We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location - don't bring a car”
Review of Chesterfield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chesterfield Hotel
Ranked #76 of 214 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed 7 March 2014

I purchased this on Hotwire (mystery room) for $130 (all fees incl) per night during Spring Break. The hotel added an additional $15 per night "resort fee" (a blatant money grab as there are NO 'resort' amenities) plus $35 a night to park the car. The first night I was in one of the outside "suites" where the WiFi was so bad that I asked to be moved into the main building. The lighting in both rooms was quite dim - even when all the lights were turned on and I wish hotel rooms would think to have one open electric outlet so guests can charge their electronic devices. In both rooms, I pulled the radio plug out, and then used my travel extension ( A MUST when on the road) to charge my 3 devices. The rooms themselves are small, but nice with lots of products and a handy little fridge stocked with lots of items. The front desk is often overwhelmed but the staff are VERY friendly and quick to accommodate requests. There are free, though a limited selection of drinks between 7-8 pm which is a nice gesture. The best part is the location - SO central, close to the beach and all the action. For this price, I'd stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jurnee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Chesterfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Good Afternoon Jurnee,

We would like to thank you for sharing your feedback with us, and all of our future guests! We do charge an extra $15 resort fee for all of the amenities that we offer. This includes the R/T airport shuttle, cocktail hour nightly from 7-8PM, WiFi. We do like to keep the lighting in the rooms dark and relaxed. We offer extra lamps for those guests who want more light. I see that you were provided with great customer service by our staff, and took advantage of the happy hour! :) We would love to have you here again, soon!

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,418)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,013 - 2,019 of 3,418 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2014

Huge disappointment. We were charged for wifi when it doesn't work properly in ANY building. I was slightly concerned with peddlers being able to sleep on the lounge chairs at night right outside out rooms. Why are we paying for them to have that luxury?

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TishayB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Chesterfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Good Afternoon TishayB,

We value all of our guests feedback and would like to thank you for sharing yours with us! We are extremely sorry to read that your stay with us was not a 5 star one! We charge a resort fee that includes all of the amenities, WiFi being just one of them. Perhaps the server you were connecting to wasn't the correct one. No one is able to sleep on your lounge chairs at night, as we have security guards that guard the premises at all times of the night.

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We've stayed at this hotel once before and we were pleasantly surprised by receiving a room with a big round spa bath, when we'd just booked a standard room. The second time around we'd actually booked the room with the spa bath and when we arrived we were upgraded to the penthouse suite!!! It had it's own private roof top garden with a hot tub :) We would definitely stay here again

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a big round spa bath, these are located in the outer buildings of the hotel and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amber E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Chesterfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Hello there Amber E,

We value all of our guests feedback, and would like to thank you for the time you took to share yours! We are always willing to provide our guests with an upgrade as long as we have clean and ready rooms available. We can't wait to have you stay with us again!!!

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

This hotel is located one block from Miami Beach Ocean Drive. Is a small hotel with a small bar and small cafe. Well you have all you need for your trip. I found the cost to high but the hotels in the area are expensive too. If I'm back in Miami maybe I will stay again. The bar have a one hour free for guests but I don't like it because they don have beers and the liquor selection is very limited. Nothing good for me.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank Abraham R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Chesterfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Hello there Abraham R,

Thank you for the time you took to share your feedback with us, and all of our future guests! We are located blocks away from Ocean Drive, the hottest bars, restaurants, clubs, etc. We offer a complimentary cocktail hour from 7-8PM nightly. Please come back to stay with us again soon!

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

I scheduled a reservation here through the Miami Boat Show web site so a friend and I could take in the show. The rooms were advertised as King Bed Suites. I paid in advance to hold the reservation. I wanted to make sure we had two beds and called at least ten times. They always answered the phone promptly but told me I needed to talk to one person after another until finally being told I had to talk to only one person due to the Boat Show link. Unfortunately that person never answered the phone and had a full mailbox so that I could never leave a message.
We arrived late only to discover the manager was asleep and not available. The person on duty took us to a room with a single full size bed and no chair, sofa or any place to sit. After complaining that the room wasn't a king bed or a suite we were told nothing else was available. We demanded a refund and were prepared to go out on the street, bags in tow, at 2:00 am to find another hotel when miraculously a room came available. It wasn't a suite but did have two king beds so we took it.
The bar is very small. There's no food available in the hotel, but it is close to Ocean Drive and lots of all night restaurants so that worked out well.
When we checked out four days later we were told there was a $100 credit card charge that would be refunded in 3-5 business days. That was 2 weeks ago and still waiting.
SO, there are so many nice places to stay in the area ( The Hotel ) I would NOT recommend staying here. The only reason I gave them a 2/5 rating is that the room was satisfactory once we strong-armed our way in.

Room Tip: Stay at The Hotel on 8th and Collins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBG_GuestRelations, Director of Sales at Chesterfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Hello Terry W,

We appreciate the time that you took to share your honest feedback with us, and all of our future guests! We apologize that your stay with us was not a 5 star one! We are extremely glad that we had a room with 2 king beds available, after you were informed that you were given a room with a full bed. We do have a restaurant here at the hotel called Delight Restaurant. They offer delicious meals at a reasonable price. The $100 hold takes anywhere from 7-10 business days for the bank to release it.

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

had a lovey time hotel was great food lovey people there very good meet lots of lovey people would go back aome time beach clean lots to do with the children hotel granden were so clean boss was very nice help when you need it

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karen d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Chesterfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Good Afternoon karen d,

We value all of our guests feedback and would like to thank you for sharing your feedback with us, and all of our future guests! We are extremely glad to read that your stay with us was a lovely one! We would love to have you stay with us again in the future!

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Although we were relatively happy with our room, my dissatisfaction is with Chesterfield's failure to return a security deposit of $100USD that it took from my account and what's more, Chesterfield's failure to respond to the emails I have sent requesting the funds be returned. Chesterfield incorrectly charged my account for two (2) security deposits totalling $200USD and has still failed to refund $100USD of this amount (over one month later!!!), and failed to respond to any of my emails regarding the second charge it incorrectly charged to my account (even after it promised to have the issue sorted out within 3 days!). I have had to lodge a complaint with Better Business Bureaus in Florida as a result!! Very frustrated!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank R0bG13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Chesterfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Hello there R0bG13,

We value all of our guests feedback and would like to thank you for sharing yours with us! We are glad that you were content with your room! We are terribly sorry for making a mistake in charging your credit card twice for the $100 security deposit. Once you have checked out with us we release the hold for $100. It can take anywhere from 7-10 business days for the funds to be released by your bank. If the funds have not been released yet you will need to contact your bank as there is nothing that we can do on our end, since we have already released these funds. We apologize for any inconvenience this has caused you! I am not sure who you have emailed regarding this issue, but we respond to our emails within 48 hours.

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
#90 of 214 in Miami Beach
4,883 reviews
Hotel Croydon
#45 of 214 in Miami Beach
2,073 reviews
City Center
Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clinton Hotel South Beach
#83 of 214 in Miami Beach
83 reviews
Circa 39 Hotel
#29 of 214 in Miami Beach
1,056 reviews
Dream South Beach
#44 of 214 in Miami Beach
2,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chesterfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chesterfield Hotel

Address: 855 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5807
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 214 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range: £88 - £266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chesterfield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chesterfield Hotel & Suites is located on Collins Avenue at the center of South Beach's Art Deco District. By merging the former Lily, Leon and the Chesterfield Hotel, the combined 90-room hotel now offers a wide range of room types and services. Want to lounge outdoors and enjoy a drink? Grab a cocktail at either of the hotel's two bars. Want to chill in an intimate alcove? Relax at the discreet and cozy outdoor lounge - a great vantage point to spy on hipsters walking by. IMPORTANT -- Credit card used for booking must be the same credit card presented for payment at check-in. The name on the credit card must match the name on the reservation and the card holder must be present along with a government-issued photo ID. Holiday and Special Events require a non-refundable prepayment 30 days prior to arrival. No early departures are allowed. Reservations are completely non-refundable within 30 days of arrival. Events include but are not limited to: New Years (12/26 to 1/3), Boat Show (2/12 to 2/16), Winter Music Conference & Ultra (3/15 to 3/31), Memorial Day (5/21 to 5/25) & Art Basel (12/3 to 12/9). A mandatory daily resort fee of $20.00 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chesterfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chesterfield Hotel Miami Beach, Florida
Chesterfield Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing