We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel”
Review of Hotel Croydon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Croydon
Ranked #47 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Portalegre, Portugal
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hotel”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed there for three nights and it was awesome.... The staff always there for assist us, the rooms very clean and comfortable... The only issue was the pool that had a small problem, but was solved immediately...

Is one block form the beach and for who likes to walk 30/45 minutes from Lincoln road or ocean drive

Very good

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank JocaBaeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Croydon, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Good Afternoon JocaBaeta,

Thank you for taking your time to share your amazing feedback with us! We are glad to know that you enjoyed the hotel, and what we have to offer! We apologize that there was an issue with the pool, but stoked that it was resolved right away! We hope to have you visit us again when in Miami!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,811 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,017
    544
    140
    53
    57
See reviews for
403
660
116
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

I spent 3 nights at Hotel Croydon with a friend and only have positive things to say. It is a new hotel so everything is clean, modern and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The hotel is a short walk from the beach and the hotel provides you with beach towels as well as sunbeds on the beach! The hotel is situated in mid beach so takes around 50 minutes to walk down to South Beach, however it doesn't feel that long as the walk along the beach is pleasant. A taxi back from South Beach cost us between $10-$15. We had breakfast in the restaurant on morning which was amazing and the complimentary drinks 7-8pm was a nice bonus too! The only thing to be aware of is the shuttle. We waited over an hour for it on the way to the hotel and then booked it for 2pm to return to the airport however it didn't arrive until 2.20pm so leave plenty of time to get to the airport. Shuttle aside, an enjoyable stay in a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loulight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Croydon, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
What a lovely review, EricaK727! Thank you so much for the wonderful sentiments. I am beyond thrilled to hear that you and yours had an enjoyable time with us and that our staff, cocktail hour, pool and overall service were all positives of your visit! Thank you as well for your feedback regarding your minor complaints! I will make sure that the General Manager is aware of this. We hope to host your next visit to Miami!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Just returned from 4 days at the Croydon. We absolutely loved this hotel. VERY clean.....the rooms are nice, fresh and spotless. The entire hotels has a fresh scent to it and the ice cold lemon water that is always available in the lobby after coming in from the HOT Miami SUN is an excellent touch! The daily open bar Happy Hour is a real treat.....Customer Service was excellent, thank you Tanya from the front desk and Jesus. The pool area and rooftop is BEAUTIFUL and RELAXING!!! I will definitely recommend staying at this hotel again despite it not being in the center of SOBE. The short cab ride is well worth it to stay at this nice new hotel. Although the restaurant was not fully opened there is a 24 hour delivery place and a Carraba's right across the street.

Minor complaints;
No peep hole on the door or chain lock so you have to just open it to see who it is...
Key Cards are easily demagnetized, we went through at least 12.
The shuttle bus was dirty and had a bad smell.

Overall I would recommend this beautiful Boutique Hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 2nd floor with a view of the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EricaK727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBG_GuestRelations, Director of Sales at Hotel Croydon, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Good Evening Loulight!! There is nothing more that we love to read, then lovely 5 star feedback! We are stoked to read that you enjoyed everything that we have to offer! We are just a short walk from the beach. We provide many great amenities here at Croydon, for all of our guests to enjoy! We are delighted that you were able to dine at the hotel, and enjoy the cocktail hour! Please come back again soon! We would love to have you!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentwood, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying the Miami Beach area.....Best customer service I have ever seen in my life. Please note, I work in customer service so this compliment means a lot coming from me. The hotel is beautiful and extremely clean.

Jose, Jesus, Daniel, Joey.... You guys are all fantastic and extremely welcoming. Oh and Roberto, thank you for the welcome note in the room as well that was much appreciated.

However, very special thank you to Lawrence and Alejandro you guys made my trip 1000 better and made me laugh like no other. You two were my absolute favorite, I am going to miss you guys. Even when we requested weird things you guys made it happen hahah !!! Can't wait to come back. Hopefully sooner, then later.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Double Room with Two Double Beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mahira O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Croydon, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Good Day Mahira O,

We are delighted to read your wonderful 5 star feedback! Thank you for sharing it with us! We strive to provide a memorable time here at Hotel Croydon! I will definitely make sure to share your feedback with the mentioned team! We hope to also see you sooner then later! :)

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

This was our 1st time in Miami. We saw Hotel Croydon was having a deal and booked 8/12/14 through 8/15/14.

Upon arrival the place is nice enough. Front staff were nice and handled check-in well. When we asked them about bus passes or buses in general, they seemed clueless (strange to me).

We asked them for a room on a higher floor that is quiet. So, they threw us in 618 which is basically RIGHT IN FRONT of the elevator. That my friends is not a quiet room! I was going to complain, but my fiance told me to just wear earplugs. So yes, I didn't sleep so well the nights we stayed as I'm not going to sleep with earplugs. Not only were the guests noisy (as people tend to chat when waiting for the elevator), but the elevator was making this SCREEECHing noise when approaching our floor. I dealt with it.

On our 2nd night there, we found a roach near the mini-fridge. Mind you I am about as anal when it comes to being neat and clean, so believe you me that our room had no food or crumbs on the floor for this little guy to munch on. We took a picture AND caught it in a bag to bring down to the front desk. All they did was say 'sorry.' Not only that, but when we left that day, we came back in the evening to see our room wasn't even made up by the cleaning crew. That's all we got, a 'sorry' from the front desk. 4 star hotel? Hmmmm...

The room was tiny, but good enough. The television had very limited channels, none in HD. Wi-fi worked fine, albeit a bit slow. AC worked well (note, you can adjust the way the air flows by going into the thermostat options). None a big deal since we didn't plan on staying in the room much anyway.

The pool is very small and gets crowded quickly. Make sure to keep your receipts for the beach/pool towels they give you. The music they play outside is pretty chill/lounge type music, perfect for relaxing and being in the pool. The roof-top was a JOKE. There were a few lounge type chairs, all lined up in a row. That's it. No tables, no nothing. We decided to go up there one night and it was DEAD. You could see why nobody bothers...

Shuttle from airport to the hotel is nice to have. However, when leaving we were told the shuttle would arrive at 7:00am, and it actually arrived around 7:40am. Keep this in mind if you need to get back to the airport. Plus the shuttle fills QUICKLY. The driver came out and saw us standing there with this look of bewilderment on his face, trying to figure out how he would fit us all. 2 other guests from Hotel Croydon said 'we'll just take a taxi.' Granted this is not the hotels' fault as the shuttle services other hotels.

There was happy hour from 7-8pm in which the guests get free drinks. You are only offered rum, tequila, vodka or and some other hard liquor I can't remember. This is great and all, however the bar area gets a bit crowded and you'll be waiting to order your drinks. They really aren't all that 'stiff' as well. Bartender was a nice dude.

Not a ton of dining options in the immediate area. Carrabbas Italian, which is a chain restaurant (although an OK one). We wanted to not eat at chain restaurants since we could just do that at home. If you walk down to 27th, there's this little supermarket/deli where you can get a huge plate of Latin-type food from like $5.50-$9. This will feed you for dinner/breakfast if you're an average person. Their tomatoes at the time of our visit were delicious as well. Cuban bread for $1, sure thing. I'll do a whole different review on that place if I find it here.

You can find a bus stop on the main street after making a left out of the main entrance to the hotel. Here you can find buses like the S, C, M, and 150 that will take you to most of the major points you may want to visit. Buses are $2.25 each way, cash/coin only. The front desk will exchange bills for you.

Overall...disappointed. Since it was our first time staying in Miami we really didn't have much to compare it to in the area. The front staff was nice throughout our entire stay except for the roach incident. The best part of this place was the shower/bathroom. It was nice being a block from the beach. There's honestly nothing special about this place at all and I certainly would never think this was a 4 star boutique hotel.

Room Tip: As others have mentioned, the higher up the better (however I heard just about everyone checking in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TCPrime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreal
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We stayed at the Croydon for a few nights returning from a cruise. The place is fantastic, gave us a room way before the official check-in time even if hte hotel was full the night before we got there. Rooms are beautifully decorated, service is first class. The roof top terrasse is great, the free drinks on happy hour. The beach across the street which includes the long chairs and an umbrella for 10$. I don't know where to stop every little details is taken care of, and the price is great. I cannot fault the Croydon on anything. Great job

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bikiniman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Croydon, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Lovely review bikiniman!!! Thank you for sharing your experience with us, and our future guests! When we have clean ready rooms available, we are always willing up check in guests early. We are stoked that your time spent with us was such a memorable one! Please come back again soon!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

hotel still new. Didn't expect the quality. Service could do with some improvement. One downside was the unavailability of parking facilities. Had to drive around looking for off street parking but that I guess one can expect this with South Beach accommodation.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KTraveller2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Croydon, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Good Evening KTraveleler2014,

We appreciate the time you took to share your feedback with us! We are a fairly new hotel with great perks. Parking has always been an issue here on the beach. We offer valet parking here at Croydon for a fee. We hope that you would stay with us again in the future!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach
Circa 39 Hotel
#32 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
The Confidante
#34 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#23 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,707 reviews
Casa Faena
#54 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Croydon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Croydon

Property: Hotel Croydon
Address: 3720 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33140-4080
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#33 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Croydon 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fully-renovated boutique hotel located steps away from the ocean. The 7-story luxury Hotel Croydon dazzles with 103 guest rooms including a sprawling Penthouse with ocean views, meeting room and banquet space, a gym, an outdoor pool, a spa, an on-site restaurant and bar, and a rooftop sun deck with 360 degree views of the ocean and Miami. IMPORTANT -- Credit card used for booking must be the same credit card presented for payment at check-in. The name on the credit card must match the name on the reservation and the card holder must be present along with a government-issued photo ID. Holiday and Special Events require a non-refundable prepayment 30 days prior to arrival. No early departures are allowed. Reservations are completely non-refundable within 30 days of arrival. Events include but are not limited to: New Years (12/26 to 1/3), Boat Show (2/12 to 2/16), Winter Music Conference & Ultra (3/15 to 3/31), Memorial Day (5/21 to 5/25) & Art Basel (12/3 to 12/9). A mandatory daily resort fee of $20.00 plus tax ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., LoveHolidays, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Croydon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Croydon Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing