We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ants, broken locks, noisy kids, poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Miami Beach
Ranked #104 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ants, broken locks, noisy kids, poor service”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I actually redeemed points plus paid money for this visit back in February (platinum member). We came down a day early for a cruise and I booked 2 rooms; 1 for my wife and I and 1 room for our friends accompanying us on the cruise. The rooms weren't ready when we arrived, but we were a bit early. They held our bags via the valet, but it took a while waiting to get them again upon check-in. Our room was okay, but noisy with kids running up and down the halls and clogging the elevators (both), requiring waiting for the next, and next, and next elevator. We wound up walking the stairs most of the time 9 flights. Our friends room turned out to be a handicap accessible room (no big deal), but after waiting and hoofing it up 9 floors they couldn't even get into the room. It took 4 separate trips to the front desk and maintenance involved 3 times to get them in the room. They had no hot water for the entire trip and there were ants all over the shower. Unfortunately, the hotel was fully booked so they were stuck with the room. Multiple trips to the desk and complaining about the problems and it was never resolved. I complained to the front desk manager that I had used points AND spent money for these rooms and we just got empty promises in return. They did comp us a free buffet (which costs them next to nothing since we're all healthy and eat very little). The branch manager was supposed to contact me but never did (of course). A follow up and I still didn't get any points or fees credited back.
The hotel itself could use some updating, but the staff seemed responsive and friendly overall. The grounds were well kept and conveniently located on the beach and boardwalk. We did rent bikes at a corner kiosk and rode down to South Beach and back (we're all bikers so the 15 miles round-trip was no problem). There was/is a lot of construction along the boardwalk for hotel renovations, etc. so there are detours, but the beach and views were terrific. It's a good walk or ride to get to some restaurants around here if you don't plan to eat at the hotel, like we chose.
Would I stay here again? Maybe. But only if other rooms are guaranteed available if the one I get has issues. I strongly suggesting testing all of the amenities in your room BEFORE unpacking. Keep in mind that in the winter all of the hotels in and around this area are $200+ a night. I chose this hotel because of convenience and lots of points to use.

Room Tip: Water-view rooms cost more; higher floors have better views. check for hot water and bugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Outbackwack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Miami Beach, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Outbackwack,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. We truly regret to see that you did not fully enjoy your stay as our guest. We do take all of our reviews very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We would like to follow up with you directly and have sent you an email to the address associated with your IHG Rewards Club account which should arrive shortly.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,978 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    365
    871
    501
    147
    94
See reviews for
751
574
84
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Morton
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The hotel is right on the ocean. Exit by the pool, walk down the boardwalk and your on the beach. Nice outdoor pool for the family and outdoor bar between the Holiday Inn and Four Seasons Hotel. The room was clean. A cold soda or ice cream are available in the gift shop. The breakfast was excellent however lunch/dinner was mediocre. DecoBike rental bicycles are available several blocks from the hotel and provide a nice way to enjoy traveling around Miami Beach for a few hours.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Great value for this part of Miami. An easy walk to Lincoln Road and South Beach. Rooms were clean and the staff was very friendly. The pool area was probably the highlight. If you're not up for the pool, just walk out to the beach, it's right there. I'd recommend it for singles and family. If you lack for anything, just ask the staff. Again, they were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MRK321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

My wife and I stayed at Holiday Inn Miami Beach, in April 2014 and here's the gist of my experience here:

1. Check in- We went at the end of the tourist season, but it was still tourist season. So there were a lot of guests around. Hence check in took a good 15 minutes and our request for early check in was politely turned down, as they did not have rooms available. However, to their utmost credit, they suggested themselves, that we leave our luggage in the hold room and park our car and walk to nearby places for lunch. When the room is ready, they will call us. This suggestion really helped a lot and we got a call for our room, right on time.

2. Staff- GREAT..!! They were helpful and polite. That's all I look for in a good hotel chain. I got my regular Platinum benefits and then some. There was particularly weird girl working at the bar (parrot bar, was it??) on our first evening, in a hurry and bordering on not so polite or helpful, but we were on a vacation so I will discount her behaviour. so all in all great staff.

3. Location - If it's all about Location, then you are at the right place.. It's on collins avenue, so you are on THE street you need to be.. they were situated on the boardwalk, so you can simply walk out of the hotel from the swimming pool side and land right into the ocean..

4. Swimming pool - TOO small.. too many children making way too much noise for my taste.. but then, nothing that the hotel can do about it..

5. Room - You see that rating of 4 I have given, instead of 5 - here's why: I had booked a 1 queen bed room. We were informed we were upgraded. I did not inquire in detail, but I am guessing the ocean facing room is considered upgrade in Miami.. This will have to be the tiniest 2 bed room I have seen in my hotel stay history.. I don't have a frame of reference for other hotels in Miami but this was a slight damper on our stay.. and before you get excited about the Ocean Facing - it's two small windows in the room facing the ocean, and they don't even open.. so don't get too excited..

6. Price - In comparison to other hotels on the same street, pretty much in the same ballpark.. However, after the overall stay I would say it was slightly expensive, and this view is primarily because of the room size..

7. Parking - Parking on Collins avenue can be an issue. So we opted for the hotel valet parking. It was very convenient and priced just fine. You can come and go as many times as you want, there is a single stub that you get for your entire stay, so no need to wait for someone to come and give you a stub everytime. You can call from your room and 10 minutes later, the car will be there, so very reliable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sameer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orange
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Stayed here with my grand kids and it was perfect for what i needed

Price what good for what we got

Hotel is alittle old now but still does the job

Walking distance to south beach but Miami beach was at our back door

Would return

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Myra O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Stayed at this hotel just for the weekend for a little getaway to relax. The hotel has a beautiful tropical environment. My room was in perfect condition and very clean. Last but not least the front desk staff (Christian, Kim, and the Manager on Duty "Manny" went above and beyond to make me feel welcome. This hotel leads by example in representing IHG. I have stayed here before and will continue to cime back. For anyone that would like a few days away or stay with family and friends this is the perfect place on Miami Beach! :)

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnGarci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We stayed there in MAY 2014 for 4 nights. pleasant room , great room service (the food was amazing) and very clean and responsive housekeeping.
They offered us free towels for the beach! the bus station is right next to the hotel.
The location was close to everything including the beach.
Will definitely stay there if we are in Miami again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nada J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Cadillac Miami Beach/Oceanfront
0.0 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Miami Beach
2.0 mi away
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#89 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Atlantic Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
The Confidante
The Confidante
#31 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,999 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Beach Hotel
Grand Beach Hotel
#61 of 208 in Miami Beach
5,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Miami Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Miami Beach

Property: Holiday Inn Miami Beach
Address: 4333 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140-3212
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#76 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Miami Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Miami Beach hotel has a premium oceanfront location! Welcome to the tropically inspired Holiday Inn Miami Beach - Oceanfront, where our 1950's Miami Modern exterior blends seamlessly with vibrant contemporary South Beach style to wrap you in modern comfort. Eleven miles east of Miami International Airport, our Miami Beach hotel is located where I-195 meets A1A at the Atlantic Ocean.Our hotel in Miami Beach offers you an unparalleled location, with the Atlantic Ocean's sandy beaches as our backyard. Follow the South Beach Boardwalk into the Art Deco world of South Beach for shopping, dining or the vibrant nightclubs. Take a moonlit stroll on the beach by night and play in the surf by day, or simply relax by our large pool overlooking the beach and our lush, tropical garden with its hammock oasis; it's a great way to spend a sunny afternoon. Families will find it easy to get to Miami's museums and attractions, as many are within 15 miles of our hotel.Business guests appreciate the close proximity of our hotel to the Miami Beach Convention Center, two miles away. Our Miami Beach accommodations are within 10 miles of Sony, Mt. Sinai Hospital and the University of Miami. The free wireless Internet access will help you stay in touch while you travel.Our non-smoking hotel is perfect for a Miami Beach trip. You can enjoy a delicious meal at our Paradise Cafe, dine in your room, or have a yummy Mojito at our Blue Parrot Bar. We have it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Miami Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Miami Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Miami Beach Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Miami Beach Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing