We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My stay at Astor”
Review of Hotel Astor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Astor
Ranked #60 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 April 2014

This is a very nice affordable hotel. I stayed here last week for 4 nights. I didn't know what to expect and I just trust that the pictures I saw from their website would be accurate. Glad I booked this hotel as I was surprised on how decent and clean my room was for the price I paid for. Comfortable bed and clean bathroom are important to me and this met my expectation. Staff were friendly. I chose this hotel because it's close to most of the happenings in South Beach, close to a lot of places to eat and close to the bars. It's also just a few blocks to the beach. I would definitely look into this hotel when I go back to Miami. Hope they would keep their affordable rates.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LVPGM, General Manager at Hotel Astor, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Thank you for staying at Hotel Astor! We're glad to hear that you so thoroughly enjoyed your visit. Your feedback is highly appreciated, and we hope that you will return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

376 - 382 of 1,115 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Hi all at the Astor want to say a massive thank you for making my partner Davids 40th birthday the best especially Adrian and Jorge! I believe Adrian hasnt been with you long i work for Audi in the U.K and i realise service excellence this guy has potential so so friendly also a shout out to Dee on the bar for bringing us room service! And looking after us organised champs in room & strawberries emailed hotel Jorge prior excellent big room 315! 3 doue beds! We will remember this forever great location beautiful see u again Lauren and David Buxton xxx

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurenLichfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LVPGM, General Manager at Hotel Astor, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Thank you for staying at Hotel Astor. We're glad that you were able to find our staff helpful. We highly appreciate your feedback. Come again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

The manager truly cared about her guest and their experience at the hotel Astor! The bartender dee was super friendly, we had a great weekend! I would recommend this to friends and stay here again. The only down fall was noisy neighbors and slow valet, but that had no reflection on the hotel staff!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alishoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LVPGM, General Manager at Hotel Astor, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Thank you for staying with us at Hotel Astor! We're glad that you enjoyed the help of our team, and we highly appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

This Hotel looks great when you arrive, staff very friendly and lovely ambience in the foyer and bar area this is where it ends.

Rooms require renovations. Bathroom did not feel clean due to the cracks in the tiles and the old fittings. The rooms are noisy, you can clearly hear other guests conversations and music from their rooms and the hall way as well as the constant thumbing noice from the night club until the early hours of the morning.

The internet was in intermittent this I found annoying. Especially as you pay a daily resort fee which was to cover internet , beach towel and chair. This fee should be included in the room charge then you dont feel like you are being charged an addional fee.

Room Tip: At least try for top floor to be away from the night club
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 792Carol_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LVPGM, General Manager at Hotel Astor, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Thank you for visiting Hotel Astor! We're sorry that you weren't satisfied with your stay, but we highly appreciate the feedback. Our rooms will soon be undergoing improvements, so we hope that you will decide to stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I really don't know how to properly articulate how happy I am with my stay at this Hotel, from the location, the staff, the room, and the value I am amazed at the odds of making such a perfect choice with a shot in the dark. From the moment car service dropped us off, the staff was already waiting with doors open and making sure we didn't worry about the luggage. The door/bellmen were awesome, super polite and attentive and made sure all our needs were met. The front desk staff, at any time of the days was always super helpful and understanding and never met us with anything less than a smile. I am surprise at how they could remain so professional and attentive considering the time of year (miami music week/ultra) and the fact that we weren't exactly ideal guest. Most of the time our group was stumbling in and out of the hotel, at different times of the days with some of the oddest request but I feel like the staff was always willing to put up with us and make us feel comfortable. I can't speak for different groups, but if you are looking into a hotel where you can have a good time with your friends, go out and party, still be near all the action and the ocean, and pay a good value for it, then this is your place to stay.

Room Tip: If you are coming during Miami Music Week, I don't know how much sleep you will be able to get s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hector E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LVPGM, General Manager at Hotel Astor, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Thank you for staying with us at Hotel Astor. We're glad to hear that everything went smoothly, and that you enjoyed your visit. We highly appreciate your feedback. Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Me and my friend have stayed at this hotel for spring break for fourteen nights overall the hotel is not that great in terms management but as got staff burak was very helpful at all times and very polite well spoken and understood customer service his ability to listen was amazing and his skills and personality where at a highest standards he should be promoted!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ukcjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LVPGM, General Manager at Hotel Astor, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Thank you for visiting Hotel Astor. We're sorry that you weren't completely satisfied with your stay, but we're glad that you were able to enjoy the help of our team. We highly appreciate your feedback, and hope that you will choose us again the next time you're in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Hotel position is great, we had a family room for four which was reasonably big with a large bathroom, TV quite limited channels and small, you do have to take on board most Miami hotels are old (Art Deco) so no pool or free parking ,and most older ones have no car parking anyway, area is quite noisy and on one night they had a party nite with loud music till 3pm
The staff were ok especially Adrian who went out of his way to give assistance, at this point ensure if you get taxi from airport ensure he puts on meter s/ be around 33dollars so if they do not put on the meter make sure you ask before you get in taxi as our driver charged us 48 dollars,ie pocketing rest!!!
The hotel was not bad but please be aware of extra charges, they charge you 15dollars per day for beach towels , wifi etc, which I think you should get free or have a choice plus some weird amount 200 dollars extra which they refund onto your card for any extras, damages etc this I was not happy about, maybe they get a lot of guests who do a runner or take advantage
For three nights we paid over 500 pounds which I feel is not cheap , mind you I feel Miami is overpriced anyway compared to Orlando as we paid less for 4nights in the Raddison (much nicer hotel)with pool free wifi and free parking
Personally I would not stay here again unless I really needed to, maybe for youngsters who enjoy nite life etc but I feel overpriced city

Room Tip: Away from music/party area, check ALL prices inclusive & extras
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bazra5956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LVPGM, General Manager at Hotel Astor, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Thank you for visiting Hotel Astor. We're sorry that you were not completely satisfied with your stay, but we always appreciate the feedback. We hope that you will give us another chance to change your perception around.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Chesterfield Hotel
#72 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,291 reviews
La Flora
#18 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Paseo Hotel
#30 of 212 in Miami Beach
404 reviews
City Center
Albion South Beach
Albion South Beach
#69 of 212 in Miami Beach
823 reviews
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#36 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astor

Address: 956 Washington Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5016
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range: £83 - £1,131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Astor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Classic Art deco True Boutique Hotel located in the heart of Miami beach. Original 1936 Vitrolite panels light the entrance to this Art Deco jewel in the heart of South Beach. Famous and well known by the locals the Hotel Astor has been part of the community from the beginning and is also home to the Astor Social Club. The 42-room hotel has been completely redecorated in March 2016 bringing back the glamorous Miami Beach days of the 40's and 50's. Classic deco features mixed in with modern features colors and design. More simple but with a true soul unlike its flashier competitors. The expansive lobby has a terrazzo floor and dramatic lighting reminiscent of Hollywood glamour. The average size rooms 325SQFT and all the amenities and services of what is expected from a deluxe hotel. Ensuite bathrooms, laptop size room safes , minibar, top of the range linen and towels. The Terrace bar is another meeting point for the hotel. The location of the hotel is second to none , 2 blocks from the beach surrounded by shops , restaurants and miami beach famous nightclubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Astor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astor Hotel Miami Beach
Astor Miami Beach
Hotel Astor Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing