We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“avoid this hotel! money taken from credit card when it shouldn't have been”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Chesterfield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chesterfield Hotel
Ranked #78 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“avoid this hotel! money taken from credit card when it shouldn't have been”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Stayed here as part oflorida dolphin tours. Have to put $100 on hold on credit card for incidental charges upon checkout was told no charges. Over one month later still waiting for the $100 to be refunded as no reason to pay it. Have telephoned numerous times but no answer when I did get through once was promised a callback but no one ever did. Calling USA from UK and interest from balance on credit card have resulted in us loosing a lot of money. Avoid this hotel was dirty in room and as it has alleyways either side at 2am in morning there were people screaming shouting and fighting outside our window. If a manager from the hotel does read this maybe they can actually sort out our problem and refund what should not have been taken

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Chesterfield Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Hello Kim E,

We value each and every one of our guests feedback. We are extremely sorry that your time spent with us was not a 5 star one! When every guest checks in we take a $100 hold for incidentals (as most hotels around the world do). We release this hold as soon as the guest checks out, so long as nothing in the room is damaged. It can take anywhere from 7-10 business days for the bank to release the funds back onto your account. If after 10 business days the funds are not in your account, you will need to contact your bank. I would like to personally assist you with this, if you can contact me directly. I look forward in hearing from you!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,089 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,307
    778
    406
    230
    368
See reviews for
326
803
273
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

We enjoyed our stay so much! We love the Chesterfield!! We have stayed at numerous hotels in Miami and once we stayed at Chesterfield 2 years ago and had a wonderful stay, everytime we come to South Beach, we try and stay here again if rooms are available. The location is absolutely perfect and the service is always wonderful, staff so friendly and helpful. Franchesca at Front Desk was so helpful with us along with another man who checked us in (can't remember his name)! He put us in room 519 and we loved it so much! Oliver helped us with our luggage && was always so helpful! Again, thank you so much for the exceptional service from all of your staff..we will be returning soon and hopefully staying with yall again!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Jenniferansari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Chesterfield Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you so much for your beautiful review, Jenniferansari! It’s so great to hear that you and your girl had a fantastic weekend and felt well taken care of the whole time. I’m glad to hear that Francesca and Oliver took excellent care of you as well. They are absolutely lovely and all of our guests think so as well!! Again, we really appreciate the love and hope to have you back to see us soon!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Last year, my husband and I visited South Beach for the first time. We had reservations at the White Law Hotel across the street; however, they were apparently overbooked and we were informed that they had reserved a room for us at the Chesterfield. While we were apprehensive about staying at a hotel we hadn't researched and chosen, it was a delightful stay! This year, we brought our teenagers with us as we wanted them to experience one of the most beautiful and enjoyable Atlantic Ocean beaches and Art Deco surroundings. Again, no one came home disappointed! We arrived early on Tuesday and were greeted with the big smiles and friendly personalities of Jorge and Nelson. They promptly secured our bags so we could start our vacation! We came back a few hours later to check in, and Jorge and Nelson expedited the process so we could get settled in and head out for more fun. The room was clean, comfortably air-conditioned, and the bed and bath linens were fresh and good quality. We had everything we needed. Mind you, we only spend time in the room to shower and sleep, and freshen up between activities. The location is prime as it's only 1 block from Ocean Drive and the beach! Also, if you book a double decker, open-top Big Bus Tour, the closest pick up location is conveniently just next door in front of the Sherbrooke Hotel. Only a couple of inconveniences this trip-the toilet overflowed once, but a maintenance worker promptly came to fix. Also, the safe malfunctioned and again, someone promptly came to address. He was able to open it for us, but unable to get it to work after that. Rather than ask for another room, we secured any valuables in our suitcase and locked it each time we left. This was room 308, and I reiterated this to Luis at check-out. Speaking of, Luis and Jose were so friendly and helpful at check-out. We had a late flight home that day, and again, our bags were secured for us until we were ready to catch the shuttle to the airport. By the way, the free airport shuttle to/from is a bonus! The shuttle pick up location is only 1 block away at the Chelsea Hotel. Also, thank you to Alex for reserving our shuttle for us the day before check-out as well as recommending restaurants. Sandra, thank you for not watering down my drinks during happy hour :D They were fabulous and strong! One last thing...love that the ladies room in the basement has a shower. After being at the beach, it's nice to pre-shower before going to your room. Looking forward to visiting SoBe and staying at the Chesterfield again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luv2travel43130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Chesterfield Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Good Afternoon luv2travel43130,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us and all of our future guests! We are delighted to read that you came back with the teens, to relax for a lovely vacation! :) I truly appreciate your naming Jorge, Nelson, Alex and Sandra . It is great to know that the genuine care that you felt from our team resonated and we are incredibly fortunate to have team members like these working with us! It seems like you and the family enjoyed everything that we have to offer. Please come back again soon! We would love to have you! :)

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

After reading some very negative reviews, my fiancé and I were a little hesitant about booking a room here. However, we were very pleasantly surprised! Alex at the front desk was awesome and very helpful! We arrived 4 hours before check in and he let us drop our bags and valet our car early. Nelson took great care of our bags. When we came back after exploring South Beach, our room was ready an hour early and Nelson brought our bags to our room. Though we only stayed one night, I would recommend the Chesterfield to anyone wanting to stay in the heart of South Beach! We were told to hide loose change and valuables before valeting our car so we took our valuables but left the loose change and I noticed that about half of our change was gone when we got our care the next day...Word to the wise: heed the advice and take everything you don't want stolen out of your vehicle!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sammwalsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Chesterfield Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Hello sammwalsh, there is nothing more that we love to read then amazing 5 star feedback! We are stoked that you and the fiance had such a lovely time here. Our team all work hard to make sure that each and every guest is having a splendid time, and enjoying themselves. I will make sure that they are all aware of your kind praise! Please come back again soon!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phl
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

We were there just for a short 3 day trip and loved it! Got free suite upgrade, great service, great price! Great location!! Can't wait to go back! Very nice and friendly service! Everything is walking distance, local store, many restaurants including the one in hotel, wonderful beach and night life!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sekabih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Chesterfield Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Great review Sekabih!! We are delighted to read that you had such a great time with us here at Chesterfield! We are always willing to upgrade our guests, if we have clean/ ready rooms available. Service means the world to us, so to know that you experienced great service makes us happy! :) Chesterfield is located in the heart of South Beach, just blocks from all the action. We hope to see you again soon! :)

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Staff were brilliant at this hotel, we were welcomed by friendly receptionists who to our surprise upgraded myself and my family to the suites! Doorman staff very friendly, a staff member named Nelson was brilliantly helpful and made us feel very welcome. Brill location for shops bars and clubs. Noisey at night time but nothing we didn't expect at South beach. Thank you all at Chesterfield!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twin12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Chesterfield Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Good Day Twin12345,

We would like to thank you for sharing your feedback with us, and all of our future guests! We strive on providing outstanding service, so we are glad to read that is what you received! We would love to welcome you back with open doors, for another memorable time!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

I have been staying at this hotel for over 8 years of trips. The location is great, and you can't pass up the free HH. The front desk always has passes for the clubs that are near by. I have enjoyed each trip and am booking another trip right now.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johndabrowsko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Chesterfield Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
What a great review johndabrowsko!! Thank you for being a loyal and returning guest of Chesterfield for 8 years now! From our amenities to our service everything that we have to offer, keeps our guests coming back! :) See you again soon!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
1.0 mi away
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
#84 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,476 reviews
0.1 mi away
Whitelaw Hotel
Whitelaw Hotel
#66 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,437 reviews
4.6 mi away
Oceanside Hotel
Oceanside Hotel
#109 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Chelsea
Hotel Chelsea
#75 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Shelley
Hotel Shelley
#91 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,397 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#88 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chesterfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chesterfield Hotel

Property: Chesterfield Hotel
Address: 855 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5807
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#55 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Chesterfield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chesterfield Hotel & Suites is located on Collins Avenue at the center of South Beach's Art Deco District. By merging the former Lily, Leon and the Chesterfield Hotel, the combined 90-room hotel now offers a wide range of room types and services. Want to lounge outdoors and enjoy a drink? Grab a cocktail at either of the hotel's two bars. Want to chill in an intimate alcove? Relax at the discreet and cozy outdoor lounge - a great vantage point to spy on hipsters walking by. IMPORTANT -- Credit card used for booking must be the same credit card presented for payment at check-in. The name on the credit card must match the name on the reservation and the card holder must be present along with a government-issued photo ID. Holiday and Special Events require a non-refundable prepayment 30 days prior to arrival. No early departures are allowed. Reservations are completely non-refundable within 30 days of arrival. Events include but are not limited to: New Years (12/26 to 1/3), Boat Show (2/12 to 2/16), Winter Music Conference & Ultra (3/15 to 3/31), Memorial Day (5/21 to 5/25) & Art Basel (12/3 to 12/9). A mandatory daily resort fee of $20.00 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chesterfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chesterfield Hotel Miami Beach, Florida
Chesterfield Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing