorable time! :)

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alpharetta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for my bday weekend, and we had a very favorable experience! We always felt welcome and the staff was very attentive to out needs. The doormen had exceptional service and were always extremely polite. The two doormen, Jesus and Joel, were very friendly and assisted us a lot. We never had to carry our luggage or even open a door.

The hotel was in a good location and not far from the beach. They offered free continental breakfast, a free airport shuttle, and had an awesome rooftop view. Room service was very timely and even leave nice little treats with water on your nightstand.

I definitely recommend this hotel to anyone that vacations in Miami. They have set an excellent standard, and I can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Phyllisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Croydon, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Hello there Phyllisa P,

There is nothing that we love to read more then lovely 5 star feedback! HAPPY BELATED BIRTHDAY!! :) Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your special occasion! Our staff is always hard at work to make sure that everyone is having a splendid time! We are located just a bit north of all the South Beach action. A cab ride will get you there in 5 minutes, and costs just a few bucks. Please come back soon! :)

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We came to Miami for the Heat game and decided to spend the remainder of the weekend on South Beach. I came across this hotel on Travelocity. They were advertising a grand opening special that was too good to pass up. The rooms are gorgeous!! I was so amazed at the decorations throughout the hotel and in the rooms. The beds were very comfy. I would definitely stay here again. Valet parking is $36 a night and they have very limited spaces. The valet guy has to go up the street about four blocks to park your car and also to retrieve it. With that said, you have to call about 30 minutes or more in advance to get your car. They offer free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel as well as free shuttle service to the Miami airport. This hotel does not have a liquor license yet but their sister hotels do. The other hotels in the South Beach group offer a happy hour from 7 to 8 PM and it includes free drinks.

Room Tip: Call 30-45 minutes ahead to pick up your car from valet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cocodiva72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Croydon, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Hello there cocodiva72,

There is nothing that we love to read more then lovely 5 star feedback! Thank you for sharing it with us, and all of our future guests! I am glad that you were content with our rooms, and everything that we have to offer! We do offer valet parking and we advise guests to call for their cars 30-45 minutes prior to them needing it. We offer a great load of money saving amenities. It seems that you were able to enjoy it all. We look forward in having you stay with us again!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I stayed at the hotel for 3 nights. It was during the week and it wasn't noisy. When I was checking in, the supervisor (with a foreign accent) was very kind and did his best to find me a room with the view. The room was great; there is nothing better than waking up and seeing the ocean! The hotel has an exceptional, efficient, and friendly staff. An African-American woman with short hair, working at the front desk was super nice (unfortunately I don't remember her name).The rooms are very clean and housekeeping does a great job. Room decor is just Ok however the bathrooms are great. It is 1 min walk from the beach and about 20 blocks from South Beach. The complimentary breakfast was quite basic. A wider variety of foods and drinks could be offered. I also wished that the pool was opened earlier and closed later. The hotel charges $15 resort fee (per day) when you check-in and $100 deposit for the entire stay (later they refund your deposit ). They offer beach towels and you are provided with a beach chair when you get to the beach which is great.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wioleta D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Croydon, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Hello Wioleta D,

We are stoked to read your wonderful 5 star feedback! Thank you for sharing it with us, and all of our future guests! I am delighted to read that we had a room available with a great view. There is definitely nothing better then to wake up looking at the ocean! :) Here at Hotel Croydon we strive on providing outstanding service, so we are glad that is what you were given! We are just a block from the soft sandy beach. Just a quick cab ride away from all the South Beach action. We do charge a $15 resort fee that covers all the amenities that we offer. We also take a $100 hold for incidentals. This is released as soon as you check out, so long as nothing is damaged in the room. Please come back soon!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Very nice remodel to this hotel with a very stylish interior. Valet parking was $36 for the night. Check in was a bit long as they looked for a room for us even though we were checking in at around 7:00PM. There was a lot of back and forth between the front desk staff and a supervisor and then housekeeping regarding which room we should get and then if it was cleaned. Once we were assigned a room we were assured it was a king bed, which we booked, but unfortunately it was a queen. Regardless the bed was very comfortable. The room wasn't completely finished - walls empty, etc. but was nice and comfortable. It was very noisy all night with guests returning from partying but that's to be expected in this area of Miami. The rooftop lounge is not a bar lounge - just loungers for suntanning. Nice view though. It is a bit of a walk to the action of South Beach. Breakfast was good but I watched numerous guests trying to get eggs and yogurt as soon as they were brought out as they disappeared quickly. Dishes piled up while people ate. We decided to stay in Miami for an additional night so I asked about adding another night to our reservation but they told me I couldn't as I had booked it over the internet and not through them. When I tried to book it online the site said a minimum of 2 nights was needed so we couldn't book the extra night. It's unfortunate they lost out on another nights business for this reason. This will be a great hotel once they "iron out the kinks". Everyone was fairly friendly. I would return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jen54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Croydon, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Good Evening jen54321,

Thank you for taking your time to share your positive feedback with us, regarding your recent stay! We are a newly opened hotel with a stylish approach. We offer valet parking for $36 per night. There are other parking options around the hotel as well, but I am not sure what they charge. I apologize that there was an issue with your reservation, causing things to take a bit longer when checking in. The rooftop deck is such a lovely spot to watch the sunrise or sunset. We offer yoga up on the rooftop as well. We are located just a bit north of all the South Beach madness. A taxi ride will take you 5 minutes and a few bucks.We did have a 2 night minimum as there was a special event going on in town. We apologize that you couldn't stay with us another night! We hope that you will come back again soon!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach
The Confidante
#31 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,010 reviews
Circa 39 Hotel
#27 of 208 in Miami Beach
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#89 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,186 reviews
Chesterfield Hotel
#76 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Croydon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Croydon

Property: Hotel Croydon
Address: 3720 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33140-4080
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#34 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Croydon 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fully-renovated boutique hotel located steps away from the ocean. The 7-story luxury Hotel Croydon dazzles with 103 guest rooms including a sprawling Penthouse with ocean views, meeting room and banquet space, a gym, an outdoor pool, a spa, an on-site restaurant and bar, and a rooftop sun deck with 360 degree views of the ocean and Miami. IMPORTANT -- Credit card used for booking must be the same credit card presented for payment at check-in. The name on the credit card must match the name on the reservation and the card holder must be present along with a government-issued photo ID. Holiday and Special Events require a non-refundable prepayment 30 days prior to arrival. No early departures are allowed. Reservations are completely non-refundable within 30 days of arrival. Events include but are not limited to: New Years (12/26 to 1/3), Boat Show (2/12 to 2/16), Winter Music Conference & Ultra (3/15 to 3/31), Memorial Day (5/21 to 5/25) & Art Basel (12/3 to 12/9). A mandatory daily resort fee of $20.00 plus tax ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Croydon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Croydon Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing