We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Catalina Hotel Rocks”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
Ranked #86 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Catalina Hotel Rocks”
Reviewed 18 May 2011

I recently had the lovely chance to stay at the Catalina Hotel in Miami Beach for 3 nights, and was soooo pleased w/ my stay. Great customer service, trendy, clean, boutique, great roof top pool, and great mini bars in the room! It was a poppin' place and I'd most definitely stay there again in the future.

Room Tip: Don't forget to check out the roof top pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingin2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,525 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,684
    1,309
    657
    354
    521
See reviews for
490
1,409
363
319
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (697)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2011

First and foremost...don't let the title of this review put you off. As you will see from my other reviews, i am not unnecessarily critical...just honest.

Catalina South Beach - as it's new website now calls itself - is three hotels all next door to each other. Hotel Catalina, straddled by The Dorset (Home of the Kung Fu Kitchen) and Maxine's, which also hosts the restaurant of the same name. All three hotels are vastly different, which is a difficult proposition to get right. (Almost like enticing people into an Indian themed restaurant, only to serve them a roast dinner!) I only hope the empty, under-refurbishment hotel next to Maxine's is not going to be the fourth in the series!!!

Check in for whichever hotel you are placed in, is handled centrally, by The Catalina. It's pot luck as to which staff member will look after you here, and they range from quite pleasant and amiable, to downright rude and cr@p at their jobs. Room upgrades are easy to come by with the price for doing so, very much open for 'haggling'. We upgraded from a standard "On a budget" room to "classic comfort"...and having originally been offered this at $100 per night...we managed to agree on $25 per night for four nights.

We suffered quite a protracted check-in due to the upgrade, and a lack of communication between housekeeping and front desk, followed by the "cr@p at their job" variant of front-desker, clocking off halfway through. We then had to cart our suitcases back outside, down the street, and into the "Maxine" hotel through the restaurant and bar, to finally get access to our room.

The room (307) was good, funky looking and well worth the cost of the upgrade. We had a wet room, and even a walk in closet - although this was very gloomy even with the mock chandelier. The "pool view" was a only achieved when the wind blew sufficiently enough to move the large bush covering the window, to allow us a view of the very nearest square foot of the pool closest to us. (The pool view - or lack thereof - wasn't an issue, just be wary of your expectations when checking in. The woman would have had us believe we were in an underwater room, the view of the pool was that great!)

We ate at both Maxine's and Kung Fu Kitchen...both were very good and reasonably priced for the location, service was good as well. We took advantage of the "free cocktails" for hotel residents in Maxine's a couple of nights from 7-8pm, which was a nice touch. Basic spirits and mixers is your limit...but it's free and the bar staff are friendly.

This brings me to a notable stand out from the stay at Catalina. Camillo. Camillo can often be found from around 5pm in Maxine's bar, with a mohawk hair cut and outgoing, friendly demeanour. He introduced himself as the manager of the place and couldnt do enough to help, and offer dinner / bar recommendations locally as well as just being a chirpy, friendly bloke. It was evident that any staff member that works in his presence was vastly different to those elsewhere... Shame The South Beach Group can't get a hotel full of him and his type...as it would change the attitude of the place exponentially.

Although we didnt use them, the pools looked okay, and the free towels and loungers on the beach is a nice touch - which we used every day. The hotel is in a good location, which feels safe to walk around at night...and is literally 3 mins walk to the beach.

Overall, it's a decent place. Good food and drink, interesting and varied decor - all well maintained, and in a great location. A few staff experiences left a lot to be desired but that's life.

PS: The best food we ate in Miami was at YUCA. (Young Urban Cuban American) Which is a posh looking place on Lincoln Road a few blocks from the hotel. Nice staff, reasonably priced and delicious food, excellently presented. Can not recommend this place highly enough.

Room Tip: Haggle the price of a decent upgrade for sure!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SRD1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magdeburg, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 18 May 2011

We only stayd for 4 nights at the Catalina but we liked the location very much and the style. It has always music, DJ´s a bar and restaurants on site. The rooms are really stylish! The people at the front desk were always nice and Tyrell the concierge made our short stay even better. He hooked us up with an awesome party where we felt like VIP´s. Actually even the day he was off and we needed help he was not shy to help. He told us everything about South Beach so we did not have to waist walking around without a clue! Awesome experience thanks to him. We had a great time and suggest the hotel for sure!

Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rehlein1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 15 May 2011

My stay at the Catalina Hotel last summer was amazing. The restaurant was delectable, swimming pool incredibly relaxing, and the staff was ultimately kind and on the ball! I would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone, it is comforting if you're on a business trip or just taking a nice vacation with family.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DUBstep89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2011

We have nothing but good to say about The Catalina Hotel. We loved everything about it. The staff was professionel and friendly. Roberto from the rooftop pool, was fantastic and gave us the best service ever. Thank you soo much for giving us the best 8 days in South beach, Miami.. We will definitely come back

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sveacph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYACK NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2011

our room was huge and cool .we enjoyed our meals outside at maxines.the pools were comfortable.the staff was very friendly an attentive.starbucks in the lobby.the beach was just across the street and staff there too for chairs,umbrellas ,food or drinks,the bamboo pool was great for a little shade in afternoon.also rooftop pool.we love this place and cant wait to come back next year to see whats new!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SnakePitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2011

The hotel staff were very friendly and the concierge was very helpful. The men who work at the bar weren't very helpful and I am a woman. The hotel room was very small and dimly lit. We had several girls in each room and getting ready was hard because there was no light. South Beach is a place for young partiers and not very family friendly. There were alot of late night partiers in this and I would imagine most of the hotels there.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ASchmiedeke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Chesterfield Hotel
#78 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,143 reviews
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#89 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,065 reviews
City Center
Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#54 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,312 reviews
Hotel Croydon
#47 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalina Hotel & Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalina Hotel & Beach Club

Property: Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
Address: 1732 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-2007
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#58 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Catalina Hotel & Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Catalina Hotel + Beach Club is all of this and more. With a decidedly European jet-set vibe and a splashy beach club where you can get poolside manicures and pedicures, the Catalina Hotel + Beach Club also offers two restaurants, two pools, four bars, a media library, a rooftop terrace, a Japanese Koi fish pond and a Zen garden. In addition, the hotel boasts a dedicated library, which can serve as a meeting space for small groups. IMPORTANT -- Credit card used for booking must be the same credit card presented for payment at check-in. The name on the credit card must match the name on the reservation and the card holder must be present along with a government-issued photo ID. Holiday and Special Events require a non-refundable prepayment 30 days prior to arrival. No early departures are allowed. Reservations are completely non-refundable within 30 days of arrival. Events include but are not limited to: New Years (12/26 to 1/3), Boat Show (2/12 to 2/16), Winter Music Conference & Ultra (3/15 to 3/31), Memorial Day (5/21 to 5/25) & Art Basel (12/3 to 12/9). A mandatory daily resort fee of $20.00 plus tax ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Priceline, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Catalina Hotel & Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalina Hotel And Beach Club
Catalina Hotel Miami
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing