We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Little Place-Excellent Value for location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Century Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Century Hotel
Ranked #183 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Little Place-Excellent Value for location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

I was pleasantly surprised at how great this hotel was. No, it's not the Fountainbleu and its not super fancy, but they have done a great job restoring the lobby and making it artistically interesting. This is an older South Beach hotel located on the best part of South Beach-south of fifth. its AMAZING that you can stay in this area for this price. South Pointe-the most premiere area of South Beach is a couple of blocks away and the beach is across the street. The rooms are a nice size and comfortable. Once again, nothing fancy but adequate. The mattress in my room is older, but very comfortable. There is construction next door (and all over this area since it is so prime), but I never heard any noise from the construction. It is also nice that although all the action is a couple of blocks up Ocean Drive, this place is quiet. I would stay here again without a doubt. I'm giving the Century 5 stars because of the value, location, and comfort.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LizaKenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    131
    82
    37
    47
See reviews for
45
138
31
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

The place IS old, but for the price it was alright. We only needed the room for a place to sleep. The rooms are pretty small. We stayed on the second floor back hall, and it was quiet all night. The place smelled a little musky, but nothing too bad. Cleaning lady doesn't really do much cleaning, but the bed is tucked in, and the towels are replaced. They also offer valet service for $25/day (cash only). The place doesn't offer much for breakfast, but there is a Starbucks right across the hotel. It's also walking to the beach, and a bunch of high end restaurants.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank byJanine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile


Don't stay here. Very nice staff but the place is old and ugly. Beds and rooms are tiny. Read reviews AFTER we looked at room... Not "art deco"...just old. Hotels in Miami are ridiculously over priced. This was $135 on a Saturday night. Many other cities that might have been a typical rate...not Miami...we ended up paying $399 at another place that was beautiful but way over priced.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carcar0106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Omg where do I begin.. We were supposed to stay 3 nights there but we only stayed 1.. The roomss were dirty we found several bugs in the room(where we took pictures to prove it), they said they were no more wash clothes and mind u there were four of us and two sets. They kept saying we can talk to a manager in the morning and turned out that, in the morning "they said" he was on vacation. We ask for our money back and they gave us all of our money plus the 1st night stay. It was terrible. We were so scared to eat the breakfast that morning we told them we wanted our money back. We ended up staying the rest of the nights at Chelsea.. GREAT SERVICE AND NO BUGS

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank danygurl07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

So I stayed here for 3 nights. Since the moment I got here, all the carpeta were dirty and smelled, my room had a strange odor (which stayed for as long as I slept here),the sheets looked old, then I found hairy balls in my towels so I literally was scared to touch anything. Last but not least, I arrive at night at my room, and someone apparently housekeeping had left a cup with some coffee on it, which was by that time full of ants, very disgusting. Couldnt have a nice sleep, windows do not have curtáins, so the light in the morning comes in… Any ways I would definitely recommend spending a couple of dollars more, for a totally different experience down at the beach, such a shame since location is great.

Room Tip: Do not by any means stay at 112.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KarlishSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

I traveled here just for an overnight stay, and chose this hotel because they were pet friendly. The location is fantastic. Room was small, and had some type of weird odor, which was odd, because there was tile floor. My biggest complaint, which was out of the control of the hotel itself, was the power went out at 2am and it started to get a little "stuffy" in the room by 6a.m. If you are traveling with a pet though, there is a dog park about a block from the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Avantgardeimaging
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

The hotel is in a good location, the quieter end of Miami Beach and a short walk from the restaurants, bars and shops of Ocean Drive. Also a 3 minute walk from the beach. The hotel itself is a beautiful building but the rooms are slightly shabby and in need of an update. Reasonably clean, breakfast not great, staff ok. I think you could probably do better for the money!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Le0n0ra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Ocean Five Hotel
Ocean Five Hotel
#111 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blanc Kara
Blanc Kara
#35 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel St. Augustine
Hotel St. Augustine
#105 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Bentley Miami/South Beach
0.2 mi away
Room Mate Lord Balfour
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#23 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,167 reviews
3.0 mi away
L Hotel Miami Beach
L Hotel Miami Beach
#116 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Century Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Century Hotel

Property: Century Hotel
Address: 140 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#114 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Century Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1939, The Century Hotel is an Art Deco Historical building situated in the exclusive SoFi area of South Beach. Our two story hotel houses 26 rooms comprised of doubles, king, and Ocean Dr. View. Standing along with its pastel colors, facade curves and neon sign, The Century Hotel is the favorite of the savvy traveler who seeks a vivid stay encompassing past and present. Our guests can simply cross the street to the beach, from where they can take a stroll south to Niki Beach and South Point Park, or north to Lummus Park and its volleyball courts, playgrounds, or other trendy beaches. If sun bathing is not the plan for the day, then we are just blocks from the Historically Art Deco District, Museums, world renown restaurants and night clubs. Easily accessible from the airport by Express public transportation, and only 15 ride from the sea port, The Century provides cruise passengers with an opportunity to a taste of our city before embarking on their journeys. Guests are invited to enjoy our cozy lobby, while sipping a cup of coffee, or a glass of infused water in our beverage center adjacent to our lobby. Our goal is to provide our guests with comfort, cleaness for their stay as well as exceptional service by all of our staff. All visitors are welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Century Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Century Hotel Miami Beach, Florida
Century Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing